Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Resolution of KDE, NOT X
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
static
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 141
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2002 4:38 am    Post subject: Resolution of KDE, NOT X Reply with quote

How do I get KDE to be 1024x768 by default? Right now X will load the first resolution I have in XF86Config-4 (Modes "1024x768" "1280x1024" ...) However KDE is 1280x1024 no matter what. I'd like 1024x768 but right now the whole desktop is too big and rolls around if I load X as 1024x768, as in scrolls when the mouse gets near the edge.
_________________
Gentoo and Doom III. 'Nuff Said.
_______________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eugenia
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Apr 2002
Posts: 13
Location: Foster City, CA, USA

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2002 4:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Login as root.
Type on a terminal:
cp /etc/X11/XF86Config /etc/X11/XF86Config-OLD
nano -w /etc/X11/XF86Config


Scroll down where it says 'Section "screen" '
Put the DefaultColorDepth to 8,16,24 or 32, depends how you like it, for example, like this:

DefaultColorDepth 16

Now, depending what you picked (8,16,24 or 32) go the Subsection "Display" that it has its depth set to the number you picked for the DefaultColorDepth.
Change the Modes of this subsection to this:

Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"

Here is an example of the whole subsection inside the Section "Screen":

Code:

    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       16
        Modes       "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        ViewPort    0 0
    EndSubsection


Save down the file, and *restart* X/KDE (do not just logout, you need to restart the X Server).

Now X and KDE will load to 1024x768 by default.
_________________
http://www.OSNews.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dice
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Apr 2002
Posts: 577

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2002 5:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think what he's talking about is that X actualy has a virtual resolution of 1280x1024 and a real resolution of 1024x768, so it's necessary to scroll around the desktop by moving the mouse to the edge of the screen and such. Open up your XF86Config file and comment out lines that look like:

Code:
Virtual 1280 1024
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
static
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 141
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2002 4:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't have any of those :(
_________________
Gentoo and Doom III. 'Nuff Said.
_______________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Malakin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Apr 2002
Posts: 1692
Location: Victoria BC Canada

PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2002 5:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Eugenia's suggestion should work, the main point here is remove any modes that are a higher resolution then 1024x768. After running X you can "type xdpyinfo | grep dimensions" or look at the /var/log/XFree86.0.log and make _sure_ it's actually using 1024x768.

If you're really running at 1024x768 and this is the highest resolution you have listed and there's no virtuall entry in XF86Config then there's no way for it to give you a virtual resolution that I'm aware of.

I had some similar problems, I set X to use 1152x864@85hz and didn't realize right away that it was actually running at 1024x768 since for some reason XFree86 4.2 will not run at 1152x864@85hz without a modeline entry for it, 75hz was no problem, only when I forced it to run at 85hz it instead jumped down to the next highest resolution and gave me a virtual resolution of 1152x864, was annoying until I figured out what was going on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum