Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
(SOLVED) Gentoo Linux hardlocks on my laptop
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Kasumi_Ninja
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Feb 2006
Posts: 1825
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2007 11:04 pm    Post subject: (SOLVED) Gentoo Linux hardlocks on my laptop Reply with quote

I have installed Gentoo Linux without problems on my laptop. However my system hard locks pretty fast leaving me no other solution then to press the 'power' button :(. I have no idea what went wrong. Here are my specs:

Specs
-Compaq V6302EU Presario
-AMD Sempron 3500+
-1GB memory
-Geforce Go 6150 Video till 128 MB videomemory

Update: I am pretty convinced I made a mistake in the kernel compilation options because compiling from the livecd during install never gave me this kind of problems.

# lspci

Code:
00:00.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Host Bridge (rev a2)
00:00.1 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 0 (rev a2)
00:00.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 1 (rev a2)
00:00.3 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 5 (rev a2)
00:00.4 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 4 (rev a2)
00:00.5 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Host Bridge (rev a2)
00:00.6 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 3 (rev a2)
00:00.7 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 2 (rev a2)
00:02.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation C51 PCI Express Bridge (rev a1)
00:03.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation C51 PCI Express Bridge (rev a1)
00:05.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation C51 PCI Express Bridge (rev a2)
00:09.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP51 Host Bridge (rev a2)
00:0a.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP51 LPC Bridge (rev a3)
00:0a.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation MCP51 SMBus (rev a3)
00:0a.3 Co-processor: nVidia Corporation MCP51 PMU (rev a3)
00:0b.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP51 USB Controller (rev a3)
00:0b.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP51 USB Controller (rev a3)
00:0d.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP51 IDE (rev f1)
00:0e.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP51 Serial ATA Controller (rev f1)
00:10.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP51 PCI Bridge (rev a2)
00:10.1 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP51 High Definition Audio (rev a2)
00:14.0 Bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP51 Ethernet Controller (rev a3)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
03:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation Unknown device 4311 (rev 01)


# cat /proc/cpuinfo

Code:
processor       : 0
vendor_id       : AuthenticAMD
cpu family      : 15
model           : 76
model name      : Mobile AMD Sempron(tm) Processor 3500+
stepping        : 2
cpu MHz         : 1800.000
cache size      : 512 KB
fdiv_bug        : no
hlt_bug         : no
f00f_bug        : no
coma_bug        : no
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 1
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt lm 3dnowext 3dnow up pni cx16 lahf_lm cr8legacy ts fid vid ttp tm stc
bogomips        : 3619.56

_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered


Last edited by Kasumi_Ninja on Mon Apr 09, 2007 9:25 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Crono81
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Nov 2006
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 12:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've read the other thread with the similar problem: try the various acpi=off like options in the kernel boot options (while in grub, press e and edit the line). I can't remember them now. If you have these lockups when you press the Fn+X keys you may need to fix the dsdt table, and try the very latest kernel.

Check with dmesg also!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kasumi_Ninja
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Feb 2006
Posts: 1825
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 9:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Crono81 wrote:
I've read the other thread with the similar problem: try the various acpi=off like options in the kernel boot options (while in grub, press e and edit the line). I can't remember them now. If you have these lockups when you press the Fn+X keys you may need to fix the dsdt table, and try the very latest kernel.

Check with dmesg also!


Hey thanks for trying to help! I have tried passing the noacpi option but that didn't work :(. Even stranger I used genkernel to compile a kernel but that one even refused to boot! I get this error message:
VFS: Cannot open root device "sda3" or unknown-block(0,0)
Please append a correct "root=" boot option
Kernel panic -not syncing: VFS


Update 2:
I solved this by enabling sata support in Genkernel, but my system still hard locks even with Genkernel.


I have booted my laptop with the Gentoo livecd so now I can give some info like dmesg etc.

# cat /mnt/gentoo/grub/grub.conf

# ls /mnt/gentoo/grub

# cat /mnt/gentoo/var/log/dmesg
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered


Last edited by Kasumi_Ninja on Mon Apr 09, 2007 12:23 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Crono81
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Nov 2006
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 11:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

maybe recompiling the kernel without SMP support?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kasumi_Ninja
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Feb 2006
Posts: 1825
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 12:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Crono81 wrote:
maybe recompiling the kernel without SMP support?


I think I already found the solution :D. The bad news is I don't know how I did it exactly. I fiddled around with the kernel options somewhat and now it compiled Xorg without hardlocking. I will run some tests with different kernel options to see what was the culprit. I made a list of the things I rremeber to have changed in the kernel:

Processor type and features
Processor K7 instead of Athlon64
Timer frequency 100 HZ instead of 1000

Power management
Changed all these from module t build into the kernel:
Code:
 │                                                                                                                                                    │
  │ ┌────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┐ │
  │ │                                     [*] ACPI Support                                                                                           │ │
  │ │                                     <M>   AC Adapter                                                                                           │ │
  │ │                                     <M>   Battery                                                                                              │ │
  │ │                                     <M>   Button                                                                                               │ │
  │ │                                     <M>   Video                                                                                                │ │
  │ │                                     < >   Generic Hotkey (EXPERIMENTAL)                                                                        │ │
  │ │                                     <M>   Fan                                                                                                  │ │
  │ │                                     < >   Dock                                                                                                 │ │
  │ │                                     <M>   Processor                                                                                            │ │
  │ │                                     <M>     Thermal Zone                                                                                       │ │
  │ │                                     <M>   ASUS/Medion Laptop Extras                                                                            │ │
  │ │                                     <M>   IBM ThinkPad Laptop Extras                                                                           │ │
  │ │                                     [*]     Legacy Docking Station Support                                                                     │ │
  │ │                                     <M>   Toshiba Laptop Extras                                                                                │ │
  │ │                                     (0)   Disable ACPI for systems before Jan 1st this year                                                    │ │
  │ │                                     [ ]   Debug Statements                                                                                     │ │
  │ │                                     [ ]   Power Management Timer Support                                                                       │ │
  │ │                                     <M>   ACPI0004,PNP0A05 and PNP0A06 Container Driver (EXPERIMENTAL)                                         │ │
  │ │                                     < >   Smart Battery System (EXPERIMENTAL)                                                                  │ │
  │ │                                                                                       


Device drivers/graphics

I compiled these into the kernel:
Graphics Nvidia Framebuffer /Riva
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andyandrews35
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Mar 2006
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 12:43 pm    Post subject: You can copy the .config from the livecd Reply with quote

You can copy the .config from the livecd, it is gzipped on there somewhere. The installation handbook gives instructions on how to do that. I must confess I did this, and I have absolutely zero problems. The only difference I can tell is the kernel compile time is longer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kasumi_Ninja
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Feb 2006
Posts: 1825
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 1:15 pm    Post subject: Re: You can copy the .config from the livecd Reply with quote

andyandrews35 wrote:
You can copy the .config from the livecd, it is gzipped on there somewhere. The installation handbook gives instructions on how to do that. I must confess I did this, and I have absolutely zero problems. The only difference I can tell is the kernel compile time is longer.


That is really a good tip, thanks!
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kasumi_Ninja
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Feb 2006
Posts: 1825
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 1:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think I have found the problem:

Code:
Device drivers/graphics/Graphics nVidia Framebuffer Support


When this isn't compiled in the kernel (module I haven't tested) the laptop freezes. And I don't have X installed. I will test this some more but I am pretty confident I found the problem. If this works I'll add solved to the title :D.
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 4883

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

strange, the gentoo wiki on howto install nvidia suggests that enabling it will cause the problems....

are you sure it is working?
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
ProjectFootball
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kasumi_Ninja
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Feb 2006
Posts: 1825
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 3:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DaggyStyle wrote:
strange, the gentoo wiki on howto install nvidia suggests that enabling it will cause the problems....

are you sure it is working?


Yes I did some further testing and I am absolutely sure this was the problem. But don't forget I don't had X running yet (and therefor not installed the nvidia-drivers).
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kasumi_Ninja
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Feb 2006
Posts: 1825
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm close but no cigar. I did a fresh install and now have the same problem with nVidia Framebuffer Support. Last time the fonts in my console were smaller. I think if I get these smaller fonts back this problem will be solved.

Update:
Got it! Framebuffer Console support also needs to be enabled:

Code:
Device Drivers  --->
Graphics support  --->       
Console display driver support  ---> 
  <*> Framebuffer Console support   

_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Larry The Cow
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Jan 2005
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 5:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks muchly! You fixed my problem! :D

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-552141.html
_________________
-Larry The Cow


Maybe Today!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kasumi_Ninja
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Feb 2006
Posts: 1825
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 9:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Larry The Cow wrote:
Thanks muchly! You fixed my problem! :D

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-552141.html


Hey Larry, good to hear that it helped you too. Thanks for letting me know :D . You might want to check out my other threads which solved some other issues:

Sound
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-552252-highlight-.html

Nvidia bug

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-551722-highlight-.html

Sata problems (no solution yet)
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-551892-highlight-.html
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kasumi_Ninja
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Feb 2006
Posts: 1825
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 9:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In conclusion I would like to add that installed the nvidia-binary drivers. This forced me to remove the nVidia Framebuffer Support. i remoevd it and replaced it with:
Code:
Device Drivers  --->
Graphics support  --->
*>   VESA VGA graphics support                                      │ │
  │ │        VESA driver type (vesafb-tng)  --->                          │ │
  │ │(1280x800@60) VESA default mode           

In combination with Framebuffer Console support this works perfectly :D. Btw does anyone kno the optimal setting for vesafb-tng? I have put it on 1280x800@60 but I have no idea of this a good setting.
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum