Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDE the easy way?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Athlon_Jedi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jun 2003
Posts: 45
Location: Tifton, GA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 04, 2003 3:42 pm    Post subject: KDE the easy way? Reply with quote

is there an easyer way to install kde other than compiling it?

i am getting repeated segmentation faults no matter what i do in the bios, fiddleing with memory, no overclocked cpu, you name it i have tried it and its really getting on my nerves!!!
_________________
**** GENTOO SYSTEM SPECS ****
COMPAQ PROLIANT 6500
ATI RAGE II C GRAPHICS
INTEL XEON 450 MHZ P II x 1
780 MB PC-100 ECC REGISTERED RAM
SMARTARRAY 3200 DUAL CHANNEL RAID
9.1 GB SEAGATE BARRACUDA SCSI x 2 ( 3 MORE TO BE ADDED)
PURELY GENTOO 1.4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
clumsyninja
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Jun 2003
Posts: 61
Location: North Texas

PostPosted: Fri Jul 04, 2003 4:30 pm    Post subject: Re: KDE the easy way? Reply with quote

Athlon_Jedi wrote:
is there an easyer way to install kde other than compiling it?

not that i am aware of on gentoo...it is the beauty and curse of portage :)

Quote:
i am getting repeated segmentation faults no matter what i do in the bios, fiddleing with memory, no overclocked cpu, you name it i have tried it and its really getting on my nerves!!!

i would go very carefully through your kernel configuration, make absolutely sure you are using the correct processor type.
also go into your make.conf file and double check your use and cflags sections. there is a great faq here http://www.freehackers.org/gentoo/gccflags/
look around on that site, it has some awesome tweaks.

good luck.
_________________
katana root # cat /proc/sys/kernel/osrelease
2.4.20-gentoo-r7
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyrillic
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 7313
Location: Groton, Massachusetts USA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 04, 2003 5:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is almost a 100% chance that your segfaults are due to hardware problems.
If your BIOS allows you to underclock, try setting the CPU FSB to 100MHZ and your memory speed to 100MHZ for testing purposes.
If this allows you to compile without segfaults, you may want to look into a replacement CPU, or Motherboard, or RAM.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
linux_weenie
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Jun 2003
Posts: 365

PostPosted: Fri Jul 04, 2003 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes Segmentation faults are most likely hardware problems :). unless you trying to create buffer overflows of course. when i was useing slackware i was getting them all the time and it turns out i had a memory problem. so you might try heading on over to http://www.memtest86.com. just download the iso and burn it to a CD and test your memory, or if i'm not mistaken gentoo's LiveCD has a memtest image on it. check the docs just to make sure though.

-Will
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deathwing00
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 13 Jun 2003
Posts: 4087
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jul 04, 2003 8:55 pm    Post subject: Re: KDE the easy way? Reply with quote

Athlon_Jedi wrote:
is there an easyer way to install kde other than compiling it?

i am getting repeated segmentation faults no matter what i do in the bios, fiddleing with memory, no overclocked cpu, you name it i have tried it and its really getting on my nerves!!!


You could download the i386 binaries from http://www.kde.org to a local directory. The you just have to
Code:
# PKGDIR=/path/to/binaries emerge --usepkg kde
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bsolar
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 12 Jan 2003
Posts: 2764

PostPosted: Fri Jul 04, 2003 10:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Installing Gentoo.
_________________
I may not agree with what you say, but I'll defend to the death your right to say it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Athlon_Jedi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jun 2003
Posts: 45
Location: Tifton, GA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 04, 2003 10:54 pm    Post subject: bianaries? Reply with quote

ok but is there a generic kde bianary? all i see is for specific distros ,red hat,suse etc....

will any one of them werk? or do i need a specific one.
_________________
**** GENTOO SYSTEM SPECS ****
COMPAQ PROLIANT 6500
ATI RAGE II C GRAPHICS
INTEL XEON 450 MHZ P II x 1
780 MB PC-100 ECC REGISTERED RAM
SMARTARRAY 3200 DUAL CHANNEL RAID
9.1 GB SEAGATE BARRACUDA SCSI x 2 ( 3 MORE TO BE ADDED)
PURELY GENTOO 1.4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deathwing00
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 13 Jun 2003
Posts: 4087
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jul 04, 2003 11:12 pm    Post subject: Re: bianaries? Reply with quote

Athlon_Jedi wrote:
ok but is there a generic kde bianary? all i see is for specific distros ,red hat,suse etc....

will any one of them werk? or do i need a specific one.


You might choose RedHat's rpms for example. After that, you just have to go into X to see wether it lets you install from rpm. If it does not, you'll have to extract it. I'm sorry about this, but didn't notice that there were no standart binaries there...

You might have to check rpm compatibility with Gentoo... :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deathwing00
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 13 Jun 2003
Posts: 4087
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jul 04, 2003 11:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK I did some searches and found something!

# emerge rpm
get kdebase from RedHat rpm and try to install it. It should work! :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
To
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Apr 2003
Posts: 1145
Location: Coimbra, Portugal

PostPosted: Sat Jul 05, 2003 10:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

First time I used gentoo I had similar problems. Like clumsyninja said I had problems with my gcc flags.

Currently I'm using
Quote:
CFLAGS="-march=athlonxp -O3 -pipe"
CXXFLAGS="-march=athlonxp -O3 -pipe"


But you should read about all options.


_________________

------------------------------------------------
Linux Gandalf 3.2.35-grsec
Gentoo Base System version 2.2
------------------------------------------------
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deathwing00
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 13 Jun 2003
Posts: 4087
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jul 05, 2003 12:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To wrote:
First time I used gentoo I had similar problems. Like clumsyninja said I had problems with my gcc flags.

Currently I'm using
Quote:
CFLAGS="-march=athlonxp -O3 -pipe"
CXXFLAGS="-march=athlonxp -O3 -pipe"


But you should read about all options.



He can't use athlonxp, he's got an athlon-tbird... he should use a i686 flag instead...

(In my AthlonXP I use -O5... doesn't really optimize much better than -O3, but does some)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum