Updating portage config files?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
LittleKing
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2002 1:16 am    Post subject: Updating portage config files? Reply with quote

I first want to say that, I am fairly new to the Linux world and recently installed gentoo and so far I have found it to be a great system.

Howver, I do have some questions, but for now I'll stick to this one. I just updated portage but when it finished it gave me these following lines:

Code:
* Regenerating GNU info directory index...
 * Processed 54 info files.
 * IMPORTANT: 2 config files in /etc need updating.
 * Type emerge --help config to learn how to update config files.

However, I didn't find much help in the emerge --help. What command to I need to enter to config the new files?

Thanks for the help,
LK
tomas
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2002 1:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try emerge --help config instead of emerge --help, and you should get some useful information :)
Naan Yaar
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2002 2:12 am    Post subject: Re: Updating portage config files? Reply with quote

You can use something called etc-update that is part of the gentoolkit package. Do a forum search with "etc-update" for threads that will give you more information.
LittleKing wrote:
I first want to say that, ...
LittleKing
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2002 2:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I guess I should have look a bit closer at the line, because sure enough, the correct command was right there. Sorry. I guess I should take the advice of BonezTheGoon, which he said in this thread:

Quote: