Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[PALUDIS] Support thread (current v. 0.22.2) - Part 2
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 13, 14, 15 ... 18, 19, 20  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nikaya
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 13 May 2006
Posts: 1471
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm unsure about the option "--dl-reinstall if-use-changed".It seems to be the default behaviour of Paludis.When i change USE-Flags and call
Code:
paludis -i <package-with-changed-use-flag> -p
Paludis provides the new USE-Flag.
So when have i to call "--dl-reinstall if-use-changed" otherwise?
_________________
Notes on Dhamma
How to waste your time: look for an explanation of consciousness, ask to know what feeling is. (Nanavira Thera)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dleverton
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Aug 2006
Posts: 517

PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

john.doe wrote:
I'm unsure about the option "--dl-reinstall if-use-changed".It seems to be the default behaviour of Paludis.When i change USE-Flags and call
Code:
paludis -i <package-with-changed-use-flag> -p
Paludis provides the new USE-Flag.
So when have i to call "--dl-reinstall if-use-changed" otherwise?

If you name a specific package it'll always be reinstalled, no matter what the USE-flags are. "--dl-reinstall if-use-changed" is mainly useful with "world", where it'll check everything on the system for changed flags.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stingo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 May 2005
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 7:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can not sync https://gentooscience.org/svn/overlay
It syncs several folders and stops saying
"svn: Failed to add directory '/usr/local/gentooscience/profiles': object of the same name already exists"
and further regenerates cache
Any ideas?
Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dleverton
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Aug 2006
Posts: 517

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 9:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

stingo wrote:
I can not sync https://gentooscience.org/svn/overlay
It syncs several folders and stops saying
"svn: Failed to add directory '/usr/local/gentooscience/profiles': object of the same name already exists"
and further regenerates cache
Any ideas?
Thank you.

If you manually created the profiles directory, along with repo_name, categories, thirdpartymirrors, etc, you can remove it. The overlay now has its own repo_name and categories file, so svn complains because the profiles directory from the overlay clashes with the one you created yourself.

You don't need thirdpartymirrors anymore, as long as you set "master_repository = gentoo" in science.conf (or whatever you called it).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stingo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 May 2005
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 12:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dleverton wrote:
stingo wrote:
I can not sync https://gentooscience.org/svn/overlay
It syncs several folders and stops saying
"svn: Failed to add directory '/usr/local/gentooscience/profiles': object of the same name already exists"
and further regenerates cache
Any ideas?
Thank you.

If you manually created the profiles directory, along with repo_name, categories, thirdpartymirrors, etc, you can remove it. The overlay now has its own repo_name and categories file, so svn complains because the profiles directory from the overlay clashes with the one you created yourself.

You don't need thirdpartymirrors anymore, as long as you set "master_repository = gentoo" in science.conf (or whatever you called it).



It is true I created profiles/repo_name myself. But now after I remove it and try to sync it says Could not open repo name file in ......../profiles/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bmichaelsen
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Nov 2002
Posts: 1276
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 12:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi there, I have a question about paludis: What is a robust way to find out which files paludis CONFIG_PROTECTs?
E.g. the equivalent of
Code:
emerge --info |grep "^CONFIG_PROTECT="

:?:
_________________
etc-proposals, your friendly config file updater!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dleverton
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Aug 2006
Posts: 517

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 1:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

stingo wrote:
It is true I created profiles/repo_name myself. But now after I remove it and try to sync it says Could not open repo name file in ......../profiles/

Oh, right, sorry, forgot to mention that. After you remove repo_name, Paludis will make up a name for the repository, consisting of x- followed by the name of the directory - in your case, it would be x-gentooscience. Use that name to sync, then once you do that it'll revert to the name defined by the repository itself.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stingo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 May 2005
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you!
But it is not intuitive and kinda like a tricky game. After I added x-sci it synced but after trying again it said no such repository.
I looked into new profiles/repo_name and it is now called science not sci I named it. So syncs fines with science now. But how would I know if I didn't look into repo_name. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
truc
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2005
Posts: 3199

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

paludis --list-repositories
_________________
The End of the Internet!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stingo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 May 2005
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 9:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

truc wrote:
paludis --list-repositories


Interstingly --list-repositories does not show the name of the science overlay. It prints out the info but the name is missing (which is in blue letters) only for this overlay. Arrg..... after renaming it back to sci it shows up now when running --list-repositories.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zxy
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Posts: 1160
Location: in bed in front of the computer

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

stingo wrote:
Thank you!
But it is not intuitive and kinda like a tricky game. After I added x-sci it synced but after trying again it said no such repository.
I looked into new profiles/repo_name and it is now called science not sci I named it. So syncs fines with science now. But how would I know if I didn't look into repo_name. :)

Did you do
Code:
paludis -s x-sci

the second time, too? The second (and any later) time you should sync with:
Code:
paludis -s sci
This is maybe/probably not the problem you have, but it looked to me as you might be doing just that.
_________________
Nature does not hurry, yet everything is accomplished.
Lao Tzu


Last edited by zxy on Wed Mar 14, 2007 9:44 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dayul
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Jun 2004
Posts: 180
Location: Blackpool, England

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't know if this helps anyone, but i was getting quite a few paludis errors due to incorrect get_mounts lines in environment.bz2. Here is a small script to list all the packages that have this problem. They still have to be fixed manually, but the script could probably be modified to do that if needed.

Code:

#!/bin/bash
#script to list all files with get_mounts issue
#by Dale Whittaker

function find_files()
{
    if [ -f "${1}" ] ; then
        fname=`basename ${1}`
        if [ "${fname}" = "environment.bz2" ] ; then
            bzcat "${1}" | grep " <<(get_mounts" >/dev/null
            if [ $? -eq 0 ] ; then
                echo "${1}"
            fi
        fi
    else
        if [ -d "${1}" ] ; then
            for f in "${1}"/*
            do
                find_files "${f}"
            done
        fi
    fi
}

find_files /var/db/pkg

_________________
Mailtc- system tray mail checker.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dayul
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Jun 2004
Posts: 180
Location: Blackpool, England

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Edit to the above post, the following script should now fix all the packages with get_mounts issue:

It could probably be made a bit more elegant (i'm no expert at shell scripts), but it seems to work fine for me.

Code:

#!/bin/bash
#script to fix all files with get_mounts issue
#by Dale Whittaker

function find_files()
{
    if [ -f "${1}" ] ; then
        fname=`basename ${1}`
        if [ "${fname}" = "environment.bz2" ] ; then
            bzcat "${1}" | grep " <<(get_mounts" >/dev/null
            if [ $? -eq 0 ] ; then
                echo "fixing ${1}"
                dname=`dirname ${1}`
                cp "${1}" "${dname}/old_${fname}"
                bunzip2 "${1}"
                sed 's/done <<(get_mounts);/done <<< "$(get_mounts)"/g' "${dname}"/`basename ${1} '.bz2'` > "${dname}/tmpfile"
                mv "${dname}/tmpfile" "${dname}"/`basename ${1} '.bz2'`
                bzip2 "${dname}"/`basename ${1} '.bz2'`
            fi
        fi
    else
        if [ -d "${1}" ] ; then
            for f in "${1}"/*
            do
                find_files "${f}"
            done
        fi
    fi
}

find_files /var/db/pkg

_________________
Mailtc- system tray mail checker.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BlueZeniX
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jun 2003
Posts: 52
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2007 10:43 am    Post subject: Re: Install stage acting weird Reply with quote

BlueZeniX wrote:
Hi everyone,

I've been using paludis for a while now and its definately much faster. The lack of --skipfirst and having to copy paste the resume command everytime something fails is one thing I dislike, but overall its really great.

Now I have a weird issue with a custom ebuild for neko (www.nekovm.org) which I need for haXe (www.haxe.org).
Compiling and all goes well, install stage finishes. But its not installing the correct files.

When I press CTRL-Z and go to /var/tmp/paludis/dev-lang/neko-1.5.3/work/neko-1.5.3/bin/, there are a few files:
Code:

-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root  124816 mrt  7 14:26 libneko.so
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 1467617 mrt  7 14:27 mysql.ndll
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root    9572 mrt  7 14:26 neko
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root  173671 mrt  7 14:27 nekoc
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root  273097 mrt  7 14:27 nekoml
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root   69951 mrt  7 14:27 nekotools
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root   13757 mrt  7 14:27 regexp.ndll
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root   14300 mrt  7 14:27 sqlite.ndll
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root   92000 mrt  7 14:26 std.ndll
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root     175 mrt  7 14:27 test.n
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root   13951 mrt  7 14:27 zlib.ndll


All the neko* files need to be installed in /usr/bin according to the ebuild:
Code:

src_install() {
    exeinto /usr/bin

    doexe bin/neko
    doexe bin/nekoc
    doexe bin/nekoml
    doexe bin/nekotools

    dolib.so bin/libneko.so

    insinto /usr/neko/lib
    doins bin/std.ndll
    doins bin/regexp.ndll
    doins bin/mysql.ndll
    doins bin/zlib.ndll

    if use apache2 ; then
        uses_apache2
        insinto ${APACHE2_MODULESDIR}
        doins bin/mod_neko2.ndll
        insinto ${APACHE2_MODULES_CONFDIR}
        doins ${FILESDIR}/50_mod_neko.conf
    fi

    insinto /usr/include/neko
    doins vm/neko.h

    doenvd ${FILESDIR}/50neko
}


...So after installation all works out well I go to
Code:

zenix bin # cd /usr/bin/
zenix bin # ls -Al neko*
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 9572 mrt  7 14:29 neko
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 9572 mrt  7 14:29 nekoc
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 9572 mrt  7 14:29 nekoml
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 9572 mrt  7 14:29 nekotools

nekoc, nekoml and nekotools are all the same file as "neko"!!

So my question here:

Why?!?! 8O


Anyone? :(
_________________
Oi!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheNewOsiris
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Dec 2006
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2007 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just installed and migrated to paludis via the bash script.
However whenever I try to install qtparted I get the following message:

Code:
# paludis -i sys-apps/qtparted
Building target list...
Building dependency list...paludis@1174157015: [WARNING] Provides cache at '/var/db/pkg/.cache/provides' is not a regular file.

Unhandled exception:
  * In program paludis -i sys-apps/qtparted:
  * When performing install action from command line:
  * When executing install task:
  * When adding PackageDepAtom 'sys-apps/qtparted':
  * When adding package 'sys-apps/qtparted-0.4.5::gentoo':
  * When adding build dependencies as pre dependencies:
  * When adding PackageDepAtom '=|=|=x11-libs/qt-3.3*,3.2*,3.1*':
  * When adding package 'x11-libs/qt-3.3.8::gentoo':
  * When adding build dependencies as pre dependencies:
  * When adding PackageDepAtom 'x11-libs/libXcursor':
  * When adding installed package 'x11-libs/libXcursor-1.1.8::installed':
  * When adding run dependencies as post dependencies:
  * When adding PackageDepAtom 'x11-libs/libXrender':
  * When adding installed package 'x11-libs/libXrender-0.9.2::installed':
  * When adding run dependencies as post dependencies:
  * When adding PackageDepAtom 'x11-libs/libX11':
  * When adding installed package 'x11-libs/libX11-1.1.1::installed':
  * When adding run dependencies as post dependencies:
  * When adding PackageDepAtom '>=x11-libs/xtrans-1.0.1':
  * When adding package 'x11-libs/xtrans-1.0.3::gentoo':
  * When adding build dependencies as pre dependencies:
  * When adding PackageDepAtom '=sys-devel/automake-1.10*':
  * When adding installed package 'sys-devel/automake-1.10::installed':
  * When adding run dependencies as post dependencies:
  * When adding PackageDepAtom 'dev-lang/perl':
  * When adding installed package 'dev-lang/perl-5.8.8-r2::installed':
  * When adding run dependencies as post dependencies:
  * When adding PackageDepAtom '~sys-devel/libperl-5.8.8':
  * When adding installed package 'sys-devel/libperl-5.8.8-r1::installed':
  * When adding run dependencies as post dependencies:
  * When adding PackageDepAtom 'sys-libs/db':
  * When adding package 'sys-libs/db-4.5.20_p2::gentoo':
  * When adding build dependencies as pre dependencies:
  * When adding PackageDepAtom '>=virtual/jdk-1.4':
  * When adding package 'virtual/jdk-1.6.0::gentoo':
  * When adding run dependencies as pre dependencies:
  * When adding PackageDepAtom '=dev-java/sun-jdk-1.6.0*':
  * When adding package 'dev-java/sun-jdk-1.6.0-r1::gentoo':
  * When adding run dependencies as pre dependencies:
  * When adding PackageDepAtom '=virtual/libstdc++-3.3':
  * When adding installed package 'virtual/libstdc++-3.3::installed':
  * When adding run dependencies as post dependencies:
  * When adding PackageDepAtom '=sys-libs/libstdc++-v3-3.3*':
  * When adding installed package 'sys-libs/libstdc++-v3-3.3.6::installed':
  * When adding run dependencies as post dependencies:
  * When adding PackageDepAtom 'virtual/libc':
  * When adding package 'virtual/libc-2.5-r1::virtuals':
  * When adding build dependencies as pre dependencies:
  * When adding PackageDepAtom '=sys-libs/glibc-2.5-r1':
  * When adding package 'sys-libs/glibc-2.5-r1::gentoo':
  * When adding build dependencies as pre dependencies:
  * When adding PackageDepAtom '>=sys-devel/gcc-3.4.4':
  * When adding package 'sys-devel/gcc-4.1.2::gentoo':
  * When adding build dependencies as pre dependencies:
  * When adding PackageDepAtom '>=x11-libs/gtk+-2.2':
  * When adding package 'x11-libs/gtk+-2.10.11::gentoo':
  * When adding build dependencies as pre dependencies:
  * When adding PackageDepAtom '>=x11-libs/pango-1.12.0':
  * When adding package 'x11-libs/pango-1.14.10::gentoo':
  * When adding build dependencies as pre dependencies:
  * When adding PackageDepAtom '>=x11-libs/cairo-1.2.2':
  * When adding package 'x11-libs/cairo-1.4.0::gentoo':
  * When adding build dependencies as pre dependencies:
  * When adding PackageDepAtom '>=media-libs/glitz-0.5.1':
  * When adding installed package 'media-libs/glitz-0.5.6::installed':
  * When adding run dependencies as post dependencies:
  * When adding PackageDepAtom 'virtual/opengl':
  * When fetching metadata for 'x11-drivers/ati-drivers-8.32.5-r91':
  * When loading VDBRepository entry for 'x11-drivers/ati-drivers-8.32.5-r91' from '/var/db/pkg':
  * When validating use flag name 'USE="udev':
  * Name 'USE="udev' is not a valid use flag name (paludis::UseFlagNameError)


What does this mean? How do I fix it?
Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nikaya
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 13 May 2006
Posts: 1471
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2007 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you tried
Code:
paludis --regenerate-installed-cache

??
_________________
Notes on Dhamma
How to waste your time: look for an explanation of consciousness, ask to know what feeling is. (Nanavira Thera)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dleverton
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Aug 2006
Posts: 517

PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2007 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TheNewOsiris wrote:
Code:
  * When fetching metadata for 'x11-drivers/ati-drivers-8.32.5-r91':
  * When loading VDBRepository entry for 'x11-drivers/ati-drivers-8.32.5-r91' from '/var/db/pkg':
  * When validating use flag name 'USE="udev':
  * Name 'USE="udev' is not a valid use flag name (paludis::UseFlagNameError)

There's garbage in on of the files in /var/db/pkg/x11-drivers/ati-drivers-8.32.5-r91/, most likely USE. Edit it with a text editor and remove the USE="udev part. After that you should probably reinstall ati-drivers, just to be safe.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 5921
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 8:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

does paludis use regular expressions for applications?

I'm trying to install the specific package glib-1.2.10-r5, but paludis doesn't seem to recognize to portage similar commands

Code:
paludis -i -1 "<glib-2"


Code:
paludis -i -1 =glib-1.2.10-r5


any idea which command to use?

thanks in advance

update:


got it!, it does :roll:

'=dev-libs/glib-1.2.10-r5::gentoo'

I need to use paludis more often to get used to its commands :oops:
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.5.2

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Beinii
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Sep 2006
Posts: 46
Location: Salo, Finland

PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
Building dependency list...paludis@1174244227: [WARNING] In program paludis -pi world:
  ... When performing install action from command line:
  ... When executing install task:
  ... When adding PackageDepSpec 'media-tv/xmltv':
  ... When adding installed package 'media-tv/xmltv-9999::installed':
  ... When adding run dependencies as post dependencies:
  ... When adding PackageDepSpec '>=dev-perl/Lingua-Preferred-0.2.4':
  ... When adding installed package 'dev-perl/Lingua-Preferred-0.2.4::installed':
  ... When adding run dependencies as post dependencies:
  ... When adding PackageDepSpec 'dev-perl/Log-TraceMessages':
  ... When adding installed package 'dev-perl/Log-TraceMessages-1.4::installed':
  ... When adding run dependencies as post dependencies:
  ... When adding PackageDepSpec '>=dev-perl/HTML-FromText-1.004':
  ... When adding installed package 'dev-perl/HTML-FromText-2.05::installed':
  ... When adding run dependencies as post dependencies:
  ... When adding PackageDepSpec 'dev-perl/Email-Find':
  ... When adding installed package 'dev-perl/Email-Find-0.09::installed':
  ... When adding run dependencies as post dependencies:
  ... When adding PackageDepSpec 'dev-perl/MailTools':
  ... When adding installed package 'dev-perl/MailTools-1.74::installed':
  ... Ignoring run dependencies due to exception 'Error searching for '>=virtual/perl-libnet-1.0703': no available versions' (paludis::AllMaskedError)


I'm getting this warning. Is there something I should do to get rid of it?
_________________
Make love, not Warcraft...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zxy
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Posts: 1160
Location: in bed in front of the computer

PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2007 3:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've hade a problem running check_linkage.rb -- something like revdep-rebuild for paludis. The problem was with 0.20.1 version of Paludis. The following line in the terminal fixed it:
Code:
# sed s/PackageDepAtom/PackageDepSpec/ -i /usr/share/paludis/ruby/demos/check_linkage.rb

(not that the above is all in one line)

Until 0.20.2 or newer arrives. :D
_________________
Nature does not hurry, yet everything is accomplished.
Lao Tzu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bmichaelsen
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Nov 2002
Posts: 1276
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2007 7:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

etc-proposals could be a good replacement for etc-update/dispatch-conf on systems with paludis only. However, ATM, it still needs portage or pkgcore to find out about CONFIG_PROTECT. Direct paludis support could certainly implemented, if somebody tells my how to find out about CONFIG_PROTECT with paludis.
_________________
etc-proposals, your friendly config file updater!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zxy
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Posts: 1160
Location: in bed in front of the computer

PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2007 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AFAIK you can use:
Code:
# paludis --environment-variable cat/pkg variable_name
### examples
# paludis --environment-variable sys-devel/gcc CONFIG_PROTECT
# paludis --environment-variable sys-apps/paludis CONFIG_PROTECT


From
paludis --help:

  --environment-variable
        Display the value of an environment variable for a particular package

I hope i didn't miss something.
_________________
Nature does not hurry, yet everything is accomplished.
Lao Tzu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bmichaelsen
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Nov 2002
Posts: 1276
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2007 8:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there a way to find out the "current" enviroment? etc-proposals needs to look for updatable configs, and thus needs to scan all dirs in CONFIG_PROTECT (this is rather package-independant)
_________________
etc-proposals, your friendly config file updater!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spb
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 02 Jan 2004
Posts: 2135
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2007 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bmichaelsen wrote:
Is there a way to find out the "current" enviroment? etc-proposals needs to look for updatable configs, and thus needs to scan all dirs in CONFIG_PROTECT (this is rather package-independant)
You can read /var/db/pkg/.cache/all_CONFIG_PROTECT and all_CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK, which contain cumulative lists of all directories that are config protected for one or more installed packages. That should be the information you need to find any config updates, more reliably than the current configuration setting, which may have changed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nikaya
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 13 May 2006
Posts: 1471
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2007 9:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think a new profile will soon arrive.
How to handle it with Paludis?Is there only the need to change the "profiles=" entries in the /etc/paludis/repositories/foobar.conf files,i.e.
Code:
profiles = ${ROOT}/usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/x86/2006.1/desktop
to
Code:
profiles = ${ROOT}/usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/x86/2007.0/desktop

and then running
Code:
paludis -i --dl-reinstall if-use-changed world

??

What's about the /etc/make.profile symlink?Is he handled by Paludis?
_________________
Notes on Dhamma
How to waste your time: look for an explanation of consciousness, ask to know what feeling is. (Nanavira Thera)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 13, 14, 15 ... 18, 19, 20  Next
Page 14 of 20

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum