Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
what's a HIGHMEM enabled kernel?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
payam
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Jun 2003
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Tue Jul 01, 2003 9:12 pm    Post subject: what's a HIGHMEM enabled kernel? Reply with quote

I have 1GB of memory and the kernel complains as per the output of dmesg.

Code:
Linux version 2.4.20-gentoo-r5 (root@localhost) (gcc version 3.2.2) #2 Mon Jun 30 13:09:59 EDT 2003
BIOS-provided physical RAM map:
 BIOS-e820: 0000000000000000 - 000000000009fc00 (usable)
 BIOS-e820: 000000000009fc00 - 00000000000a0000 (reserved)
 BIOS-e820: 00000000000f0000 - 0000000000100000 (reserved)
 BIOS-e820: 0000000000100000 - 000000003fff0000 (usable)
 BIOS-e820: 000000003fff0000 - 000000003fff3000 (ACPI NVS)
 BIOS-e820: 000000003fff3000 - 0000000040000000 (ACPI data)
 BIOS-e820: 00000000fec00000 - 00000000fec01000 (reserved)
 BIOS-e820: 00000000fee00000 - 00000000fee01000 (reserved)
 BIOS-e820: 00000000ffff0000 - 0000000100000000 (reserved)
Warning only 896MB will be used.
Use a HIGHMEM enabled kernel.
896MB LOWMEM available.
On node 0 totalpages: 229376
zone(0): 4096 pages.
zone(1): 225280 pages.
zone(2): 0 pages.


what should i do?
_________________
Athlon XP 2800+ 2.08GHz 333FSB 512KB, Biostar M7NCD Pro nForce2, 1GB Crucial DDR 333, EVGA Geforce FX 5600 256MB, Hitachi 180GB 180GXP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stustill
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 333
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland

PostPosted: Tue Jul 01, 2003 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Recompile your kernel, changing the following to 4Gb:

Processor type and features -> High Memory Support

Hope that helps!

Stu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
payam
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Jun 2003
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2003 12:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok so i recompiled my kernel with just high memory support added and i got access to all my memory but programs were having exceptions and faults left and right -- i couldn't run emerge to get nvidia-kernel so i could modprobe it and go into x.

so i went back and realized that i should probably also check HIGHMEM I/O support. and voila, i stopped getting exceptions and faults, but when i did emerge nvidia-glx i got unresolved symbols in there (something like highmem and the like).

so i couldn't get into x again, and i reverted back to not having highmem enabled until i figure a few more things out:

is there something i need to do to get the nvidia.o module to work with highmem?

ALSO, some more issues:
what should i set my user address space size to?
should i enable "Low lateny scheduling" ?
_________________
Athlon XP 2800+ 2.08GHz 333FSB 512KB, Biostar M7NCD Pro nForce2, 1GB Crucial DDR 333, EVGA Geforce FX 5600 256MB, Hitachi 180GB 180GXP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nbensa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Jul 2002
Posts: 799
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2003 12:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nvidia doesn't work with HIGHMEM :-/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
payam
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Jun 2003
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2003 12:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

what crap. will it ever?

should i have bought an ati card?
_________________
Athlon XP 2800+ 2.08GHz 333FSB 512KB, Biostar M7NCD Pro nForce2, 1GB Crucial DDR 333, EVGA Geforce FX 5600 256MB, Hitachi 180GB 180GXP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
payam
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Jun 2003
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2003 6:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

UPDATE!!

I decided I'd try the vanilla-sources 2.4.21 and i have a few things to say:

it is easier to set up than gentoo-sources because there is less stuff that needs checking.
it compiles faster.
it doesn't lock up my system randomly (yet, fingers crossed)
it supports HIGHMEM flawlessly
and most importantly: THE NVIDIA-KERNEL WORKS WITH HIGHMEM ENABLED IN THIS KERNEL! WOOHOO!
_________________
Athlon XP 2800+ 2.08GHz 333FSB 512KB, Biostar M7NCD Pro nForce2, 1GB Crucial DDR 333, EVGA Geforce FX 5600 256MB, Hitachi 180GB 180GXP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nbensa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Jul 2002
Posts: 799
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2003 6:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

payam wrote:
and most importantly: THE NVIDIA-KERNEL WORKS WITH HIGHMEM ENABLED IN THIS KERNEL! WOOHOO!


Hmmmm.... I have to check that out :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anime_Fan
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 366
Location: Linköping, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2003 9:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've run the nvidia kernel from 2.4.20 w/ 1.5 GB RAM w/o trouble.

Then again, I've always used the vanilla kernel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paranode
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Mar 2003
Posts: 679
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2003 2:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It works for me with gentoo-sources. I thought it was a bug so I filed this report but apparently I just needed to clean house. Check it out.
_________________
Meh.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum