Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
HOWTO: Enabling Japanese (or: CJK in KDE & Gnome)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Freak_NL
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2006 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

olof wrote:
If anyone is interested, I posted some ebuilds for Tomoe in bugzilla (tomoe, libtomoe-gtk, scim-tomoe). Tomoe is a japanese handwriting recognition engine, and with scim-tomoe it integrates nicely into scim, giving you something close to the full IME in windows. It may not be quite as good as the Microsoft handwriting recognition yet, but at least it is usable. For a nice description take a look here.

If you have any comments on the ebuilds pleast let me know, it's my first time submitting ebuilds.

I'm very much impressed with Tomoe (thanks for the ebuilds olof), but I wonder where they've gotten their character data from. They seem to know about the CHISE project, so I can imagine that they've used its IDS database as a source.

What bothers me though, on my Sharp Zaurus the kanji 字 (ji) can be written with both 5 and 6 strokes. Both are common ways of writing the character, although I'm not sure which one is "correct" (the Nelson dictionary considers it as having 6 strokes, as does CHISE). Yet Tomoe won't accept the 6 stroke way of writing..
yaneurabeya
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Sun Aug 06, 2006 2:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Has anyone successfully changed the input method change keys for (straight) UIM, and if so how? I hate the shift-space default and the other methods I input into the pref app seem to fail when dealing in the uim daemon.

TIA.
Sudrien
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2006 12:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yaneurabeya wrote: