Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
(SOLVED) Problems with TV-Out and Nvidia
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Kasumi_Ninja
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Feb 2006
Posts: 1825
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Feb 26, 2007 5:59 pm    Post subject: (SOLVED) Problems with TV-Out and Nvidia Reply with quote

I really would like to connect my Geforce GeForce 7800 GS to my TV. Before Nvidia I had an Ati Radeon which worked out of the box (if you had set the xinerama USE flag). I only had to connect my videocard to my TV et voila my monitor was cloned to tv.

I have more trouble getting Nvidia to work. Who knows the easiest way to connect my gfx card to my TV? Thanks in advance!

My xorg.conf:

Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "X.org Configured"
        Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
        InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
        InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
        RgbPath      "/usr/share/X11/rgb"
        ModulePath   "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/misc/"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/TTF/"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/OTF"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/Type1/"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/CID/"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi/"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/"
EndSection

Section "Module"
        Load  "extmod"
        Load  "dbe"
        Load  "record"
        Load  "xtrap"
        Load  "dri"
        Load  "glx"
        Load  "freetype"
        Load  "type1"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier  "Keyboard0"
        Driver      "kbd"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier  "Mouse0"
        Driver      "mouse"
        Option      "Protocol" "auto"
        Option      "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
        Option      "ZAxisMapping" "4 5 6 7"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
        Identifier   "Monitor0"
        VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
        ModelName    "Monitor Model"
EndSection

Section "Device"
        Identifier  "Card0"
        Driver      "nvidia"
        VendorName  "nVidia Corporation"
        BoardName   "Unknown Board"
        BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier "Screen0"
        Device     "Card0"
        Monitor    "Monitor0"
        SubSection "Display"
                Viewport   0 0
                Depth     1
                Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Viewport   0 0
                Depth     4
                Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Viewport   0 0
                Depth     8
                Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Viewport   0 0
                Depth     16
                Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Viewport   0 0
                Depth     24
                Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
EndSection

_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered


Last edited by Kasumi_Ninja on Sun Jun 22, 2008 6:12 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tbonius
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Oct 2003
Posts: 28
Location: Olympia, Wa

PostPosted: Wed Feb 28, 2007 12:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try something close to the following:

http://www.section6.net/wiki/index.php/Installing_MythTV_on_Gentoo_Linux#Final_Touches

Code:

# /etc/X11/xorg.conf (xorg X Window System server configuration file)
#
# If you have edited this file but would like it to be automatically updated
# again, run the following command:
#   sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg
Section "ServerLayout"
   Identifier     "Default Layout"
   Screen         "Default Screen" 0 0
   InputDevice    "Generic Keyboard"
   InputDevice    "Configured Mouse"
EndSection
Section "Files"
   # path to defoma fonts
   FontPath        "/usr/share/X11/fonts/misc"
   FontPath        "/usr/share/X11/fonts/cyrillic"
   FontPath        "/usr/share/X11/fonts/100dpi/:unscaled"
   FontPath        "/usr/share/X11/fonts/75dpi/:unscaled"
   FontPath        "/usr/share/X11/fonts/Type1"
   FontPath        "/usr/share/X11/fonts/100dpi"
   FontPath        "/usr/share/X11/fonts/75dpi"
   FontPath        "/var/lib/defoma/x-ttcidfont-conf.d/dirs/TrueType"
EndSection
Section "Module"
   Load           "i2c"
   Load           "bitmap"
   Load           "ddc"
   Load           "extmod"
   Load           "freetype"
#  Load           "glx"
   Load           "int10"
   Load           "type1"
   Load           "vbe"
EndSection
Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier     "Generic Keyboard"
   Driver         "kbd"
   Option         "CoreKeyboard"
   Option         "XkbRules" "xorg"
   Option         "XkbModel" "pc104"
   Option         "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection
Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier     "Configured Mouse"
   Driver         "mouse"
   Option         "CorePointer"
   Option         "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
   Option         "Protocol" "ExplorerPS/2"
   Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
   Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "true"
EndSection
Section "Monitor"
   Identifier     "Generic Monitor"
   HorizSync       31.5 - 48.5
   VertRefresh     70
   Option         "DPMS"
   ModeLine "960x540p" 37.26 960 976 1008 1104 540 542 548 563 +hsync +vsync
EndSection
Section "Device"
   Identifier     "NVIDIA Corporation"
   Driver         "nvidia"
   Option         "DPMS"
   Option         "IgnoreEDID" "1"
   Option         "TVStandard" "NTSC-M"
   Option         "TVOutFormat" "SVIDEO"
   Option         "TVOverScan" "0.6"
   Option         "ConnectedMonitor" "tv"
   Option         "TwinView" "true"
   Option         "TwinViewOrientation" "Clone"
   Option         "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "30-50"
   Option         "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "60"
   Option "MetaModes" "1024x768,1024x768;800x600,800x600;640x480,640x480;512x384,512x384"
EndSection
Section "Screen"
   Identifier     "Default Screen"
   Device         "NVIDIA Corporation"
   Monitor        "Generic Monitor"
   DefaultDepth    24
   SubSection     "Display"
       Depth       1
       Modes      "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
   EndSubSection
   SubSection     "Display"
       Depth       4
       Modes      "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
   EndSubSection
   SubSection     "Display"
       Depth       8
       Modes      "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
   EndSubSection
   SubSection     "Display"
       Depth       15
       Modes      "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
   EndSubSection
   SubSection     "Display"
       Depth       16
       Modes      "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
   EndSubSection
   SubSection     "Display"
       Depth       24
       Modes      "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
   EndSubSection
EndSection
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kasumi_Ninja
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Feb 2006
Posts: 1825
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Feb 28, 2007 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tbonius wrote:
Try something close to the following:

http://www.section6.net/wiki/index.php/Installing_MythTV_on_Gentoo_Linux#Final_Touches


Thanks for the answer. It appears to be that my tv isn't properly detected (both in Windows as Linux). Whe I run nvidia-settings I see only one screen mentioned :roll:. I have an s-video plugged in directly from my Nvidia to my tv, what can be the problem?
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tbonius
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Oct 2003
Posts: 28
Location: Olympia, Wa

PostPosted: Wed Feb 28, 2007 6:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am not sure what the issue would be in Windows. Maybe double check your driver settings? Isnt there an NVIDIA control applet or something in Windows that allows you to choose the Svideo out?

A simple test on whether or not the SVIDEO out works is to simply boot the machine with the svideo cable connected. If you can see the post and kernel boot process on your TV, then you know the physical Svideo output works. If once the computer loads Xorg and the SVIDEO out goes away, then it is just a matter of configuring your nvidia driver in Xorg to use the SVIDEO out. I have had much luck with the xorg.conf file posted above. I have used it on a Geforce 4mx (On a Shuttle SN41G2) and an Nvidia 5900, as well as an NVIDIA 6800 GT. As long as you are emerge the nvidia drivers and loading the module, there shouldnt be an issue. Post your Xorg error log if you continue to run into problems.

T
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kasumi_Ninja
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Feb 2006
Posts: 1825
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tbonius wrote:
I am not sure what the issue would be in Windows. Maybe double check your driver settings? Isnt there an NVIDIA control applet or something in Windows that allows you to choose the Svideo out?

A simple test on whether or not the SVIDEO out works is to simply boot the machine with the svideo cable connected. If you can see the post and kernel boot process on your TV, then you know the physical Svideo output works. If once the computer loads Xorg and the SVIDEO out goes away, then it is just a matter of configuring your nvidia driver in Xorg to use the SVIDEO out. I have had much luck with the xorg.conf file posted above. I have used it on a Geforce 4mx (On a Shuttle SN41G2) and an Nvidia 5900, as well as an NVIDIA 6800 GT. As long as you are emerge the nvidia drivers and loading the module, there shouldnt be an issue. Post your Xorg error log if you continue to run into problems.

T


Hey thanks for your explanation. I am afraid I have a problem, because I don't see the post and kernel boot process on my TV 8O. I really hope my card isn't screwed...
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kasumi_Ninja
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Feb 2006
Posts: 1825
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Feb 28, 2007 10:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jay! I have a visual :D At startup at least. Now I only have to configure my xorg. Can you tell me what this option does?
Code:

Section "Monitor"
...................
ModeLine "960x540p" 37.26 960 976 1008 1104 540 542 548 563 +hsync +vsync


Edit:
I have changed my xorg.conf but when X starts the monitor (and tv remain pitch black0

Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
   Identifier     "X.org Configured"
   Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
   InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
   InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
   RgbPath      "/usr/share/X11/rgb"
   ModulePath   "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/misc/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/TTF/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/OTF"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/Type1/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/CID/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/"
EndSection

Section "Module"
   Load  "extmod"
   Load  "dbe"
   Load  "record"
   Load  "xtrap"
   Load  "dri"
   Load  "glx"
   Load  "freetype"
   Load  "type1"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Keyboard0"
   Driver      "kbd"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Mouse0"
   Driver      "mouse"
   Option       "Protocol" "auto"
   Option       "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
   Option       "ZAxisMapping" "4 5 6 7"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "Monitor0"
   VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
   ModelName    "Monitor Model"
EndSection

#Section "Device"
#   Identifier  "Card0"
#   Driver      "nvidia"
#   VendorName  "nVidia Corporation"
#   BoardName   "Unknown Board"
#   BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
#EndSection

Section "Device"
   Identifier     "Card0"
   Driver         "nvidia"
   Option         "DPMS"
#   Option         "IgnoreEDID" "1"
   Option         "TVStandard" "PAL-B"
   Option         "TVOutFormat" "SVIDEO"
#   Option         "TVOverScan" "0.6"
   Option         "ConnectedMonitor" "tv"
   Option         "TwinView" "true"
   Option         "TwinViewOrientation" "Clone"
   Option         "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "30-50"
   Option         "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "60"
   Option "MetaModes" "1024x768,1024x768;800x600,800x600;640x480,640x480;512x384,512x384"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen0"
   Device     "Card0"
   Monitor    "Monitor0"
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     1
      Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     4
      Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     8
      Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     16
      Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     24
      Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
   EndSubSection
EndSection


_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tbonius
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Oct 2003
Posts: 28
Location: Olympia, Wa

PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2007 2:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

man xorg.conf

Code:

 ModeLine  "name" mode-description
              This entry is a more compact version of the Mode entry,  and  it
              also  can  be used to specify video modes for the monitor.  is a
              single line format for specifying video modes.   In  most  cases
              this  isn't  necessary because the built-in set of VESA standard
              modes will be sufficient.

              The mode-description is in four sections,  the  first  three  of
              which  are mandatory.  The first is the dot (pixel) clock.  This
              is a single number specifying the pixel clock rate for the  mode
              in MHz.  The second section is a list of four numbers specifying
              the horizontal timings.  These numbers  are  the  hdisp,  hsync-
              start, hsyncend, and htotal values.  The third section is a list
              of four numbers specifying the vertical timings.  These  numbers
              are  the  vdisp,  vsyncstart,  vsyncend, and vtotal values.  The
              final section is a list of flags specifying  other  characteris-
              tics  of  the mode.  Interlace indicates that the mode is inter-
              laced.  DoubleScan indicates a mode where each scanline is  dou-
              bled.   +HSync  and -HSync can be used to select the polarity of
              the HSync signal.  +VSync and -VSync can be used to  select  the
              polarity  of the VSync signal.  Composite can be used to specify
              composite sync on hardware where this is  supported.   Addition-
              ally,  on some hardware, +CSync and -CSync may be used to select
              the composite sync polarity.  The HSkew and VScan  options  men-
              tioned  above  in  the  Modes entry description can also be used
              here.


What kind of TV do you have.. make.. model.. etc

T
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kasumi_Ninja
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Feb 2006
Posts: 1825
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 8:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ehm :roll: A typical Dutch tv 16:9. What info do we need to pinpoint the correct settings?
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tbonius
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Oct 2003
Posts: 28
Location: Olympia, Wa

PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 8:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hrrm...

Well usually on the back of the TV.. there would be a tag that tells you the verfresh rate and frequency. I was just going to look up the model to see if there was more info on the modeline and refresh rate the television will do. If you have a manual or know where to get that info.. it would help.

T
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kasumi_Ninja
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Feb 2006
Posts: 1825
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 8:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tbonius wrote:
Hrrm...

Well usually on the back of the TV.. there would be a tag that tells you the verfresh rate and frequency. I was just going to look up the model to see if there was more info on the modeline and refresh rate the television will do. If you have a manual or know where to get that info.. it would help.

T


Your quick :D. For starters it's an 100 Hz set. I can't find any info about the modeline
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kasumi_Ninja
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Feb 2006
Posts: 1825
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2007 11:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I made some progress. I changed the line
Section "Device"
Code:
Option         "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "60"

to
Section "Device"
Code:
Option         "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "100"


And now my KDE desktop is visible on my TV screen... but not on my monitor :cry:. Is there an hidden option to fix this :) ?
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tbonius
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Oct 2003
Posts: 28
Location: Olympia, Wa

PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2007 11:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is because the NVIDIA driver is set to output to the TV.. via SVIDEO. There are some options for the NVIDIA driver to get the clone view working. It tends to change between driver releases. Check out the documentation at :

http://us.download.nvidia.com/XFree86/Linux-x86/1.0-9746/README/index.html

for more info.

T
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i4dnf
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Sep 2005
Posts: 271
Location: Bucharest, Romania

PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 9:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

and also change this line in yoour xorg.conf:
Code:

Option         "ConnectedMonitor" "tv"


to

Code:

Option         "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT,TV"

_________________
"The only difference between me and a madman is that I am not MAD" (SALVATOR DALI)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kasumi_Ninja
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Feb 2006
Posts: 1825
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 12:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i4dnf wrote:
and also change this line in yoour xorg.conf:
Code:

Option         "ConnectedMonitor" "tv"


to

Code:

Option         "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT,TV"


Yes! That did the trick :D. I will update our wiki asap. I have two questions left though:

1 My TV screen is only displaying part of my desktop about 1/4 starting below (at the KDE panel) is missing. When I start my desktop the Nvidia logo is displayed right below. How can I fix this?

2 I adjusted the xorg.conf for my monitor an added 1280x1024 to Option "MetaModes""
Code:
Option "MetaModes" "1280x1024,1024x768,1024x768;800x600,800x600;640x480,640x480;512x384,512x384"

I notice resolution are separated by , or ; what's the difference? When do you use , and when ; ? Thanks in advance!
Edit: I noticed that when I use ; instead of, my tv screen doesn't give any output anymore :roll:.

My latest xorg.conf:
Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
   Identifier     "X.org Configured"
   Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
   InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
   InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
   RgbPath      "/usr/share/X11/rgb"
   ModulePath   "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/misc/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/TTF/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/OTF"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/Type1/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/CID/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/"
EndSection

Section "Module"
   Load  "extmod"
   Load  "dbe"
   Load  "record"
   Load  "xtrap"
   Load  "dri"
   Load  "glx"
   Load  "freetype"
   Load  "type1"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Keyboard0"
   Driver      "kbd"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Mouse0"
   Driver      "mouse"
   Option       "Protocol" "auto"
   Option       "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
   Option       "ZAxisMapping" "4 5 6 7"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "Monitor0"
   VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
   ModelName    "Monitor Model"
   Option       "DPMS"
      ModeLine "960x540p" 37.26 960 976 1008 1104 540 542 548 563 +hsync +vsync
EndSection

#Section "Device"
#   Identifier  "Card0"
#   Driver      "nvidia"
#   VendorName  "nVidia Corporation"
#   BoardName   "Unknown Board"
#   BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
#EndSection

Section "Device"
   Identifier     "Card0"
   Driver         "nvidia"
   BusID          "AGP:01:00:0"
   Option         "DPMS"
   Option         "IgnoreEDID" "1"
   Option         "TVStandard" "PAL-B"
   Option         "TVOutFormat" "SVIDEO"
   Option         "TVOverScan" "0.6"
   Option         "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT,TV"
   Option         "TwinView" "true"
   Option         "TwinViewOrientation" "Clone"
   Option         "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "30-50"
   Option         "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "100"
   Option "MetaModes" "1280x1024,1024x768,1024x768;800x600,800x600;640x480,640x480;512x384,512x384"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen0"
   Device     "Card0"
   Monitor    "Monitor0"
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     1
      Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     4
      Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     8
      Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     16
      Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     24
      Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
   EndSubSection
EndSection

_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i4dnf
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Sep 2005
Posts: 271
Location: Bucharest, Romania

PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2007 1:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have in my xorg.conf something like this:
Code:

Option   "MetaModes" "1280x960,1024x768 @1280x960;1152x864,1024x768 @1152x864;1024x768,1024x768;"


what this means is that my crt is set to 1280x960 and that my tv displays only a region of 1024x768 of the crt's resolution and can pan through the rest. if you specify the second resolution of the metamode without the @ than the tv will display only the top left region of the virtual workspace. the"," separates resolutions of the same metamode, while ";" separates metamodes. it's smthing like this:
Code:


"MetaModes" "X-crt x Y-crt,X-tv x Y-tv@X-crt x Y-crt; X-crt x Y-crt,X-tv x Y-tv"
                   
                    | when X-crt or Y-crt > X-tv or Y-tv    | when x-crt = y-tv |



Through s-video or composite out you cannot have a resolution higher than 1024x768 on the TV.
_________________
"The only difference between me and a madman is that I am not MAD" (SALVATOR DALI)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kasumi_Ninja
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Feb 2006
Posts: 1825
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks! The '@' made a huge difference, at least now I am able to pan around my screeb :D.Do you also happen to know

1 How I set the 'overlay', currently a movie played in fullscreen automagicly goes my crt screen

2 Is it possible to give my tv a fixed resultion of 1024x768 independent from my crt screen?
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i4dnf
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Sep 2005
Posts: 271
Location: Bucharest, Romania

PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2007 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well you should check the documentation, especially "appendix P" (configuring multiple x screens on one card).. because from what i understand from it.. functionality similar to that of the windows driver's twin view video "overlay" is not yet implemented.
as for the second question i don't really understand what exactly is you want :(...
_________________
"The only difference between me and a madman is that I am not MAD" (SALVATOR DALI)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum