Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[HOWTO]New freetype subpixel font rendering for lcd monitors
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 28, 29, 30  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dylan_stark
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Aug 2005
Posts: 132
Location: Belgrade, Serbia

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 6:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there any way to do this without using portage overlay??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cato`
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Jun 2002
Posts: 430
Location: Norway, Trondheim

PostPosted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 9:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can copy the ebuilds and patches from http://svn.gentoo-xeffects.org/xeffects/trunk/ to your local overlay.
_________________
Don't mess with the Penguin.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vithar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 May 2005
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

boniek wrote:
85dpi, subpixel aa, full hinting:
new spr + bci - this rendering mode is superb


Can you tell me which font do you use in menu?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boniek
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Mar 2005
Posts: 373

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 4:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In Firefox's menu? It's Bitstream Vera Sans Roman from media-fonts/ttf-bitstream-vera (with X useflag turned on).
_________________
[HOWTO]New freetype subpixel font rendering for lcd monitors
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swaun
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jun 2002
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 12:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Has this been tested to work with Freetype 2.3.0? I see a media-libs/freetype-2.3.0_p20070120 package that's hard-masked in portage right now.

Actually, a more appropriate question...

Most of the ebuilds in the xeffects layman package are marked ~x86. Which ones should I add to my package.keywords file? The most recent? That's what I did here, to get the latest Cairo (1.3.10), libXft (2.1.12), and Freetype (2.3.0_p20070120). I unmasked these specific versions.

Was that the intent? Should I just add "ACCEPT_KEYWORDS=~x86" to my /usr/portage/local/layman/make.conf? I assume that would "unmask" all of the layman builds, but preserve the ~x86 mask on the Portage tree.

Is this all correct?
_________________
5 years as a Gentoophile and still a "n00b"


Last edited by swaun on Tue Jan 23, 2007 2:42 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vithar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 May 2005
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 1:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

boniek wrote:
In Firefox's menu? It's Bitstream Vera Sans Roman from media-fonts/ttf-bitstream-vera (with X useflag turned on).


Thanks, I like this font.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boniek
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Mar 2005
Posts: 373

PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 5:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

swaun wrote:
Has this been tested to work with Freetype 2.3.0? I see a media-libs/freetype-2.3.0_p20070120 package that's hard-masked in portage right now.

Actually, a more appropriate question...

Most of the ebuilds in the xeffects layman package are marked ~x86. Which ones should I add to my package.keywords file? The most recent? That's what I did here, to get the latest Cairo (1.3.10), libXft (2.1.12), and Freetype (2.3.0_p20070120). I unmasked these specific versions.

Was that the intent? Should I just add "ACCEPT_KEYWORDS=~x86" to my /usr/portage/local/layman/make.conf? I assume that would "unmask" all of the layman builds, but preserve the ~x86 mask on the Portage tree.

Is this all correct?

Freetype 2.3.0 is only available from xeffects overlay at the moment, so yes, it has been tested with 2.3.0 :)
As long as you are using ebuilds from xeffects overlay, any combination of package versions will work. I recommend most recent ones for obvious reasons :)
As for unmasking, all packages needed for this guide are ~arch and freetype is additionally hard masked. If you are on ~arch all you have to do is to add media-libs/freetype to /etc/portage/package.unmask and you are ready to go as far as unmasking goes - portage will "automagically" pick-up all needed ebuilds by itself if you have xeffects overlay present in your system.
_________________
[HOWTO]New freetype subpixel font rendering for lcd monitors
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swaun
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jun 2002
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

boniek wrote:
swaun wrote:

Should I just add "ACCEPT_KEYWORDS=~x86" to my /usr/portage/local/layman/make.conf? I assume that would "unmask" all of the layman builds, but preserve the ~x86 mask on the Portage tree.

Is this all correct?

If you are on ~arch all you have to do is to add media-libs/freetype to /etc/portage/package.unmask and you are ready to go as far as unmasking goes - portage will "automagically" pick-up all needed ebuilds by itself if you have xeffects overlay present in your system.


In general, I don't want to run ~arch.... I'm willing to do that with the packages that I've specifically overlaid, however. Will "ACCEPT_KEYWORDS=~x86" in /usr/portage/local/layman/make.conf allow me run ~arch ONLY on the "layman" packages?
_________________
5 years as a Gentoophile and still a "n00b"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shelf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Dec 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 6:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've done everything mentioned here and I have perfect fonts now.. but only in qt apps and thunderbird (I don't use firefox, but it seems that the same thing will happen there too) o_O. I've tried everything I could imagine (overriding settings via gtkrc, or xrdb), but in qt apps/thunderbird fonts still look whole lot smoother than in gtk apps. Just a quick screenie to illustrate my point: http://i13.tinypic.com/40mpdg7.png. Menus in thunderbird look way better than in, say, thunar and it drives me crazy.

Any help would be appreciated.

Edit: Whoops, sorry, it was purely my problem (I forgot to clear fontconfig), sorry.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 9:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

swaun wrote:
Will "ACCEPT_KEYWORDS=~x86"

Interesting question, in the layman context. However, I don't think it's a good idea to tempt fate like that, and ACCEPT_KEYWORDS simply should not be tampered with, in the hope that it will work in the right places, and not work in the wrong places :wink:

/etc/portage/package.keywords is exactly where the "unstable" assignations should go.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maedhros
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Apr 2004
Posts: 5511
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow, my fonts are looking great now. Thanks! :D
_________________
No-one's more important than the earthworm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anli
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Sep 2006
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 7:26 pm    Post subject: is all OK with font rendering for Qt4 apps? Reply with quote

anli wrote:
After switching to xeffects/freetype almost all looks nice now (KDE, Firefox, ...) for me. Thanks!
The only problem - qt4 apps has very blurry fonts.

Any tricks?


Well... It seems I'm alone here with my problem 8O
Please, can anybody verify qt4 apps have the same font rendering quality as other (qt3, gtk2, ...) apps?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boniek
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Mar 2005
Posts: 373

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 3:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you please give me more details (such as steps to reproduce problem, including problematic application name and version and qt version)?
_________________
[HOWTO]New freetype subpixel font rendering for lcd monitors
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anli
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Sep 2006
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 4:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

boniek wrote:
Can you please give me more details (such as steps to reproduce problem, including problematic application name and version and qt version)?


All qt4 apps I have have this issue, for example:

SIR: http://www.kde-apps.org/content/show.php?content=35325 (last version, manually installed)
QLoud: http://gaydenko.com/qloud/ (last version from 'proaudio' overlay or manually, as I'm an author)
qmpdclient (from portage, v.1.0.6)
mscore (from SVN tree)
...

This is small screenshot to illustrate:

http://img506.imageshack.us/img506/4695/qt4fontsrz4.png

You see firefox, qamix (qt3) a and SIR (qt4).
Qt v.4.2.2 is in use on ~amd64 arch.


Last edited by anli on Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:00 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boniek
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Mar 2005
Posts: 373

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't reproduce your problem. Fonts in QMPDClient [look] ok to me (qt-4.2.2, qmpdclient-1.0.7, ~x86). Try troubleshotting steps from guide and restart X.

edit: url update
_________________
[HOWTO]New freetype subpixel font rendering for lcd monitors


Last edited by boniek on Thu Feb 08, 2007 12:22 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anli
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Sep 2006
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 8:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

boniek wrote:
I can't reproduce you problem. Fonts in QMPDClient look ok to me.

Can it be arch-related issue? I'm on ~amd64.
Or - must I try to rebuild something X/font/qt-related? (have tried to rebuild qt4 itself already)
USE-flags?

I see, my question are too common. Probably you can shortly point me some ways where to dig in.

(OT: which window decoration do you use? 8) )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anli
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Sep 2006
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 8:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

anli wrote:
... where to dig in...

One thought is: I have set an anti-aliasing via KDE Control Center. Probably I must use something at X level.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boniek
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Mar 2005
Posts: 373

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 8:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I doubt it is arch related. I don't really know how this looks in kde, but you have to (well you don't, but I recommend it for best effect :) ) set font related settings exactly like [that] (I know this is Gnome screenshot but in KDE it should be similar).
Info on revelant packages (please note that I don't have kde installed at all, only qt):
Code:

* media-libs/freetype-2.3.0_p20070127::x-xeffects {:2} [R] -bindist demos -doc filter_default -filter_legacy -filter_light zlib <media-libs/fontconfig-2.4.2::installed, x11-libs/cairo-1.3.12::x-xeffects, 3 more>
* x11-libs/libXft-2.1.12::x-xeffects {:0} [R] -debug newspr <virtual/xft-7.0::installed>
* x11-libs/qt-4.2.2 {:4} [R] -accessibility -cups dbus -debug -doc -examples -firebird -gif -glib jpeg -mng -mysql -nas -nis -odbc opengl -pch png -postgres -qt3support -sqlite -sqlite3 -xinerama zlib input_devices: -wacom
* x11-libs/cairo-1.3.12::x-xeffects {:0} [R] X -debug -directfb -doc glitz newspr svg -xcb

My gtk theme uses x11-themes/gtk-engines-rezlooks (sunrise overlay). Gtk theme is Rezlooks-Graphite and metacity theme is Gilouche-OB (both can be found [here]).

edit: url update
_________________
[HOWTO]New freetype subpixel font rendering for lcd monitors


Last edited by boniek on Thu Feb 08, 2007 12:23 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anli
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Sep 2006
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 8:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

boniek wrote:
I doubt it is arch related. I don't really know how this looks in kde, but you have to (well you don't, but I recommend it for best effect :) ) set font related settings exactly like that (I know this is Gnome screenshot but in KDE it should be similar).

I have the same settings except for "Full" is replaced by "Slight" (with "Full" all looks like qt4 on example reffed above). At any case, anybody can use gnome, kde, fluxbox and so on. And some of wms may not have 'control center' at all. So, I think, there must be some way to set all these font anti-aliasing settings at X level. Am I wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boniek
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Mar 2005
Posts: 373

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 9:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try to create .fonts.conf in your home directory with following contents:
Code:
<?xml version="1.0"?>
<!DOCTYPE fontconfig SYSTEM "fonts.dtd">
<fontconfig>
    <match target="font">
        <edit name="rgba" mode="assign"><const>rgb</const></edit>
        <edit name="hinting" mode="assign"><bool>true</bool></edit>
        <edit name="hintstyle" mode="assign"><const>hintfull</const></edit>
        <edit name="antialias" mode="assign"><bool>true</bool></edit>
    </match>
</fontconfig>

and see if it helps. BTW it won't work with slight. It must be either Medium or Full to enable new method of subpixel rendering. After any change remember to remove ~/.fontconfig directory.

EDIT: updated .fonts.conf a bit
_________________
[HOWTO]New freetype subpixel font rendering for lcd monitors


Last edited by boniek on Tue Jan 30, 2007 10:16 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anli
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Sep 2006
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 9:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aha, I see, thanks! - KDE Control Center creates and edits just this file (~/.fonts.conf). I'll play with it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anli
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Sep 2006
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 10:55 pm    Post subject: is all OK with font rendering for Qt4 apps? [SOLVED] Reply with quote

After digging in '/etc/fonts/conf.avail' I have found '10-autohint.conf' file (well, it wasn't too hard to find this file as it's first one :wink: ), and soft-link to this file was not added inside '/etc/fonts/conf.d' dir. OK, I have inserted these lines from '10-autohint.conf' file

Code:
 <match target="font" >
  <edit mode="assign" name="autohint" >
   <bool>true</bool>
  </edit>
 </match>


into '~/.fonts.conf' file inside <fontconfig> element... Magic! Qt4 apps fonts look as they must to look!
(BTW, KDE Control Center keeps my <match> element intelligently). Now '~/.fonts.conf' file looks like this:
Code:

<?xml version="1.0"?>
<!DOCTYPE fontconfig SYSTEM "fonts.dtd">
<fontconfig>
 <match target="font" >
  <edit mode="assign" name="rgba" >
   <const>rgb</const>
  </edit>
 </match>
 <match target="font" >
  <edit mode="assign" name="hinting" >
   <bool>true</bool>
  </edit>
 </match>
 <match target="font" >
  <edit mode="assign" name="hintstyle" >
   <const>hintfull</const>
  </edit>
 </match>
 <match target="font" >
  <edit mode="assign" name="autohint" >
   <bool>true</bool>
  </edit>
 </match>
 <match target="font" >
  <edit mode="assign" name="antialias" >
   <bool>true</bool>
  </edit>
 </match>
</fontconfig>


Thanks again for help and inspiration!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boniek
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Mar 2005
Posts: 373

PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 1:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, thanks for providing desktop agnostic way to enable new spr. I will add it to the guide shortly.
_________________
[HOWTO]New freetype subpixel font rendering for lcd monitors
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anli
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Sep 2006
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 9:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

BTW, it seems like "Slight' nevertheless does work some way for me. At least I see difference after changing "RGB" to "BGR". To check my eyes, I have started the same qt3 application with "Slight"-"RGB" (above) and "Slight"-"BGR" (below) at the same time: http://img127.imageshack.us/img127/766/qt3slightwa3.png After zooming in the picture I have decided I can believe my eyes :-)

With "Medium" and "Full" settings chars seem "too separated" to my taste (along with every single char looks nice).


Last edited by anli on Tue Feb 06, 2007 7:59 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boniek
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Mar 2005
Posts: 373

PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, it seems problem with slight was fixed some time ago in cvs :)
_________________
[HOWTO]New freetype subpixel font rendering for lcd monitors
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 28, 29, 30  Next
Page 4 of 30

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum