Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Need to install using only a serial connection (no monitor)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
farmorg
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 5:15 pm    Post subject: Need to install using only a serial connection (no monitor) Reply with quote

Hello all, I am completely new to Sparc hardware and need a few pointers to get me started.

I have been using Gentoo for some time now and am fairly proficient with it but have only ever ran Intel hardware before, of which I am getting somewhat bored. So, I have aquired a couple of Sparc boxes, one is a Sun Ultra 1 Creator 3D and the other seems to be a very similar machine, but I have no monitor to fit either machine.

I have connected my serial port to the serial port on the Sparc box and I appear to be getting a connection in Minicom at which point I am presented with a login prompt. However, being a total Sparc newbie I am not sure if this is a login to the openboot or to an existing operating system. There was a fair amount of disk activity after I powered it up, and there was a Gentoo Sparc live cd in the cd drive which also showed some activity.

Can anyone help me to get started with a Gentoo install please?

Many thanks in advance

farmorg

May the source be with you
farmorg
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 9:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Update:

OK, I have managed to get a serial connection to the sun box and can watch the sunos boot process via minicom.