Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
E17 is coming? (part 5)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 28, 29, 30  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
punter
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Nov 2002
Posts: 506

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 10:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

someone correct me if i'm wrong, but the desktop/background fade and swipe features that have been supported in e17 are totally inefficient.
my cpu freq jumps to 100% and back 40% when I change desktop.
seems like e17 literally, paints numerous images on the screen to achieve the fade or swipe effect.

having multiple wallpapers and nice transitional features are nice, but at what expense?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sudharsh
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 12
Location: Chennai, India

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 1:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
someone correct me if i'm wrong, but the desktop/background fade and swipe features that have been supported in e17 are totally inefficient.
my cpu freq jumps to 100% and back 40% when I change desktop.
seems like e17 literally, paints numerous images on the screen to achieve the fade or swipe effect.

having multiple wallpapers and nice transitional features are nice, but at what expense?


Its still under heavy development, so some things might be borked. hopefully it will be fixed
_________________
sudharsh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
punter
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Nov 2002
Posts: 506

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sudharsh wrote:
Quote:
someone correct me if i'm wrong, but the desktop/background fade and swipe features that have been supported in e17 are totally inefficient.
my cpu freq jumps to 100% and back 40% when I change desktop.
seems like e17 literally, paints numerous images on the screen to achieve the fade or swipe effect.

having multiple wallpapers and nice transitional features are nice, but at what expense?


Its still under heavy development, so some things might be borked. hopefully it will be fixed


easy to say, but I reviewed the e17_cvs/apps/e/TODO file, and in this file (particularly under the optimizations section), there's no mention of further developments on this feature....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberPinguin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 510
Location: 2416.94 Miles From Home

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pop into #e and mention it, or post on the edevel mailing list.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GODLiKE
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jan 2007
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 6:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I may be crazy, maybe I did something wrong... I don't know... But I synced an hour ago and now it seems all the E stuff has been removed from portage (E, evas, edje, ecore, eet, etc).

Can anyone confirm this if it's true, and the reason for this?

EDIT: it seems they don't show up on gentoo-portage.com either.
_________________
GERÓNIMOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ekrunch
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 May 2003
Posts: 14
Location: Lake in the Hills, IL

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 8:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

GODLiKE wrote:
I may be crazy, maybe I did something wrong... I don't know... But I synced an hour ago and now it seems all the E stuff has been removed from portage (E, evas, edje, ecore, eet, etc).

Can anyone confirm this if it's true, and the reason for this?

EDIT: it seems they don't show up on gentoo-portage.com either.


Don't worry... you're not crazy! I just had the same issue. Looks like Vapier (the e17 ebuild maintainer) has pulled all of the e17 CVS ebuild files out of portage and into his overlay. Probably a lot easier to maintain that way and it allows users of those ebuilds to more actively contribute to the development process. All you need is layman and you can get them back. (Although vapier's overlay doesn't seem to be in the layman list just yet, should be in there soon though!) Check out the following page for more information.

Overlays and Layman Installation
http://www.gentoo.org/proj/en/overlays/userguide.xml

Vapiers timeline (To know when the ebuilds change)
http://overlays.gentoo.org/dev/vapier/timeline

Here's the changeset where he imported them all in
http://overlays.gentoo.org/dev/vapier/changeset/1

Hope this helps to clear things up a bit,
Ed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gimpel
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 2720
Location: Munich, Bavaria

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 10:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ekrunch wrote:
GODLiKE wrote:
I may be crazy, maybe I did something wrong... I don't know... But I synced an hour ago and now it seems all the E stuff has been removed from portage (E, evas, edje, ecore, eet, etc).

Can anyone confirm this if it's true, and the reason for this?

EDIT: it seems they don't show up on gentoo-portage.com either.


Don't worry... you're not crazy! I just had the same issue. Looks like Vapier (the e17 ebuild maintainer) has pulled all of the e17 CVS ebuild files out of portage and into his overlay. Probably a lot easier to maintain that way and it allows users of those ebuilds to more actively contribute to the development process. All you need is layman and you can get them back. (Although vapier's overlay doesn't seem to be in the layman list just yet, should be in there soon though!) Check out the following page for more information.

Overlays and Layman Installation
http://www.gentoo.org/proj/en/overlays/userguide.xml

Vapiers timeline (To know when the ebuilds change)
http://overlays.gentoo.org/dev/vapier/timeline

Here's the changeset where he imported them all in
http://overlays.gentoo.org/dev/vapier/changeset/1

Hope this helps to clear things up a bit,
Ed


Cool stuff!

Until then edit your /etc/layman/layman.cfg and add following to list of lists:
Code:
overlays  : http://www.gentoo.org/proj/en/overlays/layman-global.txt
            http://gimpel.ath.cx/~tom/layman-enlightenment.list

then
Code:
layman -fa enlightenment

_________________
http://proaudio.tuxfamily.org/wiki - pro-audio software overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaTz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Aug 2005
Posts: 166
Location: Genova (IT)

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm trying to build e_modules using this ebuil
Code:

# Copyright 1999-2006 Gentoo Foundation
# Distributed under the terms of the GNU General Public License v2
# $Header: /var/cvsroot/gentoo-x86/x11-plugins/e_modules/e_modules-9999.ebuild,v 1.3 2006/05/14 20:42:20 vapier Exp $

ECVS_MODULE="e_modules"
inherit enlightenment

DESCRIPTION="add-on modules for e17 (snow/flame/notes/etc...)"

ALL_MODULES="alarm bling calendar cpu deskshow emu engage flame language
        mail mem mixer moon net photo rain screenshot slideshow snow tclock
        taskbar uptime weather wlan winselector"

IUSE="${ALL_MODULES}"

DEPEND="x11-wm/e
   x11-libs/ecore
   x11-libs/evas
   x11-libs/esmart
   media-libs/edje
   dev-libs/eet
   dev-libs/exml
   media-libs/alsa-lib
   x11-libs/libXdamage
   x11-libs/libXcomposite"

src_unpack() {
   enlightenment_src_unpack
   cd ${S}

   MODULES_BUILD="";

   # Create the list of modules that will be built
   for d in ${ALL_MODULES};
   do
      use $d && MODULES_BUILD="${MODULES_BUILD} $d";
   done

   # If new modules are introduced into CVS the user should be warned that
   # the module will not be built until the ebuild is patched
   for d in `ls -1`;
   do
      [[ -d $d ]] && case $d in
      CVS | debian)
         ## skip these directories
      ;;
      *)
         if ! echo ${ALL_MODULES} | grep -q "$d"; then
#            MODULES_BUILD="${MODULES_BUILD} $d"
            ewarn "$d is a new module in cvs. It will not be built"
            ewarn "Please update your e_modules ebuild to include this new module $d."
         fi
      ;;
      esac
   done

   # Patch the relevant files
   for f in autogen.sh configure.in Makefile.in;
   do
      sed -i -e "s:for d in \*:for d in ${MODULES_BUILD}:" $f || die
   done

}




Only few modules can compile ( deskshow), all the other give to me some error.

This is an example of error:
Code:

configure.in:10: installing `./install-sh'
po/Makefile.am:6: addsuffix .mo,$(ALL_LINGUAS: non-POSIX variable name
po/Makefile.am:6: (probably a GNU make extension)
po/Makefile.am:8: addsuffix .po,$(ALL_LINGUAS: non-POSIX variable name
po/Makefile.am:8: (probably a GNU make extension)
po/Makefile.am:10: `%'-style pattern rules are a GNU make extension
Makefile.am:37: `%'-style pattern rules are a GNU make extension
Makefile.am: installing `./depcomp'
 * This is a LIVE CVS ebuild.
 * That means there are NO promises it will work.
 * If it fails to build, FIX THE CODE YOURSELF
 * before reporting any issues.

!!! ERROR: x11-plugins/e_modules-9999 failed.
Call stack:
  ebuild.sh, line 1546:   Called dyn_compile
  ebuild.sh, line 937:   Called src_compile
  ebuild.sh, line 1255:   Called enlightenment_src_compile
  enlightenment.eclass, line 142:   Called enlightenment_die 'autogen failed'
  enlightenment.eclass, line 106:   Called die

!!! autogen failed



this is my equery list automake
Code:

 equery list automake
[ Searching for package 'automake' in all categories among: ]
 * installed packages
[I--] [  ] sys-devel/automake-1.4_p6 (1.4)
[I--] [  ] sys-devel/automake-1.5 (1.5)
[I--] [  ] sys-devel/automake-1.6.3 (1.6)
[I--] [  ] sys-devel/automake-1.7.9-r1 (1.7)
[I--] [  ] sys-devel/automake-1.8.5-r3 (1.8)
[I--] [  ] sys-devel/automake-1.9.6-r2 (1.9)
[I--] [  ] sys-devel/automake-1.10 (1.10)
[I--] [  ] sys-devel/automake-wrapper-3-r1 (0)


can you help me? (if you need more info about my sys, ask to me)

Thx[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberPinguin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 510
Location: 2416.94 Miles From Home

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 8:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please read the first two pages of this thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sian
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Jan 2004
Posts: 288

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the following error :

Quote:
tux ~ # layman -fa enlightenment
* Failed to update the overlay list from: http://gimpel.ath.cx/~tom/layman-enlightenment.list
* Error was:
* [Errno socket error] (111, 'Connection refused')
* Failed to read a cached version of the overlay list from http://gimpel.ath.cx/~tom/layman-enlightenment.list. You probably did not download the file before. The corresponding entry in your layman.cfg file will be disregarded.
* Error was:
* Failed to read the overlay list at ("/usr/portage/local/layman/cache_9cdadb140ff0c442a810bf108638865d.xml")!
* Error was:
* [Errno 2] No such file or directory: '/usr/portage/local/layman/cache_9cdadb140ff0c442a810bf108638865d.xml'
* Failed to update the overlay list from: http://gimpel.ath.cx/~tom/layman-enlightenment.list
* Error was:
* [Errno socket error] (111, 'Connection refused')
* Failed to read a cached version of the overlay list from http://gimpel.ath.cx/~tom/layman-enlightenment.list. You probably did not download the file before. The corresponding entry in your layman.cfg file will be disregarded.
* Error was:
* Failed to read the overlay list at ("/usr/portage/local/layman/cache_9cdadb140ff0c442a810bf108638865d.xml")!
* Error was:
* [Errno 2] No such file or directory: '/usr/portage/local/layman/cache_9cdadb140ff0c442a810bf108638865d.xml'
* Overlay "enlightenment" does not exist!

_________________
Kernel : 2.6.32 - E17 - OpenRC-0.61 - gcc-4.4.3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nbvcxz
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Sep 2005
Posts: 379
Location: Kraków / PL

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bump
_________________
nBVCXz
zen-kernel (bfq compcache) | /tmp -> tmpfs | ext4 | zsh | xfce | schedtool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaTz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Aug 2005
Posts: 166
Location: Genova (IT)

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 8:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

UberPinguin wrote:
Please read the first two pages of this thread.


ehm i have read it,

i'm also using:
WAN_AUTOCONF="2.60"
WAN_AUTOMAKE="1.9"

Code:

[ Searching for package 'automake' in all categories among: ]
 * installed packages
[I--] [  ] sys-devel/automake-1.4_p6 (1.4)
[I--] [  ] sys-devel/automake-1.5 (1.5)
[I--] [  ] sys-devel/automake-1.6.3 (1.6)
[I--] [  ] sys-devel/automake-1.7.9-r1 (1.7)
[I--] [  ] sys-devel/automake-1.8.5-r3 (1.8)
[I--] [  ] sys-devel/automake-1.9.6-r2 (1.9)
[I--] [  ] sys-devel/automake-1.10 (1.10)
[I--] [  ] sys-devel/automake-wrapper-3-r1 (0)
vaiobox matz # equery list autoconf
[ Searching for package 'autoconf' in all categories among: ]
 * installed packages
[I--] [  ] sys-devel/autoconf-2.13 (2.1)
[I--] [  ] sys-devel/autoconf-2.60 (2.5)
[I--] [  ] sys-devel/autoconf-wrapper-4-r3 (0)


Last edited by MaTz on Tue Jan 16, 2007 8:56 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberPinguin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 510
Location: 2416.94 Miles From Home

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 8:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you try
Code:
WANT_AUTOMAKE="1.9" emerge --oneshot e_modules
on the command line? It doesn't seem to work anywhere else for some reason.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tadeboro
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Nov 2005
Posts: 93
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 9:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sian wrote:
I have the following error :

Quote:
tux ~ # layman -fa enlightenment
* Failed to update the overlay list from: http://gimpel.ath.cx/~tom/layman-enlightenment.list
* Error was:
* [Errno socket error] (111, 'Connection refused')
* Failed to read a cached version of the overlay list from http://gimpel.ath.cx/~tom/layman-enlightenment.list. You probably did not download the file before. The corresponding entry in your layman.cfg file will be disregarded.
* Error was:
* Failed to read the overlay list at ("/usr/portage/local/layman/cache_9cdadb140ff0c442a810bf108638865d.xml")!
* Error was:
* [Errno 2] No such file or directory: '/usr/portage/local/layman/cache_9cdadb140ff0c442a810bf108638865d.xml'
* Failed to update the overlay list from: http://gimpel.ath.cx/~tom/layman-enlightenment.list
* Error was:
* [Errno socket error] (111, 'Connection refused')
* Failed to read a cached version of the overlay list from http://gimpel.ath.cx/~tom/layman-enlightenment.list. You probably did not download the file before. The corresponding entry in your layman.cfg file will be disregarded.
* Error was:
* Failed to read the overlay list at ("/usr/portage/local/layman/cache_9cdadb140ff0c442a810bf108638865d.xml")!
* Error was:
* [Errno 2] No such file or directory: '/usr/portage/local/layman/cache_9cdadb140ff0c442a810bf108638865d.xml'
* Overlay "enlightenment" does not exist!


It seems to me that the server is currently down for some reason ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaTz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Aug 2005
Posts: 166
Location: Genova (IT)

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 9:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

UberPinguin wrote:
Did you try
Code:
WANT_AUTOMAKE="1.9" emerge --oneshot e_modules
on the command line? It doesn't seem to work anywhere else for some reason.


sorry ...
i made a stupid error :roll:
thanks.


Last edited by MaTz on Tue Jan 16, 2007 11:19 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tadeboro
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Nov 2005
Posts: 93
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 10:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Weeee ... enlightenment overlay just made it into layman ... :lol:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ouroboros1827
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Jan 17, 2007 2:25 am    Post subject: Overlay not working Reply with quote

Wow...let me see if I have any _real_ problems...this is a waste of space (I'm just deleting the better part of what was not necessary).

Basically, the overlay was looking for edb-1.0.5.ebuild, while emerge wanted to merge edb-1.0.5.007.ebuild. I specified 'dev-db/edb amd64' (stable) in package.keywords, and it's merging right now...I'll let you know how it goes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kaste
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Dec 2005
Posts: 541
Location: /home Sweet /home

PostPosted: Wed Jan 17, 2007 4:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does anybody know what happened to eet? I don't really recall what it does but it was part of my e and it went away without making it into the overlay.

EDIT: Oh well seems like most packages are still missing from the overlay. Sad. :(
_________________
I'm a membar of Mesnar and me scull contains wakky secrets!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ppurka
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Dec 2004
Posts: 3246

PostPosted: Wed Jan 17, 2007 7:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kaste wrote:
Does anybody know what happened to eet? I don't really recall what it does but it was part of my e and it went away without making it into the overlay.

EDIT: Oh well seems like most packages are still missing from the overlay. Sad. :(
Code:
~> equery which eet
/usr/portage/local/layman/enlightenment/dev-libs/eet/eet-9999.ebuild
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gimpel
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 2720
Location: Munich, Bavaria

PostPosted: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tadeboro wrote:
sian wrote:
I have the following error :

Quote:
tux ~ # layman -fa enlightenment
* Failed to update the overlay list from: http://gimpel.ath.cx/~tom/layman-enlightenment.list
* Error was:
* [Errno socket error] (111, 'Connection refused')
* Failed to read a cached version of the overlay list from http://gimpel.ath.cx/~tom/layman-enlightenment.list. You probably did not download the file before. The corresponding entry in your layman.cfg file will be disregarded.
* Error was:
* Failed to read the overlay list at ("/usr/portage/local/layman/cache_9cdadb140ff0c442a810bf108638865d.xml")!
* Error was:
* [Errno 2] No such file or directory: '/usr/portage/local/layman/cache_9cdadb140ff0c442a810bf108638865d.xml'
* Failed to update the overlay list from: http://gimpel.ath.cx/~tom/layman-enlightenment.list
* Error was:
* [Errno socket error] (111, 'Connection refused')
* Failed to read a cached version of the overlay list from http://gimpel.ath.cx/~tom/layman-enlightenment.list. You probably did not download the file before. The corresponding entry in your layman.cfg file will be disregarded.
* Error was:
* Failed to read the overlay list at ("/usr/portage/local/layman/cache_9cdadb140ff0c442a810bf108638865d.xml")!
* Error was:
* [Errno 2] No such file or directory: '/usr/portage/local/layman/cache_9cdadb140ff0c442a810bf108638865d.xml'
* Overlay "enlightenment" does not exist!


It seems to me that the server is currently down for some reason ...


Jup sorry, i didn't follow the NTARS thing, and upgraded my OpenWRT firmware from whiterussian rc5 to rc6, which basically fucked up, reconnects all 30 minutes :P and the dyndns updater doesn't do its job right.

Please use http://ckpp.tuxfamily.org/stuff/layman-enlightenment.list
if it still isn't in the default global list, although it looks like i have the router doing fine again meanwhile.
_________________
http://proaudio.tuxfamily.org/wiki - pro-audio software overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberPinguin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 510
Location: 2416.94 Miles From Home

PostPosted: Wed Jan 17, 2007 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gimpel wrote:
Please use http://ckpp.tuxfamily.org/stuff/layman-enlightenment.list
if it still isn't in the default global list, although it looks like i have the router doing fine again meanwhile.

It's in the global list; sync'd and updated last night! 8-)
BTW, do you think you could merge in ppurka's e_modules ebuild? Those USE flag-enabled modules have been a major life saver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gimpel
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 2720
Location: Munich, Bavaria

PostPosted: Wed Jan 17, 2007 1:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

UberPinguin wrote:
gimpel wrote:
Please use http://ckpp.tuxfamily.org/stuff/layman-enlightenment.list
if it still isn't in the default global list, although it looks like i have the router doing fine again meanwhile.

It's in the global list; sync'd and updated last night! 8-)
BTW, do you think you could merge in ppurka's e_modules ebuild? Those USE flag-enabled modules have been a major life saver.

Hmm, i use split ebuilds for all e_modules.
And i guess the one to ask would be vapier himself. :)

Though I/we could setup a svn repo somewhere and provide both, split ebuilds and ppurka's there.
_________________
http://proaudio.tuxfamily.org/wiki - pro-audio software overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberPinguin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 510
Location: 2416.94 Miles From Home

PostPosted: Wed Jan 17, 2007 2:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm.. I wasn't aware of split ebuilds for the modules. That may be a better way to go - especially with all available documentation saying 'Don't install these as one monolithic package - do them individually.'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ppurka
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Dec 2004
Posts: 3246

PostPosted: Wed Jan 17, 2007 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I struggled with that question myself. Here is the solution: if you want your local portage overlay to override the layman portage overlay, then change the order of $PORTDIR_OVERLAY and the layman overlay in /usr/portage/local/layman/make.conf:
Code:
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/portage/local/layman/enlightenment
$PORTDIR_OVERLAY"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberPinguin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 510
Location: 2416.94 Miles From Home

PostPosted: Wed Jan 17, 2007 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't see the split ebuilds in the evolution overlay, though.... Am I missing something?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 28, 29, 30  Next
Page 3 of 30

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum