Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Firewall woes.....
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kalldrexx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Apr 2002
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2002 9:53 am    Post subject: Firewall woes..... Reply with quote

Trying to manipluate IPtables and IPchains seems broken... Why do I say this? I'm following howto examples. I emerged ipchains after I couldn't get iptables working. Why not?
My lovely console wrote:

bash-2.05a# iptables -A INPUT -s 127.0.0.1 -p icmp -j DROP
modprobe: Can't locate module ip_tables
iptables v1.2.6a: can't initialize iptables table `filter': iptables who? (do you need to insmod?)
Perhaps iptables or your kernel needs to be upgraded.


hmm right... tha'ts odd figuring i got that code from a howto that's supposed to teach me how to use iptables. So i emerge ipchains and ipchains-firewall. I try some examples then:
my lovely console wrote:

bash-2.05a# ipchains -A input -s 127.0.0.1 -p icmp -j DENY
ipchains: Protocol not available
bash-2.05a# ipchains -L
ipchains: Incompatible with this kernel
bash-2.05a# ipchains -L input
ipchains: Incompatible with this kernel
bash-2.05a# ipchains -F forward
ipchains: Protocol not available
bash-2.05a# ipchains -A output -d 199.95.207.0/24 -j REJECT
ipchains: Protocol not available


uhhhhhhhhhh. Well i'm assuming that's not supposed to happen. I got those STRAIGHT out of hte firewall howto....

AS you cna see i'm having trouble wiht my firewall.. I htink i finally got ssh working however i aslo can't ifgure out how to make sshd start happen at boot...

--KallDrexx[/quote]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phaze3k
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Apr 2002
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2002 10:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm assuming you've got a 2.4 kernel installed, so you don't want ipchains - unmerge it now.

Did you compile iptables support directly into the kernel? It doesn't look like it..

If you compiled it as a module try doing (as root)
Code:
modprobe iptables
and then adding the rules.

If that still doesn't work, you'll need to go to /usr/src/linux, make menuconfig, select iptables as a module (and any other related iptables modules you want, eg NAT), then do a
Code:
make modules; make modules_install


Once the module is installed do
Code:
depmod -a

(you only need to do this once), modprobe iptables and add your rules..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Target
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Apr 2002
Posts: 200

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2002 11:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Compiling the kernel with netfilter might help with getting iptables to work.

In menuconfig, don't forget to go down to the netfilter sub-menu that will appear a little bit down the list after you enable netfilter itself, and enable all the fun stuff you need.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KallDrexx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Apr 2002
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2002 12:26 pm    Post subject: hmm Reply with quote

ok (at school) I remotley unmerged ipchains (I thought that was the newst... *shrug*). Yes i have 2.4.19.

The thing is i DON"T see an iptables option in menuconfig. All I see is "Network packet filtering (replaces ipchains)" which i didn't select. Any more specific options to get iptables working would be greatly appreciated... btw modprobe iptables didn't work.

--KallDrexx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dr_strange
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 480
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2002 12:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ah, but you _should_ select it, and then a whole bunch of additional options appear
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Target
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Apr 2002
Posts: 200

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2002 3:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, that is netfilter/iptables.

It gives you a new submenu when you select it, but it's further down so you need to go hunt for it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KallDrexx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Apr 2002
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2002 4:47 pm    Post subject: um...riiiight Reply with quote

ok I selected it before (when i posted the first message) issued the reboot command and well, Gentoo doesn't seem to want to do the final step to shut down or reboot (gives some return error, i'll get it and post it later) so i can't ssh into it now...

basically when I selected netfilter, only 1 more option came up, the netfilter debug... :?

so.....

:?:

--KallDrexx

EDIT: Also, I compiled it into the kernel.... Should I do it as a module instead?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Target
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Apr 2002
Posts: 200

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2002 5:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

An extra netfilter submenu comes up, but for some reason it comes up way down the page. You have to go down there and go into it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
klieber
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 17 Apr 2002
Posts: 3657
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2002 9:18 pm    Post subject: Re: um...riiiight Reply with quote

KallDrexx wrote:
EDIT: Also, I compiled it into the kernel.... Should I do it as a module instead?


Shouldn't matter, but I've always compiled my firewall stuff into the kernel.

--kurt
_________________
The problem with political jokes is that they get elected
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum