Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Looking for new desktop environment. Tried several but...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ajnabi
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Mon Oct 30, 2006 6:34 pm    Post subject: Looking for new desktop environment. Tried several but... Reply with quote

I have been using KDE for about 5 years now. It seems that it always has some annoying bug such as the keyboard freezing up (fixed now), or the latest issue I've been experiencing - the taskbar at the bottom of the screen disappearing. At first, only the desktops and open programs wouldn't display (I think that's the pager?). Now the whole taskbar is gone.

I thought I would ask what others have used, that would meet my needs as encapsulated below:
1. I am command-line driven. I hate the mouse unless it is of obvious need (there is a place for mice - just not as the only option for making a menu/decision choice ...).
2. I like to be able to get anywhere fast (No several clicks to open and search google for something). The kio-server bit where I can type "gg:gentoo" and it opens a browser and searches for Gentoo is a nice feature. I would think this is doable in another venue than KDE.
3. Bloat is bad. I prefer lean, mean, and effective - customizable.
4. While I don't mind "reading the manual" so to speak, I am a busy middleaged person who only has so much time to devote to getting things up and running.

xfce4 looked good but there seems to be a number of flaky problems.

I know there are a lot of similarly asked questions, but I was hoping to get some specific Q&A going - to try and narrow down something for my specific needs. I have read and tried a number of options such as openbox, fluxbox, icewm... Maybe I am missing something that someone can help with.

Thanks in advance,
ajnabi
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva