Sun E450 - how to install?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
freke
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 4:35 pm    Post subject: Sun E450 - how to install? Reply with quote

Hi,

Just got myself 2 Sun E450s; 1 with a clean install of Solaris (4.x IIRC) with an static IP on my network, so that I can telnet to it.
I haven't got access to any Sun monitor (will an ordinary PCI-gfxcard work in it?) nor Sun keyboard/mouse.

What are my options for installing Gentoo on such a E450?
Do I need a keyboard/monitor for it/them? or can I in anyway do it via telnet?

So far I haven't been able to establish a connection through a serial cable though that should be possible, too - right?

Any help/input would be higly appreciated as I'm a total newbie into the world of these sparcs.

--

Should've read the installation docs properly first I guess, never noticed the installation from existing distro - part. Now I just hope that I can follow that guide on Solaris :)
P3SM
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Wed Sep 20, 2006 4:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You don't need a monitor to get Gentoo installed onto them. You can access your boxes through the console (using a serial cable) onto some host PC's RS232 port using a VT100 terminal emulator and 9600,N,8,1 settings on your port.

Once you are on the console you can net boot the machine following the instructions here:

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-sparc-netboot-howto.xml?style=printable

If you need to you can also net boot from a windows PC using these tools:

RARPD: http://www.panix.com/~perin/rarpd.zip
TFTP: http://www.solarwinds.net/Tools/Free_tools/TFTP_Server/

Both tools are free and run under WinXP!

Mind that the naming of the netboot image is identical as if netbooting from a Linux environment!

Once booted you just follow the Gentoo Sparc handbook!

Can't go wrong :D