Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Grub Error Collection [Part 6]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 11, 12, 13  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
the_maddin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Sep 2006
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2006 7:42 pm    Post subject: Should I use menu.lst or grub.conf? Reply with quote

My whole gentoo installation is on one partition (/dev/hda12).

The handbook 2006.1 recommends using a file called /boot/grub/grub.conf for the configuration of the bootloader.
I created that file and tried to configure grub the manual way using the grub shell. The commands were: root (hd0,11) and setup (hd0,11). But the last command returned that it couldn't find /boot/grub/menu.lst.
Now I moved the /boot/grub/grub.conf file to /boot/grub/menu.lst and the error is gone!!!!

Why should I use the grub.conf in /boot/grub? And what about the file /etc/grub.conf?

Is that /boot/grub/grub.conf file a relict of older grub versions and not yet changed in the handbook?

Thanks
Maddin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54215
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2006 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the_maddin,

Welcome to gentoo. You should not have a /etc/grub.conf file. Lilo users have a /etc/lilo.conf but thats lilos way of doing things. Its used at a different time.

/boot/grub/menu.lst and /boot/grub/grub.conf are actually the same file. One is normally a symbolic link to the other
Code:
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root     20 Dec 14  2004 menu.lst -> /boot/grub/grub.conf
if your symlink was missing grub would not find grub.conf.

The handbook is correct. The normal emerge grub creates the link for you.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bob Leny
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Aug 2006
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2006 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jmbsvicetto wrote:
Hi.
Bob Leny wrote:
I need some help here if at all possible. I installed grub on hdb,5 and stupid me, doesnt load from hdb, it loads from hda. So I switched out the hard drives. You can the issue... (If not, now grub is looking in hdb,5, which doesn't exist...)

You should post the output of fdisk -l and say what disk is set to boot on the BIOS.
However, from your description, have you tried to boot with the live-cd, mount the partitions, chroot and do the following?
Code:
# grub
grub> root (hd1,4)
grub> setup (hd0)
grub> exit
#

Does it work?


The bios is booting from hda, which is was I swaped them (I wanted grub on my new disk, which is now hda).

Ok, I put the fdisk -l on the last post. I used this for the mount, I don't know if it's right though...
Code:
#mount /dev/hda5 /mnt/gentoo


I don't know what to change the directory to.

And with this new information, is this still right:
Code:
# grub
grub> root (hd1,4)
grub> setup (hd0)
grub> exit
#


And, if you could, explain what "root", and "setup" do?

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4734
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 1:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bob Leny wrote:

The bios is booting from hda, which is was I swaped them (I wanted grub on my new disk, which is now hda).
Code:
#mount /dev/hda5 /mnt/gentoo

I don't know what to change the directory to.
And, if you could, explain what "root", and "setup" do?

Please reread my above post, as I was finally able to complete it. I had some problems posting the complete answer before.
To mount your partitions and chroot, you should do the following - assuming your disk is /dev/hda, your /boot partition is /dev/hda1 and your / partition is /dev/nda5.
Code:
# mount /dev/hda5 /mnt/gentoo
# mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/gentoo/boot
# mount -t proc proc /mnt/gentoo/proc
# mount -o bind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev
# cat /proc/mounts /mnt/gentoo/etc/mtab
# chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
# env-update
# source /etc/profile

Now to install GRUB in the MBR follow my instructions in the previous post.
The root in root (hd0,0) tells GRUB where is your /boot partition using GRUB partition names. GRUB is made of 2 different parts, a stage1 and a stage1.5 + stage2. The stage1 is embbeded on a partition or the MBR. The stage1.5 and stage2 files are put on the /boot/grub dir. The setup command tells GRUB to install stage1 to the specified disk or partition.
After you install GRUB into the MBR and before you reboot, do the following inside the chroot
Code:
# exit
# cd /
# umount /mnt/gentoo/*
# umount /mnt/gentoo

Does this help?
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bob Leny
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Aug 2006
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 1:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jmbsvicetto wrote:

Code:
# mount /dev/hda5 /mnt/gentoo
# mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/gentoo/boot
# mount -t proc proc /mnt/gentoo/proc
# mount -o bind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev
# cat /proc/mounts /mnt/gentoo/etc/mtab
# chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
# env-update
# source /etc/profile



Umm... It works untill I get to the "#env-update". I get, "bash env-update: command not found".

Nope scratch that! My big brain did something... I'm a logical person, I saw a pattern and solved my problem. "env -update"! yeah!

What should I do?

(Ya know, this would be impossible without this second computer...)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bob Leny
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Aug 2006
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 2:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Guh....
When I typed "root (hd0,5)" I get this, "Filesystem type unknown, partition type 0x82"
Is that right?

Aslo, when I do the grub> setup (hd?,?) I get "cannot mount selected partition". I under stand that the setup writes stage 1.5 and stage 2 to the specified location, but what should the location be?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JugglingSuns120
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 2:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, and thanks for your reply. A bit of background on my system. I have a dell Inspiron 1405 laptop with a single 80 gig internal drive. Attached via USB is a 160 gig external IDE drive. I did as you said but I mapped them in reverse order. The error still occurs even after mapping the drives. The error message I receive is as follows

Code:

root (hd1,0)
Filesystem type unknown, partition type OxDe
kernel /kernel-2.6.13-gentoo-r7 root=/dev/sda3
Error 17: Cannot mount selected partition


Quote:

device.map
Code:
(hd1) /dev/sda
(hd0) /dev/hda


[/code]
grub.conf.
Code:
default 0
timeout 15
splashimage=(hd1,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Gentoo Linux
root (hd1,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.13-gentoo-r7 root=/dev/sda3

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4734
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 2:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bob Leny wrote:
Guh....
When I typed "root (hd0,5)" I get this, "Filesystem type unknown, partition type 0x82"
Is that right?

(hd0,5) is your /dev/hda6 partition which seems to be a SWAP partition.
You want to use (hd0,4). GRUB starts counting at 0. :wink:
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4734
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 2:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

JugglingSuns120 wrote:
Hi, and thanks for your reply. A bit of background on my system. I have a dell Inspiron 1405 laptop with a single 80 gig internal drive. Attached via USB is a 160 gig external IDE drive. I did as you said but I mapped them in reverse order. The error still occurs even after mapping the drives. The error message I receive is as follows
Code:

root (hd1,0)
Filesystem type unknown, partition type OxDe
kernel /kernel-2.6.13-gentoo-r7 root=/dev/sda3
Error 17: Cannot mount selected partition

Code:

device.map
[code](hd1) /dev/sda
(hd0) /dev/hda[/code]

Please post the output of fdisk -l /dev/sda. It seems you have the wrong type for your partition. that would explain the error.
JugglingSuns120 wrote:

grub.conf.
Code:
default 0
timeout 15
splashimage=(hd1,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Gentoo Linux
root (hd1,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.13-gentoo-r7 root=/dev/sda3


This seems fine to me. I would try to solve the partition problem.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bob Leny
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Aug 2006
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 3:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dude! This sucks! Nothing but problems! I've been trying to install Gentoo for 2 weeks now and I haven't got it yet!

This is a line I receive whilst running the command, “grub> setup (hd0,4)”
Code:
Running “embed” /boot/grub/e2fs_stage1_5 (hd0,4)”... failed (this is not fatal)


Maybe this is a problem I don't know.

Heres my error on boot...
Booting `Gentoo Linux`

root (hd1,4)
Filesystem type is fat, partition type 0xc
kernel /kernel.genkernel.x86.2 6 17.gentoo.r7 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/hdb2

Error 15: File not found

My root shouldnt be hd1,4!??!???!?!

I did this a second time aswell...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4734
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 3:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bob Leny wrote:

Code:
Running “embed” /boot/grub/e2fs_stage1_5 (hd0,4)”... failed (this is not fatal)

Code:
root (hd1,4)
 Filesystem type is fat, partition type 0xc
kernel /kernel.genkernel.x86.2 6 17.gentoo.r7 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/hdb2

Error 15: File not found

My root shouldnt be hd1,4!??!???!?!

Well, that looks bad. Your /boot partition shouldn't be fat. Although the warning about stage1_5 in itself is not worrying.
Well, if you look at my suggestion above, I used (hd1,4). You however, had (hd0,5) in the previous reply, which threw me off balance. :wink:
Does it work now?
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JugglingSuns120
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 4:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jmbsvicetto wrote:

Please post the output of fdisk -l /dev/sda. It seems you have the wrong type for your partition. that would explain the error.


Here are the results:
Code:

fisk -l /dev/sda
Disk /dev/sda: 163.9 GB 163928604672 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19929 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 572 = 8225280 bytes

Device           Boot             Start           End         Blocks            ID            System
/dev/sda1          *                   1              13        104391           82            Linux
/dev/sda2                             14             123       882575           83            Linux Swap
/dev/sda3                           124            9729    77160195          82            Linux
/dev/sda4                          9730          19929   81931500            b            W95 FAT32


AJ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4734
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 4:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

JugglingSuns120 wrote:

Code:

root (hd1,0)
Filesystem type unknown, partition type OxDe


JugglingSuns120 wrote:

Here are the results:
Code:
fisk -l /dev/sda

Device           Boot             Start           End         Blocks            ID            System
/dev/sda1          *                   1              13        104391           82            Linux


hmm, something's wrong in here. Are you sure GRUB sees /dev/sda1 as (hd1)?
You can try to confirm this, by using the command line editor of GRUB.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JugglingSuns120
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 4:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jmbsvicetto wrote:
JugglingSuns120 wrote:

Code:

root (hd1,0)
Filesystem type unknown, partition type OxDe


JugglingSuns120 wrote:

Here are the results:
Code:
fisk -l /dev/sda

Device           Boot             Start           End         Blocks            ID            System
/dev/sda1          *                   1              13        104391           82            Linux


hmm, something's wrong in here. Are you sure GRUB sees /dev/sda1 as (hd1)?
You can try to confirm this, by using the command line editor of GRUB.


When I installed GRUB into the MBR I went through and the command root (hd1,[0-3]) to confirm that the output matched the partition layout and both (hd1,0) and (hd1,2) showed a filesystem that was ext 2 while (hd1,1) showed swap and (hd1,3) showed FAT32, so I am fairly certain that they are both pointing to the same spot, also my installation of grub to the MBR was sucessful which wouldnt be possible if my root was pointing to the wrong spot.

AJ

[edit]PS. I was just reading another post unrelated to this topic but it brought up the FSTAB file which it just occured to me I never modified when I made my drive an external one. Would this be causing the problems with GRUB? My FSTAB still has all partitions as hdb instead of sda. [/edit]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
danthehat
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Feb 2005
Posts: 82
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 6:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I installed GRUB just fine to my first sata drive, but when I go to boot into Gentoo via the boot menu, it gives me an error 22 and just generally makes a pest of itself... Now from what I understand, error 22's happen when something called EVMS pisses off GRUB. But I don't even know what EVMS is, so I am very confused.

I am not sure what you guys need to know to fix me, so please ask and I shall provide.

Thanks,
dTh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
l1nny
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 13
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 6:42 am    Post subject: VFS: Could not open root device..... Reply with quote

'Just had to post this, although it's been posted before. My problem was a little different though.
I have a sort of unusual machine, with 2 sas drives and 1 sata drive.
I already had part of the second sas's drives partition used (12 of 34GB) as the first primary partition, with Windoze on the first drive.
Anyway, I used 12GB of the drive for Gentoo, and made my partitions [1] boot [2] swap [3] root. I performed a manual
install and everything looked okay, and then there's the grub configuration. Anyway, I performed this (3rd install of Gentoo) and rebooted.
I couldn't figure this one out at all; my boot drive and partition were 1,1 [drive 2, partition 2], and I installed the bootloader on drive 1 [0], so I had something like:
root (hd1,1)
kernel /boot/bzImage root (1,3)
Anyway, no go with this, got the same error message as above.
I just couldn't get it out of my mind though, and got back up and read the notes on grub a little more closely.
My mtab was incorrect !!!!! Fixed that and it booted right up.
Too much excitement for one morning :) !!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54215
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 9:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

danthehat,

info grub says
Code:
22 : No such partition
     This error is returned if a partition is requested in the device
     part of a device- or full file name which isn't on the selected
     disk

A typo in your grub.conf can cause that, its not always LVM related.
Can you post your grub.conf and tell us about the partitions on all your hard drives please.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54215
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 9:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

l1nny,

mtab is created and modified by the system as things are mouted and unmouted. It can't be incorrect.This line
Code:
kernel /boot/bzImage root (1,3)
must be incorrect too.
You are mixing up grubs notation for things with the kernels notation. Both use the term root to mean different things.
The grubspeak is not quite right either.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54215
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

JugglingSuns120,

When you do a manual install of grub, /etc/fstab is not consulted.
At boot time, its used to run fsck, which will fail is the partitions don't exist, or are the wrong type.

Partition type de is Dell Utility. It sounds linke your grub install was fine but you made the famous 'out by one' error in your grub.conf. Of course, if you don't have a Dell that contains a utility partition, this is all irrelavent to you.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JugglingSuns120
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
JugglingSuns120,

When you do a manual install of grub, /etc/fstab is not consulted.
At boot time, its used to run fsck, which will fail is the partitions don't exist, or are the wrong type.

Partition type de is Dell Utility. It sounds linke your grub install was fine but you made the famous 'out by one' error in your grub.conf. Of course, if you don't have a Dell that contains a utility partition, this is all irrelavent to you.


Well it seems as if you are right on this one, under the live cd GRUB sees the external drive as (hd1) but when the laptop boots from that drive it is seen as (hd0). I modified my grub.conf to use (hd0) instead of (hd1) and it boots into linux. Now I need to work my way through a kernel panic which is telling me there is no init found and I should be all set. Thanks for all your help guys.

AJ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54215
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JugglingSuns120,

external drive ... Hmm do you have
Code:
rootdelay=<secs>
on your kenrl line in grub ?
Its needed to allow the USB subsystem to come up before mouting root is attempted.
<secs> varies from system to system but values from 7 to 30 are reported to work.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sniggit
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Aug 2003
Posts: 187
Location: n00bcity

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 5:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi.

Im having some problem with grub and dual booting.
After reinstalling windows, windows rewrote my mbr.
When I started up my computer it booted directly into winxp.

so i booted up the livecd and this:

Code:
mount /dev/sdb3 /mnt/gentoo
mount /dev sdb1 /mnt/gentoo/boot
mount -o bind /proc /mnt/gentoo/proc
mount -o bind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev

chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
cp /proc/mounts /etc/mtab

grub-install /dev/sda1


with this grub.conf:
Code:
default 0
timeout 20

title=gentoo
root (hd1,0)
kernel /boot/2.6.15-gentoo-r7 root=/dev/sdb3

title=winxp
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
chainloader +1


this is the same grub.conf I was using before I reinstalled windows, so it should be
working, right? Wrong.

When I try to boot winxp the screen reads :

Code:
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
chainloader +1

Grub loading stage2...


and jumps back to the boot selection screen. No error message so I really don't know where to start looking.
I tried some subtle changes in grub.conf which I saw someone suggesting:

Code:
changed
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
chainloader +1

to

chainloader (hd0,0)+1

But that didnt make any difference, which may not be that surprising..

Any help would be appreciated :)
_________________
Let the money shine!


Last edited by sniggit on Wed Sep 13, 2006 6:33 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
l1nny
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 13
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 6:18 pm    Post subject: Thanks, notation incorrect... Reply with quote

Thanks NeddySeagoon; I kinda' left out the 'hd' part of the syntax there, and mtab can be wrong if you've fooled with it, which is exactly what I did. 'Not a total noobie, but there's still a whole lot of ground to cover.
'Started with Smoothwall about a year or so ago, and learned a lot from that. Then got interested a couple of months ago in KnoppMyth and Knoppix, then got into Debian, then worked with Ubuntu a short time. Good distros, but....
Gentoo looked to be the way to go when I started an install and found it wasn't all just point & click & let the install program make most of the decisions for you; I was hooked.
Anyway, all's well that ends well; I was just happy to have a working system this morning !! Thanks for the response.
BTW, your sig says it all !! That happened to me ONE time, and I lost over a years worth of e-mail, etc,etc....; never again!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JugglingSuns120
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 6:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
JugglingSuns120,

external drive ... Hmm do you have
Code:
rootdelay=<secs>
on your kenrl line in grub ?
Its needed to allow the USB subsystem to come up before mouting root is attempted.
<secs> varies from system to system but values from 7 to 30 are reported to work.


I did not have this line added, after adding it I was able to boot my system. Thanks for the help.

AJ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deathwing00
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 13 Jun 2003
Posts: 4087
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2006 11:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Split from original due to its length. Please, follow up to the following thread:

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-122656.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 11, 12, 13
Page 13 of 13

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum