Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How do you change the resolution of the consol?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
StifflerStealth
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jul 2002
Posts: 955

PostPosted: Wed Jul 03, 2002 8:26 pm    Post subject: How do you change the resolution of the consol? Reply with quote

I tried searching for this question and recieved a No topics found. I do not have X installed, and I've seen other ppl's linux machines with a high consol resolution, so I know it can be done. I would like to increase it to 1280x1024. If it's possible to go that high.
Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fghellar
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 856
Location: Porto Alegre, BR

PostPosted: Wed Jul 03, 2002 8:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What you are looking for is called frame buffer support. I don't use it myself, so I can't tell much about it, but knowing the name will certainly help you find some info... :wink:
_________________
| www.gentoo.org | www.tldp.org | www.google.com |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StifflerStealth
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jul 2002
Posts: 955

PostPosted: Wed Jul 03, 2002 9:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your quick reply.
I found some commands to change the resolution, but does anybody no the commands for grub. I want to display the menu of resolution choices like the "vga=ask" does for lilo. I tried that command, but it didn't work.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fsck_ms
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Jul 2002
Posts: 25
Location: just outside reality

PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2002 1:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Make sure you have frame buffer console compiled into your kernel, of course. I don't remember if vga=ask worked for me in grub or not, but I can specify which resolution to use. Here's what I do:

Code:
title=Linux
root (hd0,4)
kernel /bzImage root=/dev/hda7 hdc=ide-scsi vga=788


And here's a link to some vga= options. They're near the bottom of the page.
_________________
fortune: The best defense against logic is ignorance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fester
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jul 2002
Posts: 41
Location: Los Angeles, CA (USC)

PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2002 6:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

fsck_ms wrote:
Make sure you have frame buffer console compiled into your kernel, of course. I don't remember if vga=ask worked for me in grub or not


vga=ask works for me with Grub under RedHat 7.2. (Planning to switch to Gentoo in a week or two) so there's no incompatibility between that option and grub itself.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guest






PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2002 2:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for all your help! It turns out that I put the vga=ask in the wrong line of the file. Ooops. I never tried the frame buffer setting until now, so my mistakes are understandable.

Thanks
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum