New Install Question
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
tomatopi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 2:03 pm    Post subject: New Install Question Reply with quote

I'm a newbie to installing Gentoo on Sparc, though I have around 10 x86 Gentoo machines. I have one question. Is there a way of installing the 2.6 kernel in a fresh install off the boot CD? I'm afraid of just unmasking the 2.6 kernel in case it may break something. Do I have to install with the sparc-sources kernel and then upgrade to the gentoo-sources later? Or is there an experimental 2.6 install CD image someplace?

I followed the Sparc Handbook for a stage-3 install (though I usually do stage 1 for x86) and it seems 2.4 based and doesn't give much info about the 2.6 kernel. I would have no problem doing a stage-1 install that would work. It's a little SunFire V100 I plan for a webserver.

Thanks
gust4voz
Retired Dev
Retired Dev

PostPosted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 7:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The latest experimental livecd @ http://dev.gentoo.org/~gustavoz/sparc/experimental/ sports a 2.6 kernel.
Basically use a regular stage, switch to a 2.6 profile and re-emerge linux-headers and glibc.
tomatopi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 11:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried the experimental CD and I'm not having much luck. I get:

Allocated 8 Megs of memory at 0x40000000 for kernel
Loaded kernel version 2.6.17
Loading initial ramdisk (645170 bytes at 0x6F802000 phys, 0x40C00000 virt)...
Illegal Instruction

The same thing happens with the 2.6.16 kernel. What are my options to get a Sun w/ 2.6 kernel at this point?
gust4voz
Retired Dev
Retired Dev

PostPosted: Thu Aug 17, 2006 12:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's possible to do 2.4 first then upgrade to 2.6, but the CD should work.