View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Oubipaws
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 4:14 pm    Post subject: Recommended Laptop? Reply with quote

It's been a long time since I've really been involved in the Linux (mainly Gentoo community) due to alot of reasons. I'm back in again, ready to jump in head first, and I'm not a linux beginner, it's just been a matter of work required Windows so it's sadly been my life for over a year.

Now I'm looking for a new laptop for school/work for under 1000 dollars that will work well with Gentoo. Not worried about Ubuntu, Red Hat, etc, just Gentoo. I love Gentoo for it's ease of use with Portage and I think it's a excellent distro. I am not interested in being able to play games, just being able to have a stable Gentoo install with all my development tools, wireless working, DVD+RW support, etc.

Do you guys have any recommended laptops? I was looking at the Dell Inspiron 6400 with 1.6ghz Duo Core, 1gig of ram, 100gig hard drive. Also was looking at Macbook Pro, but they are pricy and I haven't seen a whole lot of linux support for them, plus I'm a intel kind of guy.

Thanks in advance guys, and I look forward to jumping back into the community again.
-Nick

Haud Misericordia.
djpharoah
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 4:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nothing beats an IBM Thinkpad for support. However for $1000 you can probably get a nice T41p from ebay.

gl
dol-sen
Retired Dev
Retired Dev

PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not familiar with the offerings, but there are several laptop recommendation threads I've seen recently and are probably still very relevant. Try a "Quick Search" on laptop recommendations. It should give you some good reading material.
Oubipaws
n00b
n00b