Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Creating encrypted CDROMs
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mihochan
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 296
Location: Melbourne again

PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2003 5:21 am    Post subject: Creating encrypted CDROMs Reply with quote

How to burn encrypted CDROMs

This is how I burnt an encrypted CDROM. Comments are welcome.

1. Setup the LINUX kernel

A number of modules need to be compiled into the
kernel before you begin.
These are,
loop-back device support
CryptoAPI support
A Cypto cipher ( I chose AES )
Crypto device support
Loop crypto device support

2. Load the modules

Load the modules with modprobe,

Code:
modprobe -a cipher-aes cryptoloop


3. Create an empty file

Create an empty file. This file will hold the encrypted
ISO image so it must be larger than the image you wish
to burn.
The following command will create a file 600M in size

Code:
dd if=/dev/urandom of=encrypted.iso bs=1024 count=600000


4. Attach the encrypting loop device to the file.

This is done with the losetup command. Once the loop back
device is attached all data passed to the loop back device
will be encrypted and written to you file.
Attach the loop back device with,

Code:
losetup -e aes /dev/loop0 encrypted.iso


5. Create an iso image.

Just create an iso image in the normal way and write it to a
second file something like this,

Code:
mkisofs -o cdrom.iso /my/secret/data


6. Encrypt the image

This is the simplest part! Just type,

Code:
cat cdrom.iso > /dev/loop0


7. Burn the image to disk

Just use cdrecord in the normal way.

Code:
cdrecord -v speed=8 dev=1,0,0 -data encrypted.iso


Now you have written the encrypted ISO image to a cdrom.
To mount the CDROM simply attach the loop back device to the
CDROM device and then mount the loop back device.

Code:
losetup -e aes /dev/loop0 /dev/cdroms/cdrom0
mount /dev/loop0 /mnt/cdrom/


Now you are ready to read and enjoy whatever secret material
you don't want the government, tax office or mother to discover!
_________________
In the long run we are all dead - Keynes


Last edited by mihochan on Wed Jul 02, 2003 1:02 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paranode
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Mar 2003
Posts: 679
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2003 3:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seems like a cool guide. I am just wondering at what point some sort of keys for encryption/decryption are set? Or is this done in a different way?
_________________
Meh.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mihochan
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 296
Location: Melbourne again

PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2003 11:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When you set up the loop device, you are asked for a password.
I think that the key is generated from this password.

Tom
_________________
In the long run we are all dead - Keynes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ebrostig
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 20 Jul 2002
Posts: 3152
Location: Orlando, Fl

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2003 1:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Networking and Security.

Erik
_________________
'Yes, Firefox is indeed greater than women. Can women block pops up for you? No. Can Firefox show you naked women? Yes.'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
palebear
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 May 2003
Posts: 14
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Tue Jul 01, 2003 9:12 pm    Post subject: Re: Creating encrypted CDROMs Reply with quote

mihochan wrote:

3. Create an empty file

Create an empty file. This file will hold the encrypted
ISO image so it must be larger than the image you wish
to burn.
The following command will create a file 600M in size

Code:
dd if=/dev/zero of=encrypted.iso bs=1024 count=600000




creating a file from /dev/zero isn't really a great idea, you should use /dev/urandom (taken from http://www.kerneli.org/howto/node3.php)
_________________
If things get any worse, I'm going to have to ask you to stop helping me!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mihochan
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 296
Location: Melbourne again

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2003 1:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, I made the change.

Tom
_________________
In the long run we are all dead - Keynes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gibson3659
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2003 7:40 pm    Post subject: Skip mkisofs?? Reply with quote

Can you skip the mkisofs and burn an encrypted file directly? Of course the image would have to have a filesystem. Would cdrecord choke on this?

dd if=/dev/urandom of=encrypted.image bs=1024 count=600000
losetup -e aes /dev/loop0 encrypted.image
[mkfs of you choice] /dev/loop0
mount /dev/loop0 /mnt/image
cp /your/files /dev/loop0
umount /dev/loop0
cdrecord -v speed=8 dev=1,0,0 -data encrypted.image

you would mount if the same way, except you may have to specify a filesystem.

Better yet, you could split your image in half and burn to 2 separate CDs. Both halves would have to be joined on the harddrive before useable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mihochan
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 296
Location: Melbourne again

PostPosted: Thu Jul 03, 2003 12:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That would also work, so in that case you would have a file that could be mounted as a filesystem.
_________________
In the long run we are all dead - Keynes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mcp33p4n75
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jul 2003
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2003 7:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found a much easier way to make the encrypted file system if you don't want to worry about people being able to see how much data really is encrypted.

mkisofs blah blah blah cdrom.iso
cp cdrom.iso encrypted.iso
losetup -e [cipher] /dev/loop# encrypted.iso
Set keysize and key...
cat cdrom.iso > /dev/loop0
losetup -d /dev/loop0
cdrecord blah blah blah -data encrypted.iso
wipe both isos from hard disk...

Since the encrypted iso is exactly the same size as the plaintext iso, you don't have to worry about whether you pack the filesystem with random data. You do have to worry, however, about the fact that an adversary has a good clue as to how much data you are storing. I don't know if this makes an attack easier, though. So it's probably not that big of deal. I use this method for when I want to take an old plaintext cd and turn it into an encrypted cd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pi3k
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2003 2:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just a question, but can you mount an encrypted cd on a different system? Do you just mount it like normal and then it asks for a password, or do you need to be on the same system?
_________________
Erant Semper Spes
(ATROPOS: Dual AMD 2800+ MP, GigaByte 7DPXWD+, 2GB DDR266, MSI TI4800SE, Audigy2, 2X200GB Maxtor 8MB Cache, GENTOO LINUX!)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MooktaKiNG
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Nov 2002
Posts: 326
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2003 3:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it possible to use the encrypted CD in windows?
Would i need a speciall software or something?
_________________
http://www.mooktakim.com
Athlon XP 2001, Giga-Byte GA-7VRXP MB, 640Mb DDR RAM 333MHz, MSI Geforce 4800SE 128Mb DDR, 40x12x48 Liteon CDRW drive, Flower Cooler, ADSL Router
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mihochan
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 296
Location: Melbourne again

PostPosted: Fri Sep 05, 2003 12:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It doesn't matter what system the CD is mounted on.
I have an encrypted dongle I use between machines.

Tom
_________________
In the long run we are all dead - Keynes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MooktaKiNG
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Nov 2002
Posts: 326
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Fri Sep 05, 2003 1:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mihochan wrote:
It doesn't matter what system the CD is mounted on.
I have an encrypted dongle I use between machines.

Tom


What software do you use for your dongle?
_________________
http://www.mooktakim.com
Athlon XP 2001, Giga-Byte GA-7VRXP MB, 640Mb DDR RAM 333MHz, MSI Geforce 4800SE 128Mb DDR, 40x12x48 Liteon CDRW drive, Flower Cooler, ADSL Router
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Slonk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Sep 2003
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2003 11:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had this working perfectly in the latest stable release of the gentoo kernel. I recently decided to try out the gentoo-test-sources (2.4.22r0) though, and it doesn't seem to work so well. The cipher-aes module that we need to modprobe for seems to have been renamed to aes. The cryptoloop module seems to have disappeared altogether.
I don't get an error when I do the line:
Code:
modprobe -a aes cryptoloop

but losetup informs me that the encryption method is unavailable.
Anyone else found and/or licked this problem yet? I haven't been game to try the 2.6 kernel yet, so have absolutely no idea whether it is a problem there or not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
S_aIN_t
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 May 2002
Posts: 488
Location: Ottawa

PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2003 1:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mihochan wrote:
It doesn't matter what system the CD is mounted on.
I have an encrypted dongle I use between machines.

Tom


can you provide some more details on the dongle.. who makes it? how does it work? where can i find more information about it?

i haven't heard about those things before.. so.. it sounds pretty interesting to me.
_________________
"That which is overdesigned, too highly
specific, anticipates outcome; the anicipation of
outcome guatantees, if not failure, the
absence of grace."
- William Gibson, "All Tomorrow's Parties"
----
http://petro.tanreisoftware.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Slonk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Sep 2003
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2003 3:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can answer my own question now in case anyone else has the same problem. Gave up on kernel 2.4.22 and went straight to 2.6. The following commands allow a cd burnt under kernel 2.4 using the instructions above, to be mounted under 2.6

Code:

modprobe -a cryptoloop aes
hashalot ripemd160 |losetup -p0 -e aes-cbc-256 /dev/loop0 /dev/cdrom
mount -o block=2048 /dev/loop0 /mnt/cdrom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
R!tman
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2003
Posts: 1303
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2006 1:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is a great howto. Thank you very much mihochan :!:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum