Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
User Representative Nominations [closed]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Old School
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2006 12:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think that Bob P and hielvc would be ideal for many of the reasons already mentioned.

The further a society drifts from truth, the more it will hate those who speak it.
George Orwell
sluggo
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2006 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I nominate myself as a User Representative. I've been using Gentoo for two years and it has now spread to five computers I maintain (work, home, two servers, linode leased server), soon to my mom's computer, and I support coworkers who run Gentoo and advocate it in my local Python group. My contact with the Gentoo community is mainly by reading GWN, so my presence on the forums and Bugzilla is mainly limited to things linked from GWN or bugs/problems I encounter. I place a high value on being approachable and clearly communicating. I like Gentoo's straightforward nature, clean configuration system, easy automatic compiles, and I want to do what I can to make sure these things remain and get better and better.

Indirect experience includes being former editor, writer, and Answer Gang member for Linux Gazette (http://linuxgazette.net/).
- My Installing Gentoo article: http://linuxgazette.net/106/orr.html
- Readers' followups: http://linuxgazette.net/107/lg_tips.html
- Readers' followups: http://linuxgazette.net/107/lg_mail.html#mailbag.3
- Reply to Gentoo vs other distros question: http://linuxgazette.net/108/lg_mail.html#mailbag.1

I'm also a Cheetah developer, and active on the Quixote mailing list.

-- Mike Orr <sluggoster@gmail.com>
anigel
Bodhisattva