Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
symlink and '!!! ARCH is not set' error
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sinisterdomestik
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Aug 2003
Posts: 683
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 8:42 pm    Post subject: symlink and '!!! ARCH is not set' error Reply with quote

so i was trying to update my portage and fucked up and rm /etc/make.profile before doing the rest of the steps and now i cant emerge anything bc there's no symlink for make.profile. OMG im retarded!!!!!!! im sure this is an easy fix, but can someone help me out real quick. thanks
_________________
Thou shalt NEVER speak of removing thine Linux


Last edited by sinisterdomestik on Tue Jun 13, 2006 9:37 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Drone4four
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 May 2006
Posts: 217

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 8:55 pm    Post subject: Re: i feel REALLY stupid Reply with quote

sinisterdomestik wrote:
so i was trying to update my portage and fucked up and rm /etc/make.profile before doing the rest of the steps and now i cant emerge anything bc there's no symlink for make.profile. OMG im retarded!!!!!!! im sure this is an easy fix, but can someone help me out real quick. thanks


I'm experiencing a similar problem. I'm at step 7.b in the Gentoo Handbook. So I'm beginning to emerge the kernel, but I get this error:

Code:
# USE="-doc symlink" emerge gentoo-sources
!!! ARCH is not set....Are you missing the /etc/make.profile symlink?
!!! Is the symlink correct?  Is your portage tree complete?


My make.conf looks like this:
Code:
CFLAGS="-march=k8 -O2 -pipe"
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CXXFLAGS="-march=k8 -O2 -pipe"
MAKEOPTS="-j2"

GENTOO_MIRRORS="ftp..."

USE="-gtk -gnome qt kde dvd alsa cdr dvdr"


I think sinisterdomestik and I need a solution which will allow us to continue installing Gentoo.

edit:sp
_________________
Gigabyte GA-P45T-ES3G LGA 775 Intel P45
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 @ 3.0GHz
16.384GB RAM DDR3 1333MHz
EVGA nVidia GeForce GTX 560 Ti 2GB


Last edited by Drone4four on Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:13 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AliasXZ
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 835
Location: England, Huddersfield

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sinisterdomestik wrote:
so i was trying to update my portage and fucked up and rm /etc/make.profile before doing the rest of the steps and now i cant emerge anything bc there's no symlink for make.profile. OMG im retarded!!!!!!! im sure this is an easy fix, but can someone help me out real quick. thanks


you could do

Code:

cd /etc
ln -s /usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/x86/2006.0/make.defaults make.profile


thats if your on x86 and are using 2006.0... change it accordingly
_________________
Main:
Kernel: 3.3.8
Mainboard: ASUS A7N8X-E D
CPU: AMD XP2700+ 1gig ram
Lappy:
iBookG4 7447A @ 1.42G
------------------------------
Please add (solved) to your first post when your issue is resolved 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sinisterdomestik
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Aug 2003
Posts: 683
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, so its half fixed, now all i keep getting is that
Code:
!!! ARCH is not set....Are you missing the /etc/make.profile symlink?
!!! Is the symlink correct?  Is your portage tree complete?
error
_________________
Thou shalt NEVER speak of removing thine Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Drone4four
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 May 2006
Posts: 217

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AliasXZ wrote:
Code:

cd /etc
ln -s /usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/x86/2006.0/make.defaults make.profile


thats if your on x86 and are using 2006.0


I switched up x86 with amd64, but that didn't fix the ARCH not being set for me. Is there another command I could try?
_________________
Gigabyte GA-P45T-ES3G LGA 775 Intel P45
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 @ 3.0GHz
16.384GB RAM DDR3 1333MHz
EVGA nVidia GeForce GTX 560 Ti 2GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AliasXZ
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 835
Location: England, Huddersfield

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

im not too sure... anyone ?
_________________
Main:
Kernel: 3.3.8
Mainboard: ASUS A7N8X-E D
CPU: AMD XP2700+ 1gig ram
Lappy:
iBookG4 7447A @ 1.42G
------------------------------
Please add (solved) to your first post when your issue is resolved 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ecatmur
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 3595
Location: Edinburgh

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 9:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

/etc/make.profile should point to /usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/x86/2006.0 or similar.
_________________
No more cruft
dep: Revdeps that work
Using command-line ACCEPT_KEYWORDS?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sinisterdomestik
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Aug 2003
Posts: 683
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

that what i symlinked

ln -s /usr/portage/profiles/default-linex/x86/2006.0 /etc/make.profile

but still got that ARCH error
_________________
Thou shalt NEVER speak of removing thine Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ecatmur
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 3595
Location: Edinburgh

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sinisterdomestik wrote:
that what i symlinked

ln -s /usr/portage/profiles/default-linex/x86/2006.0 /etc/make.profile

s/linex/linux/
_________________
No more cruft
dep: Revdeps that work
Using command-line ACCEPT_KEYWORDS?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sinisterdomestik
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Aug 2003
Posts: 683
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 9:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry, was just typing that :D it was linux
_________________
Thou shalt NEVER speak of removing thine Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Drone4four
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 May 2006
Posts: 217

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ecatmur wrote:
sinisterdomestik wrote:
that what i symlinked

ln -s /usr/portage/profiles/default-linex/x86/2006.0 /etc/make.profile

s/linex/linux/


With sinisterdomestik's corrected command, I can't seem to autocomplete after the /profiles/ directory. What does that mean? Perhaps I messed up when extracting portage stage 3?
_________________
Gigabyte GA-P45T-ES3G LGA 775 Intel P45
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 @ 3.0GHz
16.384GB RAM DDR3 1333MHz
EVGA nVidia GeForce GTX 560 Ti 2GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Drone4four
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 May 2006
Posts: 217

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 9:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

btw, sinisterdomestik, could you please edit the subject to your thread to something more constructive? A more useful title could be, "symlink and '!!! ARCH is not set' error".

edit:sp
_________________
Gigabyte GA-P45T-ES3G LGA 775 Intel P45
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 @ 3.0GHz
16.384GB RAM DDR3 1333MHz
EVGA nVidia GeForce GTX 560 Ti 2GB


Last edited by Drone4four on Tue Jun 13, 2006 9:40 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sinisterdomestik
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Aug 2003
Posts: 683
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 9:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Drone4four wrote:
btw, sinisterdomestik, could you please edit the subject to your thread to something more constructive. A more useful title could be, "symlink and '!!! ARCH is not set' error".


done :)
_________________
Thou shalt NEVER speak of removing thine Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Drone4four
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 May 2006
Posts: 217

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 10:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found a link on LinuxQuestions forums with a Gentoo user who is receiving the same error</a> as me and sinisterdomestik.:

http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/showthread.php?t=251791

I understand the function symbolic links, but I’m still confused when reading that Linux Questions forum post. I’m gonna try out some of these new ideas so I can be more specific later.

The most useful quote from that LQ.org forum post was written in late 2004 by a fellow named qwijibow,
Quote:
make.profile is NOT a file... its a symbolic link to a directory....
for example on my system (a 32 bit PC) its a symbolic link to /usr/portage/profiles/default-x86-2004.2

have a look in the /usr/portage/profiles directory for the architechture that matess your machine and add a symbolic link...

ln -s /usr/portage/profiles/whatever /etc/make.profile

however im not sure wether or not your system will have been dameger by getting this far without a profile set. did you start from stage 1 2 or 3 ?


oh and thanks sinserdomestik for changing the topic for the thread, :o
_________________
Gigabyte GA-P45T-ES3G LGA 775 Intel P45
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 @ 3.0GHz
16.384GB RAM DDR3 1333MHz
EVGA nVidia GeForce GTX 560 Ti 2GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Drone4four
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 May 2006
Posts: 217

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Drone4four wrote:
I found a link on LinuxQuestions forums with a Gentoo user who is receiving the same error</a> as me and sinisterdomestik.:

http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/showthread.php?t=251791

I understand the function symbolic links, but I’m still confused when reading that Linux Questions forum post. I’m gonna try out some of these new ideas so I can be more specific later.

The most useful quote from that LQ.org forum post was written in late 2004 by a fellow named qwijibow,
Quote:
make.profile is NOT a file... its a symbolic link to a directory....
for example on my system (a 32 bit PC) its a symbolic link to /usr/portage/profiles/default-x86-2004.2

have a look in the /usr/portage/profiles directory for the architechture that matess your machine and add a symbolic link...

ln -s /usr/portage/profiles/whatever /etc/make.profile

however im not sure wether or not your system will have been dameger by getting this far without a profile set. did you start from stage 1 2 or 3 ?


oh and thanks sinserdomestik for changing the topic for the thread, :o


According to the LQ.org poster, it's as if my make.conf doesn't exist in /etc. But as I stated in my first post, my make.conf indeed does exist. I'll just repeat myself here. My /etc/make.conf looks like this:
Code:
CFLAGS="-march=k8 -O2 -pipe"
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CXXFLAGS="-march=k8 -O2 -pipe"
MAKEOPTS="-j2"

GENTOO_MIRRORS="ftp..."

USE="-gtk -gnome qt kde dvd alsa cdr dvdr"

_________________
Gigabyte GA-P45T-ES3G LGA 775 Intel P45
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 @ 3.0GHz
16.384GB RAM DDR3 1333MHz
EVGA nVidia GeForce GTX 560 Ti 2GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ecatmur
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 3595
Location: Edinburgh

PostPosted: Wed Jun 14, 2006 12:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Give:
Code:

$ ls -l /etc/make.profile
$ ls -l /etc/make.profile/

_________________
No more cruft
dep: Revdeps that work
Using command-line ACCEPT_KEYWORDS?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sinisterdomestik
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Aug 2003
Posts: 683
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Wed Jun 14, 2006 1:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ecatmur wrote:
Give:
Code:

$ ls -l /etc/make.profile
$ ls -l /etc/make.profile/


ls -l /etc/make.profile shows that its linked to
Code:
/usr/portage/profile/default-linux/x86/2006.0/make.default
spelling could be off, bc i just typed that in
_________________
Thou shalt NEVER speak of removing thine Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ecatmur
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 3595
Location: Edinburgh

PostPosted: Wed Jun 14, 2006 1:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, that's wrong; it should be linked to the directory /usr/portage/profile/default-linux/x86/2006.0/.
_________________
No more cruft
dep: Revdeps that work
Using command-line ACCEPT_KEYWORDS?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sinisterdomestik
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Aug 2003
Posts: 683
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Wed Jun 14, 2006 2:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, changed the symlink and it works fine now....THANK YOU
_________________
Thou shalt NEVER speak of removing thine Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Drone4four
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 May 2006
Posts: 217

PostPosted: Wed Jun 14, 2006 5:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ecatmur wrote:
OK, that's wrong; it should be linked to the directory /usr/portage/profile/default-linux/x86/2006.0/.
Based off of ecatmur''s post, sinisterdomestik resolved his problem. I don't understand yet how to correct my symlink as sinisterdomestik did. Which part of the handbook covers making the correct symlink??

Here is my response to the information requested by ecatmur earlier:

Code:

# ls -l /etc/make.profile/
[...permissions and dates...] 2006.0 -> /usr/portage/default-linux/amd64/2006.0
[...permissions and dates...] 32bit-userland
[...permissions and dates...] make.defaults -> /usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/amd64/2006.0/make.default
[...permissions and dates...] no-multilib
[...permissions and dates...] no-symlinks


and

Code:

# ls -l /etc/make.profile
[...permissions and dates...] /etc/make.profile -> ../usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/amd64/2006.0

_________________
Gigabyte GA-P45T-ES3G LGA 775 Intel P45
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 @ 3.0GHz
16.384GB RAM DDR3 1333MHz
EVGA nVidia GeForce GTX 560 Ti 2GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ecatmur
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 3595
Location: Edinburgh

PostPosted: Wed Jun 14, 2006 8:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?part=1&chap=6#doc_chap2_sect2

Looks like your Portage tree's broken, though - maybe try re-unpacking it or emerge sync.
_________________
No more cruft
dep: Revdeps that work
Using command-line ACCEPT_KEYWORDS?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pcardout
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Mar 2005
Posts: 34
Location: Socorro, NM

PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 6:27 pm    Post subject: Outdated gentoo's & "missing the /etc/make.profile Reply with quote

Hi -- I'd like to contribute understanding and also ask a question:

I love my gentoo machines, but I am busy and haven't done an emerge --update or an emerge --sync in more than a year.
Today I did an
Code:

emerge --sync
...
emerge -pv jpilot
!!! ARCH is not set....Are you missing the /etc/make.profile symlink?
!!! Is the symlink correct?  Is your portage tree complete?


Following suggestions presented here, I did a
Code:

ls -l /etc/make.profile
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root 48 Feb 21  2005 /etc/make.profile -> ../usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/x86/2004.3


As the cognoscenti know, there IS not /usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/x86/2004.3. There is a
2005.0, 2005.1, 2006.0 and 2006.1. Rather than change my symlink, I copied the 2005.0 directory to a
directory called 2004.3 which I created. It fixed portage -- but I think I'm not seeing any new
packages.

I suspect what I should really do is change my symlink to point at 2006.1. My kernel is from early 2005.

Code:

uname -a
Linux feynman 2.6.10-gentoo-r6 #7 Wed Mar 23 17:22:08 MST 2005 i686 AMD Athlon(tm) XP 3200+ AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux


I am guessing that these 2006.0, 2006.1 directories are instructions to portage and don't care about your kernel. Can I get some
confirmation?

_________________
I was born not knowing and have only
had a little time to change that here and there.
--Richard Feynman
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AliasXZ
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 835
Location: England, Huddersfield

PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah thats right as far a s i know
_________________
Main:
Kernel: 3.3.8
Mainboard: ASUS A7N8X-E D
CPU: AMD XP2700+ 1gig ram
Lappy:
iBookG4 7447A @ 1.42G
------------------------------
Please add (solved) to your first post when your issue is resolved 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yngwin
Developer
Developer


Joined: 19 Dec 2002
Posts: 4394
Location: Suzhou, China

PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 10:55 pm    Post subject: Re: Outdated gentoo's & "missing the /etc/make.pro Reply with quote

pcardout wrote:
I suspect what I should really do is change my symlink to point at 2006.1. My kernel is from early 2005.

No! Use 2006.0, as 2006.1 is not out yet, and still being tested.

pcardout wrote:
I am guessing that these 2006.0, 2006.1 directories are instructions to portage and don't care about your kernel. Can I get some confirmation?

That's correct.
_________________
"Those who deny freedom to others deserve it not for themselves." - Abraham Lincoln
Free Culture | Defective by Design | EFF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
another_lobster
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jun 2005
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Sat Jul 29, 2006 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having the same problem, I installed 2005.0 some years ago and today, after some months without emerging anything, I made an 'emerge --sync'.

At the end I got:

Code:

 * An update to portage is available. It is _highly_ recommended
 * that you update portage now, before any other packages are updated.
 * Please do so and then update ALL of your configuration files.


I did:

Code:

root@xam $ emerge --pretend portage

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

!!! ARCH is not set... Are you missing the /etc/make.profile symlink?
!!! Is the symlink correct? Is your portage tree complete?


The symlink was

Code:

root@xam $ ll /etc/make.profile
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root 48 May  1  2005 /etc/make.profile -> ../usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/x86/2005.0


but now I haven't got any '2005.0' directory there, all what I have is:

Code:

root@xam $ cd usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/x86
root@xam $ ll
total 25
drwxr-xr-x  10 root root  400 Jul 29 09:46 ./
drwxr-xr-x  15 root root  552 Jul 25 16:36 ../
drwxr-xr-x   3 root root  152 Jul 29 09:46 2005.1/
drwxr-xr-x   2 root root  128 Jun 27 17:36 2006.0/
drwxr-xr-x   4 root root  240 Jul 27 01:06 2006.1/
-rw-r--r--   1 root root 3917 Jul 27 01:06 ChangeLog
drwxr-xr-x   2 root root   96 Jul 29 09:46 dev/
drwxr-xr-x   2 root root  192 Jun 27 17:36 gcc2/
-rw-r--r--   1 root root  537 Nov 16  2005 make.defaults
drwxr-xr-x   3 root root  208 Jul  8 16:06 no-nptl/
-rw-r--r--   1 root root  563 Apr 29  2005 packages
-rw-r--r--   1 root root    3 Dec  3  2005 parent
-rw-r--r--   1 root root 1091 Jul 19 20:36 use.mask
-rw-r--r--   1 root root  402 Feb 23 22:36 virtuals
drwxr-xr-x   2 root root  184 Feb 28 08:35 vserver/
drwxr-xr-x   2 root root  152 Jun 27 17:36 xbox/


Where should I point the new symlink to? 2005.1? 2006.0? 2006.1? Somewhere else?

Bye,
Lobster
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum