Gentoo on iPAQ?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Alternative Architectures
View previous topic :: View next topic  
vlimmere
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 11:48 am    Post subject: Gentoo on iPAQ? Reply with quote

I have been playing with gentoo for a couple of years now and I still prefer it to any other Linux distro.

Last week, I wanted to try something new and I looked into cross compiling a root file system for an old iPAQ, that I have lying around and now runs Familiar. Before people start telling me that it is better to stick with Familiar, let me tell you that it is not about being unsatisfied with Familiar, but wanting to try and build a rootfs myself for a change. Not sure that I will ever try to flash my iPAQ with it and that is not important (yet) for me.

I started out with emerging crossdev and building a cross toolchain, but to my surprise, that is as far as I could get without running into problems, and for once google is failing me. I have a couple of questions:

If I build the cross toolchain, crossdev uses /etc/make.conf to determine the optimizations (CFLAGS). However, when I try to emerge baselayout for the iPAQ, it tries to use the same settings and that is not what I want (-march=athlon does not work for arm). Of course I can change the CFLAGS, but this also holds for many of the other settings in make.conf, like the USE flags. Is there some easy way to override the make.conf for other targets?

Figuring out what to build is not trivial, but I tried baselayout-lite (everything is masked), baselayout (does not compile) and some other packages with the same or similar errors as results.

I typically type something like this:
Code:

ROOT=/export/iPAQ/devroot CHOST=arm-softfloat-linux-uclibc CBUILD=i686-pc-linux-gnu CFLAGS="-Os" CXXFLAGS="-Os" USE="" emerge baselayout