Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
libexpat 2.0.0 ABI breakage
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 9, 10, 11  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
UncleOwen
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Posts: 1493
Location: Germany, Hamburg

PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 8:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

paladin-zero wrote:
UncleOwen wrote:
Okay, that's not right. What does
Code:
equery b /usr/kde/3.5//lib64/kde3/kabc_groupdav.so

say?


Code:
$ equery b /usr/kde/3.5//lib64/kde3/kabc_groupdav.so
[ Searching for file(s) /usr/kde/3.5//lib64/kde3/kabc_groupdav.so in *... ]

$


Maybe that extra / is part of the problem?

Code:
$ equery b /usr/kde/3.5/lib64/kde3/kabc_groupdav.so
[ Searching for file(s) /usr/kde/3.5/lib64/kde3/kabc_groupdav.so in *... ]
kde-base/kdepim-kresources-3.5.2 (/usr/kde/3.5/lib64/kde3/kabc_groupdav.so)


Hmm... okay... In that case, you should remerge kde-base/kdepim-kresources - and every other package that equery b some-file-that-revdep-rebuild-complains-about spits out. But that doesn't explain those
Quote:
Code:
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/kde3/kabc_groupdav.so (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/kde3/kabc_groupwise.so (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/kde3/kabc_kolab.so (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/kde3/kabc_newexchange.so (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/kde3/kabc_slox.so (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/kde3/kabc_xmlrpc.so (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/kde3/kcal_groupdav.so (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/kde3/kcal_groupwise.so (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/kde3/kcal_kabc.so (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/kde3/kcal_kolab.so (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/kde3/kcal_newexchange.so (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/kde3/kcal_remote.so (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/kde3/kcal_resourcefeatureplan.so (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/kde3/kcal_slox.so (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/kde3/kcal_xmlrpc.so (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/kde3/kcm_sdsummary.so (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/kde3/kio_groupwise.so (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/kde3/kio_imap4.so (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/kde3/kio_mbox.so (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/kde3/knotes_kolab.so (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/kde3/knotes_xmlrpc.so (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/kde3/libkaddrbk_geo_xxport.so (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/kde3/libkaddrbk_gmx_xxport.so (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/kde3/libkontact_specialdatesplugin.so (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/kde3/resourcecalendarexchange.so (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/libkabc_groupdav.so.1.0.0 (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/libkabc_groupwise.so.1.0.0 (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/libkabc_newexchange.so.1.0.0 (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/libkabc_slox.so.0.0.0 (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/libkabc_xmlrpc.so.1.0.0 (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/libkabckolab.so.0.0.0 (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/libkcal_groupdav.so.1.0.0 (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/libkcal_groupwise.so.1.0.0 (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/libkcal_newexchange.so.1.0.0 (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/libkcal_resourcefeatureplan.so.1.0.0 (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/libkcal_resourceremote.so.1.0.0 (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/libkcal_slox.so.0.0.0 (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/libkcal_xmlrpc.so.1.0.0 (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/libkcalkolab.so.0.0.0 (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/libkgroupwarebase.so.0.0.0 (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/libkgroupwaredav.so.0.0.0 (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/libkholidays.so.1.0.0 (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/libkmime.so.2.2.0 (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/libknotes_xmlrpc.so.1.0.0 (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/libknoteskolab.so.0.0.0 (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/libkpgp.so.2.2.0 (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/libkpimexchange.so.1.0.0 (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/libksieve.so.0.0.0 (requires  libexpat.so.0)
  broken /usr/kde/3.5/lib/libkslox.so.0.0.0 (requires  libexpat.so.0)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Schmolch
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Jun 2002
Posts: 746
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This must be a joke, i have to recompile my whole system because some pos program broke his api?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ateo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 2019
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 10:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Schmolch wrote:
This must be a joke, i have to recompile my whole system because some pos program broke his api?


Stupid isn't it? Things like this will keep linux out of the mainstream.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Avuton Olrich
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Jul 2004
Posts: 114

PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 10:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Stupid isn't it? Things like this will keep linux out of the mainstream.


I don't belive that to be the case, 'mainstream users' will never see this problem, nor any other ABI breakage. Gentoo users aren't really concidered to be 'mainstream users' are they?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ateo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 2019
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 10:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Avuton Olrich wrote:
Quote:
Stupid isn't it? Things like this will keep linux out of the mainstream.


I don't belive that to be the case, 'mainstream users' will never see this problem, nor any other ABI breakage. Gentoo users aren't really concidered to be 'mainstream users' are they?


What does gentoo and it's users have to do with expat breaking? I do see your point but... still... it's dumb. not that i'm complaining because I know the risk of an unstable system.

mods: maybe this should be split into a topic of it's own as to not derail the purpose of this thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Schmolch
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Jun 2002
Posts: 746
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 11:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I apologize for my rant and would like to ask a question instead.
Is there some way to avoid this breakage or is it just a matter of time until you have to upgrade to expat-2.0 and therefore also have to rebuilt a big part of your system?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CyberFoxx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Jan 2006
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 2:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I personally didn't have any problems with upgrading to the latest expat. And I'm not what you'd call a major Linux Guru either. All I had to do was upgrade to expat 2.0.0, remerge fontconfig, remerge XML-Parser and then remerge qt 3.3.6. Then I did a revdep-rebuild -X and everything appears to have worked.

Mind you I have a Celeron D 2.93Ghz with 512MB of RAM, with a Pentium III 450Mhz with 512MB acting as a Distcc host. And yes, it took me all day. But hey, I just watched some videos, talked with friends, stuff like that. Before I knew it, my system was updated and running smoothly with the newest expat.

The three things that took the longest were kdelibs, openoffice and wxGTK. Everything else KDE compiles relatively fast.

Yes, I admit that maybe there's something that could've been done to avoid all this headache. But I don't think it's something to get all bent out of shape about. Hey, when I hosed my system when upgrading to glibc 2.4, I didn't freak out. I just said "Crap, should've noticed that," and reinstalled.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CptnObvious999
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Dec 2004
Posts: 292

PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 4:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just ran "ln -s /usr/lib64/libexpat.so.1 /usr/lib64/libexpat.so.0" and everything works now AFAIK, if something breaks because of it I'll just downgrade expat and mask version 2. Its really annoying that I recompiled almost 200 packages to try and fix this and it didn't really help. Oh well, thank god for symlinks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mariourk
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Jul 2003
Posts: 807
Location: Urk, Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 9:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

this expat thingy, really freaks me out.

Me too, this is really nasty :?
_________________
If there is one thing to learn from history, it's that we usualy don't learn anything from it, at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eNTi
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 20 Oct 2002
Posts: 1011
Location: Salzburg, Austria

PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 9:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

maybe the upgrade was an april joke, in advance?
_________________
If you fall off a cliff, you might as well try to fly. After all, you got nothing to lose.

-- John Sheridan - Babylon 5, Season 4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fredor
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Oct 2003
Posts: 84
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 10:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

With a KDE-3.5.2 system, I installed 'expat-2.0.0' and ran ' revdep-rebuild --library libexpat.so.0'. This took 20 hours after which the system hung and I had to use the dreaded symlink to get the system up and running.
'revdep-rebuild' now shows numerous broken programs but does not recompile anything.
_________________
Gentoo /amd64/2007.0
AMD Athlon64 X2 4200+
ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eNTi
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 20 Oct 2002
Posts: 1011
Location: Salzburg, Austria

PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 10:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i think the message is clear:

DON'T USE REVDEP-REBUILD!

atm, it's completely broken and will break the system even more, if given free reign!
_________________
If you fall off a cliff, you might as well try to fly. After all, you got nothing to lose.

-- John Sheridan - Babylon 5, Season 4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
p_ansell
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 May 2005
Posts: 33
Location: Brisbane, AU

PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 12:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Personally, I used the ln -s to recompile XML-Parser and kdelibs, after which I recompiled Firefox (damn thing broke and crashed after the expat emerge completed). I then deleted the symlink from .0 to .1.5.0 and ran revdep-rebuild, which did not complete. I had to reemerge all of the kde programs using emerge -av --oneshot ... where ... is a list of the major kde programs. Interestingly I figured out the subversion failure because of neon somehow. I think I had neon failing before and screwing subversion up.

It is a big hassle, this guy breaking his ABI, and breaking it from the 1.9x series of release candidates up to 2.0.0. There is some statement on expat.sourceforge.net about backwards compatibility

Quote:

The goal was to solidify and stabilize the implementation of the given API, to add desirable features as long as they fit with the API, and to keep the API backwards compatible if extensions were required.


Seems silly to say that and then screw things up like this. I wonder how many programs were actually screwed up by the change. I have only seen one on this list that breaks after symlinking.

Symlink=very temporary solution while you recompile stubborn packages!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
p_ansell
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 May 2005
Posts: 33
Location: Brisbane, AU

PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 12:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Schmolch wrote:
This must be a joke, i have to recompile my whole system because some pos program broke his api?


That "pos program" works through the hard yards with all that XML that people favour using so much these days. Funny how something so useful can be so unuseful sometimes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
c0ma2k
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Sep 2002
Posts: 15
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 1:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What I'm currently trying to do is re-emerging expat 1.95.8, keeping the libexpat.so.0 and upgrading to 2.0.0 again, so I really have both version of the lib installed, while having the headers from the newer one.

Everything depending on the 1.95.8 release should still work, while newly compiled packages should use the new expat library.

Is this a valid solution for a "soft upgrade"? Any opinions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Havin_it
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 1070
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dirtyepic wrote:
7seven7 wrote:
If i update to expat-2, i have to run revdep-rebuild because of the missing library error in same aplications.

Kde packages are one of many afected packges, but during the update of the packages, after udpdate kdelibs, i get the fowling error when emerging any kde aplication:

Code:
configure: error:
 you need to install kdelibs first.
 
 If you did install kdelibs, then the Qt version that is picked up by
 this configure is not the same version you used to compile kdelibs.
 The Qt Plugin installed by kdelibs is *ONLY* loadable if it is the
 _same Qt version_, compiled with the _same compiler_ and the same Qt
 configuration settings.


i have to downgrade to expat-1.95.8 and run revdep-rebuild to get all the programs rigth.

Any advices?


follow the information it gives you. it's telling you that qt and kdelibs have been compiled with different compilers or compile options. to set it straight, try 'emerge -av qt kdelibs'.


Not necessarily. This message is cropping up erroneously for a few people, apparently for a couple of different reasons. Mine was due to UIC segfaulting - I've since stopped it doing that, but still haven't got a working KDE. More here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CptnObvious999
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Dec 2004
Posts: 292

PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eNTi wrote:
maybe the upgrade was an april joke, in advance?

If it was, its extremely cruel :evil:

Why hasn't this been masked when so many people are having serious problems?

Also wouldn't it be solved if they made expat 2 use a different slot so you could have version 1 for those stuborn programs untill you can fully transition?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matteo Azzali
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 23 Sep 2004
Posts: 1133

PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 3:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eNTi wrote:
i think the message is clear:

DON'T USE REVDEP-REBUILD!

atm, it's completely broken and will break the system even more, if given free reign!


that's quite strange, since I used it 2 days ago and it was working fine..... can this be related with the
pax-utils-0.1.11 restriction on emerge we found in kuroo (emerge was stopping at the output "man:" line)?
If so, downgrade pax-utils to 0.1.10 (put app-misc/pax-utils-0.1.11 in /etc/portage/package.mask)
and anything will work fine.
(pax-utils-0.1.11 seems to block any call to emerge that isn't plain use of emerge command in a shell....)
_________________
Every day a new distro comes to birth. Every day a distro "eats" another.
If you're born distro, no matter what, start to run.
---- http://www.linuxprinting.org/ ---- http://tuxmobil.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StifflerStealth
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jul 2002
Posts: 955

PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eNTi wrote:
i think the message is clear:

DON'T USE REVDEP-REBUILD!

atm, it's completely broken and will break the system even more, if given free reign!
Right, which is why you all should use the script I posted on the previous page. ;) Run, emerge --oneshot qt kdelibs, and then run that script to recompile kde. :) You can take the output from revdep-rebuild and manually emerge those items. :) It's a whole lot safer. ;) I hope revdep rebuild get's fixed soon.

EDIT: When you recompile KDE stuff whether you use that script or revdep-rebuild, it's best to exit completely out of KDE. I found this out the hard way. ;)

Cheers.
_________________
Nothing to read in this sig. Move along.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 2734
Location: Gainesville, Florida

PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 5:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

StifflerStealth wrote:
Quote:

EDIT: When you recompile KDE stuff whether you use that script or revdep-rebuild, it's best to exit completely out of KDE. I found this out the hard way.
And: You can take the output from revdep-rebuild and manually emerge those items. It's a whole lot safer. I hope revdep rebuild get's fixed soon.

I can confirm this due to my expat/kde/revdep-rebuild nightmares on three boxes the last two days.

This expat thing has to be the worst Gentoo problem I've had in two years. How could this possibly have been unmasked?

And since revdep-rebuild is a major tool in Gentoo, this really needs attention fast. I'd try, but fixing it is currently beyond my knowledge.
_________________
Main box- Gigabyte GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ rev.-4.0
Amd FX 8320, 3.5 GHz, 16GB GSkill DDR3 1866mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD 6570 2GB DDR3
Gentoo ~x86, ~amd64, glibc-2.19, gcc-4.8.2, kernel 3.14.0-gentoo (USE=experimental)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5227
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

CptnObvious999 wrote:
I just ran "ln -s /usr/lib64/libexpat.so.1 /usr/lib64/libexpat.so.0" and everything works now AFAIK, if something breaks because of it I'll just downgrade expat and mask version 2. Its really annoying that I recompiled almost 200 packages to try and fix this and it didn't really help. Oh well, thank god for symlinks


there's probably a lesson to be leart there. If things go wrong, thake a breath and check it out before doing drastic moves like rebuilding half to system "to see if it works ". There's a fair chance you'll dig an even deeper hole that way.

I got this bullshit message from kde about qt versions, checked the forum, decided I had no real need of the new expat, masked it , rebuild the previous version and got back to business.

It'll stay masked until there's a 2.01 or something.

It seems like the expat devs screwed this one up badly.

Let's hope they fix it.

I certainly dont feel like rebuilding just about all the most heavy packages on my working system only to find maybe in a couple of days other bugs are going to creep out.

revdep-rebuild always makes me nervous anyway , I only ever use it with -p option.


8)
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.

AthlonXP-M on A7N8X @ 2.6/2.4GHz (winter/summer)
2.6.32-hh1 : portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CptnObvious999
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Dec 2004
Posts: 292

PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 6:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gentree wrote:
CptnObvious999 wrote:
I just ran "ln -s /usr/lib64/libexpat.so.1 /usr/lib64/libexpat.so.0" and everything works now AFAIK, if something breaks because of it I'll just downgrade expat and mask version 2. Its really annoying that I recompiled almost 200 packages to try and fix this and it didn't really help. Oh well, thank god for symlinks


there's probably a lesson to be leart there. If things go wrong, thake a breath and check it out before doing drastic moves like rebuilding half to system "to see if it works ". There's a fair chance you'll dig an even deeper hole that way.

I got this bullshit message from kde about qt versions, checked the forum, decided I had no real need of the new expat, masked it , rebuild the previous version and got back to business.

It'll stay masked until there's a 2.01 or something.

It seems like the expat devs screwed this one up badly.

Let's hope they fix it.

I certainly dont feel like rebuilding just about all the most heavy packages on my working system only to find maybe in a couple of days other bugs are going to creep out.

revdep-rebuild always makes me nervous anyway , I only ever use it with -p option.


8)

At the end of the ebuild for expat it said to run that and usually following the ebuild directions has saved me some in the past.

Something needs to be done about this otherwise users (or worse, corperations that depend on Gentoo) will have this very big problem and more and more will get it the longer we wait. I suggest that mask it right now before others get burned.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
howard_b_golden
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Mar 2003
Posts: 1
Location: Northridge, CA, USA

PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 7:00 pm    Post subject: Smoother transition Reply with quote

c0ma2k wrote:
What I'm currently trying to do is re-emerging expat 1.95.8, keeping the libexpat.so.0 and upgrading to 2.0.0 again, so I really have both version of the lib installed, while having the headers from the newer one.

Everything depending on the 1.95.8 release should still work, while newly compiled packages should use the new expat library.

Is this a valid solution for a "soft upgrade"? Any opinions?


In my opinion, this would have been preferable to the approach the devs took, which was basically, "Oh, by the way, your system needs to be rebuilt."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gergan Penkov
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jul 2004
Posts: 1464
Location: das kleinste Kuhdorf Deutschlands :)

PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is a function to this in some of the eclasses keep_old_lib or sth like this.
I'm not sure but this API/ABI-change happened a lot time ago with expat, it simply hits gentoo now.
_________________
"I knew when an angel whispered into my ear,
You gotta get him away, yeah
Hey little bitch!
Be glad you finally walked away or you may have not lived another day."
Godsmack
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
haven
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Nov 2003
Posts: 141
Location: Belfast, Uk

PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bah I'm reduced to fluxbox after libexpat screwed kde-1.5.2 up good and proper.

After emerging expat-2.0.0 I'm only seeing the following:

Quote:

>locate libexpat.so.0
/opt/bin/teamspeak/emul32/usr/lib/libexpat.so.0
/opt/bin/teamspeak/emul32/usr/lib/libexpat.so.0.4.0
/emul/linux/x86/usr/lib/libexpat.so.0
/emul/linux/x86/usr/lib/libexpat.so.0.5.0


expat compiles just fine but there's no libexpat.so.0 in my /usr/lib64 should I be concerned ?

Unfortunately kicker
Quote:
kicker: error while loading shared libraries: libexpat.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

and a few other kde apps fail to run as they can no longer find libexpat.so.0 despite being recompiled after the expat update. Given that a few guys mentioned symlinking I'm wondering why I've been left out in the cold without a libexat in my /usr/lib64 ... *ponders* any help/thoughts appreciated.

[update]screw the above - updatedb is b0rked and fails to add the new packages to my locate app, I do have those files after all. I think I'm going to have to live with the nasty symlink hack to make things work for the time being.

[update 2]ok creating the "libexpat.so.0 -> /usr/lib64/libexpat.so.1.5.0" symlink will do me for now - back up and running.


Last edited by haven on Sat Apr 01, 2006 9:00 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 9, 10, 11  Next
Page 2 of 11

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum