Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
change location of emerges?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
skiingprep
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Apr 2003
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2003 11:02 pm    Post subject: change location of emerges? Reply with quote

Hello,

Here is my df output:

Code:

Filesystem        Used      Available         Use%       Mounted on
/dev/hda4        832332   150840            85%        /
/dev/hda1        1746200 1624668           2%         /hda1
....

As you can see I've run out of spcae on my main partition.. but i really want to emerge some applications like xfree.. so its there a way i could change my emerge (and possibly a new bin dir..?) to this /hda1 mount?

thanks, help is much apreciated.

-brian
[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
duff
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jun 2002
Posts: 466
Location: Clemson, SC

PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2003 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

/etc/make.conf wrote:
Code:
# PORTAGE_TMPDIR is the location portage will use for compilations and
#     temporary storage of data. This can get VERY large depending upon
#     the application being installed.
#PORTAGE_TMPDIR=/var/tmp



Also, you may want to try cleaning out /usr/portage/distfiles. I've had that folder well over a GB before.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dice
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Apr 2002
Posts: 577

PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2003 11:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you could edit your /etc/make.conf and set ROOT=/hda1

You'd also have to do things like set your PATH to include /hda1/bin:/hda1/sbin and all kinds of other crap.... plus I think config things will get stored in /hda1/etc from then on....

It'll be a mess.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StuBear
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Feb 2003
Posts: 157
Location: Melbourne,AUSTRALIA

PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2003 11:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Most other apps in Gentoo dont go /bin, but rather on the /usr/bin/.

You don't mention if you already have an existing /usr partition or not, so I'm going to assume that you don't.

Looking at the size of hda1, I would suggest that you copy across your existing /usr to the new partitiion and mount it at boot time.

Do do this
Code:
mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/usrtemp
cp -ax /usr/* /mnt/usrtemp
umount /mnt/usrtemp


Then add a new entry to your /etc/fstab to mount the new /usr/partition on boot.

To try it out mount /dev/hda1 /usr, all your programs should still work.

After you are happy that everything works then you can change to single user mode (rc single) or boot from the livecd or boot disk, unmount /usr (this is VERY important) and then delete everything under /usr on hda4, this should free up some space on hda4 as well as giving you freedom to grow.

If you do have a /usr partiton already, then if it is smaller than hda1, then you can copy the data across to the bigger partition and then use your old /usr as a new partition (/home or /var are good choices)

Hope this helps
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skiingprep
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Apr 2003
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2003 11:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for the replies.

I have found another hot-swapple harddrive so I no longer need my hard drive partitioned..

is there anyway I can somehow merge hda1(unalocated spcae) and hda4(gentoo install) into just hda4 without loosing my gentoo install?

(im looking for alternatives to partition magic as i have already tried the rescue disks as to no avail...)

thanks

-brian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 20067

PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2003 8:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Other Things Gentoo.
_________________
Quis separabit? Quo animo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum