Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] mtimes differ
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
venom
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Jun 2005
Posts: 110
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2006 3:34 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] mtimes differ Reply with quote

Hi,
I did etc-update lately - it was something about 17 files to upgrade there. I remember, that I haven't modified files, which content I had ever changed (those, which contained settings only for my system). Now, when my system starting (and when i shutdown it), I get many errors like "Re-caching dependency info (mtimes differ)".

I was searching on Gentoo forums, and available solutions are:

1) re-emerging baselayout (I did it, but I still have this errors)
2) run depscan.sh (I did it too, but this script do nothing...)

Quote:

lsd venom # /sbin/depscan.sh
lsd venom #

(about 2 sec. delay from start to end work)


3) check:

Quote:

for x in /etc/init.d/*; do [[ "$(file -b $x)" == *runscript*script* ]] && (echo $x; source /etc/conf.d/$(basename $x) &>/dev/null; svclib=/lib/rcscripts; depend(){ :;}; source $x); done


I did it, but the only script, in which it seems to be an error is apache2:

Quote:

/etc/init.d/apache2
basename: too few arguments
Try `basename --help' for more information.


I remember, that i had not modified this file, so it may be the reason for geting this errors, but also when i try to restart, for example 'domainame' everything goes the same:

Quote:

lsd venom # /etc/init.d/domainname restart
* Re-caching dependency info (mtimes differ)...
* Re-caching dependency info (mtimes differ)...
* Re-caching dependency info (mtimes differ)...
* Re-caching dependency info (mtimes differ)...
* Re-caching dependency info (mtimes differ)...


In case of vsftpd, sshd, mysql (and many others) everything is ok:

Quote:

lsd venom # /etc/init.d/vsftpd restart
* Stopping vsftpd ... [ ok ]
* Starting vsftpd ... [ ok ]
lsd venom # /etc/init.d/mysql restart
* Stopping mysqld ... [ ok ]
* Starting mysqld ... [ ok ]
lsd venom # /etc/init.d/sshd restart
* Stopping sshd ... [ ok ]
* Starting sshd ... [ ok ]


In /etc/init.d/apache2 file, the only line which contain 'baselayout' string is this:
Quote:

FILENAME=`basename $1`


But i don't know, what may be wrong in it :/
I've been trying all ways to solve the problem (all, which are available here) and I don't know what I can do more ;/


Last edited by venom on Thu Mar 23, 2006 5:42 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
masteroftheuniverse
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Jan 2005
Posts: 259

PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2006 6:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

is your system clock staying consistent?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
venom
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Jun 2005
Posts: 110
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2006 11:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

last time i was having a problem with bios- settings of my system clock was not saved (i don't know why - everything expect clock was ok). Now I`m using NTP to set my system time, so it must be consistent.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Autie
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Jul 2003
Posts: 309
Location: Ledegem - Belgium

PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2006 10:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kinda same here:
Code:
/etc/init.d/hdparm restart
 * Re-caching dependency info (mtimes differ)...
 * Re-caching dependency info (mtimes differ)...
 * Re-caching dependency info (mtimes differ)...
 * Re-caching dependency info (mtimes differ)...
 * Re-caching dependency info (mtimes differ)...
 * Running hdparm on /dev/hda ...                                         [ ok ]
 * Running hdparm on /dev/hdb ...
 HDIO_DRIVE_CMD(keepsettings) failed: Input/output error                  [ ok ]
 * Running hdparm on /dev/hdc ...                                         [ ok ]
 * Running hdparm on /dev/hdd ...                                         [ ok ]


That came up since a few days, dunno why or what i've done wrong.
_________________
The capacity to learn is a gift; The ability to learn is a skill; The willingness to learn is a choice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raenk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Mar 2004
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2006 2:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Exact same thing here, haven't try to solve it yet, but what causes this ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WTFman
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Apr 2005
Posts: 153

PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2006 3:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm, I've gotten this too, I was sure it was after I tried fooling around w/ gcc 4.1 and glibc 2.4 but maybe something else causes this?
_________________
Occupation: Professional Slacker
Hobbies/Interests: Open Source Aficionado since 2005
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zyzzyva100
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Aug 2005
Posts: 193

PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2006 1:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This happened to me after emerge --update world, and I was updated to glibc 2.4 (which caused other problems), but this doesn't really seem to be a big problem. Its weird, but it doesn't show as an error per se. I just wish I knew what it was.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
awx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2006 2:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same here on my Mini-ITX system. I'm using ntp and have rc_synctohwclock="yes".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mudrii
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Jun 2003
Posts: 789
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2006 4:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Reemerge baselayout
Code:
emerge baselayout

and all will jsut startead to work without mtimes differ error
_________________
www.gentoo.ro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
venom
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Jun 2005
Posts: 110
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2006 4:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

as I said, i tried it firstly, before anything, but it doesn't repaired my system ;) I still have mtimes errors :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
venom
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Jun 2005
Posts: 110
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2006 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wow, I've found a solution- you really need to re-emerge baselayout, but...

When I did it first time, I hadn't changed any USE FLAGS, and after reboot, I was still having errors.

Now, I compiled baselayout with all available flags:

Quote:

USE="bootstrap build static unicode" emerge baselayout


- after it you need to update your rc.conf (etc-update),
I restarted my system and get many errors - /sbin/depscan.sh was deleted etc. :/

so... I re-emerged baselayout again _without_ any flags, updated /etc
... and after reboot errors disapeared ;)

I don't know why - but it really works ! :)
(I think, that it is someting with rc.conf file)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
toralf
Developer
Developer


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Posts: 3846
Location: Hamburg

PostPosted: Fri Mar 24, 2006 1:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I filed a bug regarding this message: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=127419 re-emerging baselayout is really _not_ needed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Southtown
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Dec 2005
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2006 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I emerged baselayout to be sure I wasn't just 'un-verbosing' the errors. The sendmail issue seemed to take care of one package, but my problems started after an emerge -e world. I was afraid the bugfix only applied to one package which had an error caused by deeper issues. Would each package contain these errors?!

Emerging baselayout did work, by the way. However I didn't reboot between the 'use emerge' and the 'un-use emerge' and I successfully avoided any major errors. :)
_________________
Spirit happens
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zyzzyva100
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Aug 2005
Posts: 193

PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2006 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I see the topic says that this has been solved, but I have tried many of the listed "fixes", and still have the problem.

Re-emerging baselayout fixed some, but not all of the places that I see mtimes differ on startup or shutdown. I tried re-emerging glibc again (this only started after I did an update world, and glibc 2.4 had been released to stable). I also rebuilt my tool chain, and have done everything but emerge -e world.

Do I really need to re-emerge every package on my system to fix this? Right now it isn't causing any actual errors, but I have a bad feeling that eventually it will start to do so, and I would rather have it fixed before then.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
toralf
Developer
Developer


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Posts: 3846
Location: Hamburg

PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2006 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zyzzyva100 wrote:
So I see the topic says that this has been solved, but I have tried many of the listed "fixes", and still have the problem.
Might be a
Code:
touch /etc/init.d/*; /sbin/depscan.sh
solves the problem ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bob P
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Oct 2004
Posts: 3355
Location: Jackass! Development Labs

PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 9:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

toralf wrote:
I filed a bug regarding this message: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=127419 re-emerging baselayout is really _not_ needed.

he closed your bug report with the disposition "resolved needinfo" because you didn't provide your emerge --info in the original post. your bug is still closed. now that you've provided the info, you need to reopen the bug or nobody will look at it.
_________________
.
Stage 1/3 | Jackass! | Rockhopper! | Thanks | Google Sucks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
toralf
Developer
Developer


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Posts: 3846
Location: Hamburg

PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 11:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

reopened
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zyzzyva100
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Aug 2005
Posts: 193

PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2006 3:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

toralf wrote:
Zyzzyva100 wrote:
So I see the topic says that this has been solved, but I have tried many of the listed "fixes", and still have the problem.
Might be a
Code:
touch /etc/init.d/*; /sbin/depscan.sh
solves the problem ?


When I run that nothing happens, is it supposed to verbose anything?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bolshoi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2006 5:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you explicity put /sbin/depscan.sh --update?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
toralf
Developer
Developer


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Posts: 3846
Location: Hamburg

PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2006 1:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bolshoi wrote:
Did you explicity put /sbin/depscan.sh --update?
No, I called only /sbin/depscan.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joaopft
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 84
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is enough to do:
Code:

cd /etc/init.d
depscan.sh

_________________
Fiction is obliged to stick to possibilities. Truth isn't.
Mark Twain
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
simu-san
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2006 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

for me
Code:
touch /etc/init.d/*; /sbin/depscan.sh --update
worked.

Thanks a lot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
odessit
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Posts: 180
Location: Current Residency - Server Room - Caution - Frostbite Imminent!

PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

touch /etc/init.d/*; /sbin/depscan.sh --update
worked for me too (radiusd problem)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
richard.scott
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 May 2003
Posts: 1497
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 10:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

On my system I removed /var/lib/init.d/deptree and /var/lib/init.d/depcache and then I ran depscan.sh to recreate those files.

That worked for me :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
luminoso
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Oct 2005
Posts: 60
Location: Portugal, Aveiro

PostPosted: Mon May 15, 2006 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

simu-san wrote:
for me
Code:
touch /etc/init.d/*; /sbin/depscan.sh --update
worked.

Thanks a lot


also here
[for foldingathome]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum