Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
error when emerging php
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
smite
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Feb 2003
Posts: 266
Location: /dev/hda4

PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2003 7:56 pm    Post subject: error when emerging php Reply with quote

When I ran "emerge php mod_php mod_ssl", everything seemed to run ok until it got to php-4.3.1. It gives me this error:
Code:
checking for fork... no
configure: error: pcntl: fork() not supported by this platform

!!! ERROR: dev-php/php-4.3.1 failed.
!!! Function src_compile, Line 183, Exitcode 1
!!! bad ./configure

What is "fork" and does "bad ./configure" mean I'm missing "fork" or does it mean the the configure file is corrupted?
Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Remco
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 May 2002
Posts: 25
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2003 9:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am afraid I have run into the same error, and that stinks, since I need webmail into production asap :( For the record: I have gcc 3.2.2, the latest gentoo-sources and both the optimalisations k6-3 and i586 don't work. Who can help me/us out?!?!? I suppose the ./configure is allright, but apparantly I can't fork anymore, which is a shame.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drzero
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Oct 2002
Posts: 50
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2003 1:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll join the list of people who has this problem..

I have a number of servers running Gentoo, and only one of them has this problem, the others have upgraded from PHP 4.3.0 to 4.3.1 troublefree..

Anybody know what might be causing this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Remco
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 May 2002
Posts: 25
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2003 1:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found the solution in another thread in Portage & Programming: php and mod_php will compile correctly if you put USE="-java -qt" in your make.conf, but I have to say that I like that far from optimal.

But I am no programmer and just a user, so as long as this works I will use those changes (ow... I am a bad bad betatester)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ergodic
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jul 2002
Posts: 33
Location: San Diego

PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2003 1:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It worked here. It is a "fresh" install. Added those lines to make.conf and now it says fork () : OK !

as long as it works .....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Douwedabbert
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Sep 2002
Posts: 17
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2003 8:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

it worked for me, thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
quikchaos
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Jan 2003
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2003 12:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Worked here also. Thanks Remco.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ViceClown
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 May 2002
Posts: 54
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2003 3:11 pm    Post subject: Here to Reply with quote

Seems to work for me here too. Thanks!!!!

Is this a bug in the 4.3.1 build of PHP? Anyone file a bug yet? I'll do it if nobody else can :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chines
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Nov 2002
Posts: 90
Location: Argentina

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2003 5:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks, works for me too
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Douwedabbert
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Sep 2002
Posts: 17
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2003 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think it is a bug for 4.3.1. I didn't post anything yet.
It's working for me, but I don't know what's happening when I change my USE variables.

Regards, Douwedabbert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jojopyro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Mar 2003
Posts: 5
Location: South Dakota

PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2003 6:20 am    Post subject: thanx Reply with quote

thank you very much, it worked here too!!!
_________________
-Joe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fighty
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Feb 2003
Posts: 4
Location: Cracow, Poland

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2003 1:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I spend many hours trying to solve this problem...

USE="-java" emerge php

is the best solution :)

thx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dumdey
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jul 2002
Posts: 47
Location: Höchstadt, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2003 7:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
USE="-qt -java"


Works here! 8)

Thanks, Harry
_________________
http://www.k-u-h.org/harry/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ximo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Nov 2002
Posts: 16
Location: España

PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2003 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

:D thanks a lot!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Spydog
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 9
Location: Eindhoven, NL

PostPosted: Sun Mar 30, 2003 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fighty wrote:
I spend many hours trying to solve this problem...

USE="-java" emerge php

is the best solution :)

thx


Nice, it works (at least on my install :) ) :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
englishp
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Mar 2003
Posts: 3
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2003 1:22 am    Post subject: -qt not needed Reply with quote

dumdey wrote:
Code:
USE="-qt -java"


Works here! 8)

Thanks, Harry


I found
Code:
USE="-java"
was sufficient. Leaving qt enabled doesn't cause any problems, at least with installation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
catphish
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Apr 2003
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2003 9:05 am    Post subject: emerge php Reply with quote

thanks for that solution, works fine for me too
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DNH
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 60
Location: Ann Arbor, MI

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2003 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For those who are wary of using
Code:
USE="-java"
You can run
Code:
/usr/bin/java-config --set-system-vm=blackdown-jdk-1.4.1
as root (editing the system-vm to reflect the jdk you're using), reboot and the install should use java support.
_________________
The answer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
michaelb
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Jun 2002
Posts: 686
Location: Ann Arbor, MI

PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2003 7:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Worthy to note here that the current version of Blackdown seems to be the 1.3.1 which does not fix this bug. The current sun-jdk-1.4.1.02, however, will make this problem go away.

Michael
_________________
Behold, The power of SEARCH!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
christsong84
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Apr 2003
Posts: 1003
Location: GMT-8 (Spokane)

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2003 3:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok - "-java" worked for me...just for reference, can someone explain to me what this does and why it works?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jleveille
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Apr 2003
Posts: 10
Location: Greene, Maine USA

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2003 5:26 am    Post subject: This worked for me. Reply with quote

Just started on a temp replacement for one of my Red Hat 7.1 servers and ran into the same problem, -java worked, though I will need it on other machines.
_________________
So much to learn, so little time...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lasitus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Oct 2002
Posts: 188
Location: Orlando, FL

PostPosted: Sun May 11, 2003 4:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks DNH.. I have been looking all over for config files to change over to the new version of jdk. Worked fine after upgrading.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum