Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
XGL
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 28, 29, 30  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
smcallis182
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Apr 2004
Posts: 197
Location: Kansas City

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 1:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OMG, OK I finally got everything compiled, I emerged gnome, I launch XGL and compiz, and gnome-window-decorator, but I still just get undecorated window that don't let me do anything. I can't even use the keyboard shortcuts because Xgl fucked up my bindings. ARRGH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stealth_gsx1300r
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Dec 2003
Posts: 24
Location: Southern MD

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 1:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm with you on the gnome-window-decorator... still undecorated even though it is running :cry:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheS4int
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 1:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

...for me too, no decorations


btw "accel xv:fbo" or "accel xv" ... same speed with "mplayer -vo xv .." fullscreen 100% cpu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smcallis182
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Apr 2004
Posts: 197
Location: Kansas City

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 1:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OMG FINALLY!!!

Here's the script I use to run it:

Code:
#!/bin/bash

Xgl -ac -accel xv:fbo -accel glx:pbuffer &
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/lib/opengl/xorg-x11/lib DISPLAY=:0 compiz --replace decoration fade switcher move resize place minimize cube rotate zoom scale &
DISPLAY=:0 gnome-window-decorator &
DISPLAY=:0 gnome-session &
DISPLAY=:0 aterm &


I'll post any other files you guys want a reference on
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheS4int
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 2:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes great, that does the job!!! THX

there is no wobbly in your list.

it starts also with wobbly

only "compiz --replace gconf" causes no window decoration


Last edited by TheS4int on Sun Feb 12, 2006 2:28 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smcallis182
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Apr 2004
Posts: 197
Location: Kansas City

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 2:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah I left it out because it didn't seem to come on when I put it in anyways... oh well I can live without shaky windows :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stealth_gsx1300r
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Dec 2003
Posts: 24
Location: Southern MD

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 2:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OMG... you are da man....

Thank you so much....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smcallis182
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Apr 2004
Posts: 197
Location: Kansas City

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 2:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NP, is anyone else noticing that resizing windows is slow? Sometimes windows don't respond real quickly too...

Edit: Yeah, when I resize windows, Xgl goes up to ~50% CPU usage...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
duby2291
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Oct 2004
Posts: 583

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 2:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What do you guys mean by "window decoration"? Is that another term for window borders?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smcallis182
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Apr 2004
Posts: 197
Location: Kansas City

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 2:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

duby2291 wrote:
What do you guys mean by "window decoration"? Is that another term for window borders?


Border, titlebar, handles, etc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
duby2291
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Oct 2004
Posts: 583

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 2:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK..... That is what the problem I have is then. When I start the XGL I dont get any decorations. I have posted my error on page 18 if anyone is interested in looking at it....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
omidxo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Feb 2005
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 3:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

glitz changed:
Quote:
2006-02-10 David Reveman <davidr@novell.com>

* src/glx/glitz_glx_extension.c (glitz_glx_query_extensions):
Pretend we have GLX 1.3 if vendor is ATI.

see here


Last edited by omidxo on Sun Feb 12, 2006 3:20 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smcallis182
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Apr 2004
Posts: 197
Location: Kansas City

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 3:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know this is obscure and I don't really expect anyone to know the answer, but we'll see:

I've been working on a project that generates a particle effect using openGL and some vertex shader code. Now, it ran fine before xgl, but now I run it and I get:

Error getting current profile (obviously referring to the Cg profile)

Glxgears works fine, what could cause this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nesl247
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2004
Posts: 1614
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 5:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any workaround for getting decorations to show, and for getting xbindkeys to work again?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
omidxo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Feb 2005
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 5:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

~/.xbindkeysrc
Code:
"transset-df --min 0.1 -p --dec 0.03"
 control + Alt + b:4

"transset-df --max 0.99 -p --inc 0.03"
 control + Alt + b:5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nesl247
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2004
Posts: 1614
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 5:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is to fix what? By fixing xbindkeys I meant letting my xvkbd stuff work again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
omidxo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Feb 2005
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 6:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

xbindkeys just depend xproto,nothing make it be abnormal,only if bindkeys that clash.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evader
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Dec 2004
Posts: 180
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 7:13 am    Post subject: Key bindings and effects... Reply with quote

Hi,

I used Hanno's latest overlay to install xgl and compiz and whatever depenencies it pulled in. It launches fine with this script:

Xgl -ac -accel xv:fbo -accel glx:pbuffer &
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/lib/opengl/xorg-x11/lib DISPLAY=:0 compiz --replace decoration fade switcher move resize place minimize cube rotate zoom scale &
DISPLAY=:0 gnome-window-decorator &
DISPLAY=:0 gnome-session &
DISPLAY=:0 xterm

When it's running; if i do:

glxinfo | grep -i direct

It tells me direct rendering: no...

I can do the cube-effect workspace switching with ctrl-alt left/right, and F12 (expose) works... and it fades etc. Transset also does it's job... but what other effect are there.. what is wobble etc... how do i make it work?
I installed glxcompmgr from CVS, which is pointless as it says another compositor is running.

How do I make all the other fancy things work??

Thanks,

evader
_________________
//Take this barrel and end this struggle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
duby2291
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Oct 2004
Posts: 583

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 9:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I have run into a problem, I am not able to find anyone else with this problem so I figured I can post a question to see if anyone else is having a similar problem

Anyone seen this before?

[/code]
Quote:
duby229@xgl-test ~ $ Xgl :1 -ac -accel glx:pbuffer -accel xv:pbuffer
dlopen: libGLcore.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
_XSERVTransSocketOpenCOTSServer: Unable to open socket for inet6
_XSERVTransOpen: transport open failed for inet6/xgl-test:1
_XSERVTransMakeAllCOTSServerListeners: failed to open listener for inet6
_XSERVTransSocketUNIXCreateListener: ...SocketCreateListener() failed
_XSERVTransMakeAllCOTSServerListeners: server already running

Fatal server error:
Cannot establish any listening sockets - Make sure an X server isn't already running
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
midnite420
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2004
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 10:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I see lot of people with Xgl + compiz working, me and others with Gforce4 got black screen error.

Someone have a workaround fix for this?

btw I test Xgl + compiz on another PC with Gforce 6200GS and I get the same black screen windows :S
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jan 2004
Posts: 68
Location: Vienna, Austria

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 11:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

TheS4int wrote:
yes great, that does the job!!! THX
only "compiz --replace gconf" causes no window decoration

if you use gconf you need to add all the modules you want to load to the /apps/compiz/general/allscreens/options/active_plugins key.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tchak
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Aug 2003
Posts: 124
Location: France/Russia

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 12:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a little stupid question :)
How you do screenshots in Xgl... ? All I have with gnome-screenshot or with scrot is corrupted pngs with some trash...
_________________
maybe this world is another planet's hell...
Athlon64 | ATI Mobility Radeon 9700 | Netgear (Prism54) + ASUS (USB2 ZD1211)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scoobydu
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Feb 2003
Posts: 1076
Location: 'Mind the Gap'

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Stupid question, do you need gnome installed to get gnome windows decorations? or does it get build from the xgl over stuff?

Don´t want gnome installed :?
_________________
Tyan Tiger K8W, 2xOpteron 240,Powerbook5,6 15" 1.5g, Macbook Black 2g, Mac Mini 1g, Ipod P60g.
| Linux - From a windows user perspective|
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BlackEdder
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Apr 2004
Posts: 2588
Location: Dutch enclave in Egham, UK

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 12:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

scoobydu wrote:
Stupid question, do you need gnome installed to get gnome windows decorations? or does it get build from the xgl over stuff?

Don´t want gnome installed :?
You need a large part.. control-center and libwnck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tchak
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Aug 2003
Posts: 124
Location: France/Russia

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 1:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For the moment I think gnome is needed. At least some parts of it.
_________________
maybe this world is another planet's hell...
Athlon64 | ATI Mobility Radeon 9700 | Netgear (Prism54) + ASUS (USB2 ZD1211)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 28, 29, 30  Next
Page 29 of 30

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum