Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Openmotif blocking itself?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Carnildo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Jun 2004
Posts: 594

PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2005 7:37 am    Post subject: Openmotif blocking itself? Reply with quote

Am I reading this wrong, or is openmotif blocking itself from upgrading, by both requiring and blocking motif-config?

Code:
# emerge --pretend --tree --verbose --deep --update openmotif

These are the packages that I would merge, in reverse order:

Calculating dependencies                             ...done!
[blocks B     ] =x11-libs/openmotif-2.2.3-r3 (is blocking x11-libs/motif-config-0.9)
[ebuild     U ] x11-libs/openmotif-2.2.3-r8 [2.2.3-r3] 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ]  x11-libs/motif-config-0.9  0 kB

Total size of downloads: 0 kB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mad Merlin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 1155

PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2005 8:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just had this happen, emerge -C openmotif then emerge openmotif fixes the problem.
_________________
Game! - Where the stick is mightier than the sword!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
T-O7
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Sep 2004
Posts: 94
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2005 4:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Worked for me, thanks Mad Merlin!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
u238
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Mar 2005
Posts: 373

PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2005 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Worked for me too... :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eweneb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jun 2005
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2005 4:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks!
_________________
"Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic." -- Arthur C. Clark

"Any unnecessarily advanced technology is indistiguishable from masochism." -- Eric B. Ewen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
southsider
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Jul 2004
Posts: 358

PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2005 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Think I'll file a bug on this. It seems portage recognises that motif-config wants to be installed alongside the old version of openmotif... which simply isn't the case.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maedhros
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Apr 2004
Posts: 5511
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2005 5:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

southsider wrote:
Think I'll file a bug on this. It seems portage recognises that motif-config wants to be installed alongside the old version of openmotif... which simply isn't the case.

>=x11-libs/motif-config-0.9 is a runtime dependency (RDEPEND) of openmotif-2.2.3-r8, but motif-config-0.9 has this in its dependency list:
Code:
!<x11-libs/openmotif-2.1.30-r13
!=x11-libs/openmotif-2.2.2*
!=x11-libs/openmotif-2.2.3
!=x11-libs/openmotif-2.2.3-r1
!=x11-libs/openmotif-2.2.3-r2
!=x11-libs/openmotif-2.2.3-r3
!=x11-libs/openmotif-2.2.3-r4
!=x11-libs/openmotif-2.2.3-r5
!=x11-libs/openmotif-2.2.3-r6

I'm assuming there's a reason why >x11-libs/openmotif-2.2.3-r6 isn't used instead, but because Portage's dep resolver isn't smart enough yet to realise that when you upgrade openmotif it removes the incompatible version it tells you it's blocked instead. It's not a bug with the package, just a limitation of Portage.
_________________
No-one's more important than the earthworm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drakonien
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Dec 2005
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2005 6:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Worked for me too, thanks :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chrisstankevitz
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Dec 2003
Posts: 472
Location: Santa Barbara, CA, USA

PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mad Merlin wrote:
Just had this happen, emerge -C openmotif then emerge openmotif fixes the problem.

I don't like this because it puts openmotif in the world file.

How about:

1. emerge XYZ (whatever broke due to the block)
2. emerge -C openmotif
3. emerge XYZ

In my case, it's

Code:
emerge -Dauv world
emerge -C openmotif
emerge -Dauv world
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maedhros
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Apr 2004
Posts: 5511
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chrisstankevitz wrote:
I don't like this because it puts openmotif in the world file.

emerge --oneshot openmotif?
_________________
No-one's more important than the earthworm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bandreabis
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 2489
Location: イタリアのロディで

PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2005 10:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chrisstankevitz wrote:
Code:
emerge -C openmotif
emerge -Du world

resolved :!:
_________________
Il numero di post non fa di me un esperto! Anzi!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dwyrm
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Dec 2003
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2005 10:05 pm    Post subject: another answer Reply with quote

I just suggested something similar to another thread, but I'll duplicate it here for completeness.

Code:
emerge --oneshot --nodeps motif-config && emerge --oneshot --nodeps --update openmotif
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swingkyd
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 Jan 2005
Posts: 334

PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 8:35 pm    Post subject: just curious Reply with quote

so pardon the Newbie question by why does this stuff happen? [Maedhros] suggested that it might be a limitation of portage. But shouldn't this kind of thing be resolved in a package manager? It's happened to me with libungif and that whole ball of wax. It's always the same solution so now I just fix it by hand like everyone else.

Anyway, I was just wondering why it happens to some and not others?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum