Grrr.... I am having some troubles
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Chaseb
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Apr 25, 2003 10:30 pm    Post subject: Grrr.... I am having some troubles Reply with quote

Ok, my hosting company (featureprice.com) just screwed over thousands of ppl, me being on of them! So I am hosed with my web server and decided that it would be an adventure and a learning experience to run my own web server. I am not a complete newb. I have the usual certs and have even played in linux for a short period of time. But I am still learning, and I have quite a curve if I am to get a web server running in a few days! LoL, but yeah here are my problems......

Alright, I have redhat 8 (sorry its not gentoo :( )on a dedicated machine, and I am trying to install Apache. I am having troubles installing that, becuase I dont have a C complier! I downloaded GCC and I am not sure quite what to do :oops: What I am asking is how do I install GCC so that I can install Apache??? I have read the install file for GCC and it just doesnt make sence, I am in very foriegn waters here. Thanks for any help!
splooge
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Fri Apr 25, 2003 11:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1) RedHat has a completely different packaging system than Gentoo. You're really asking in the wrong place.

2) You don't need GCC to install apache on redhat. But if you want it anyways, the RPM is on your redhat CD. You won't have much luck if you're a newbie and downloading the GCC source code and trying to compile it.

3) You're really asking in the wrong place.

4) rpm -Uvh /path/to/cd/RPMS/apache-whatever.rpm
fatcat.00
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Sat Apr 26, 2003 3:10 am    Post subject: Aha, no compiler Reply with quote