Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How do I clean this (runlevels) up
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
curmudgeon
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Aug 2003
Posts: 1543

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 8:56 am    Post subject: How do I clean this (runlevels) up Reply with quote

Putting this in "installing gentoo," because it looks
like something went wrong there.

Code:
# ls -al /etc/runlevels/boot/
total 8
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root 4096 2005-09-23 20:11:59 ./
drwxr-xr-x  6 root root 4096 2005-07-27 16:18:11 ../
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root   21 2005-10-02 19:25:40 alsasound -> /etc/init.d/alsasound*
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root   36 2005-10-02 19:25:40 bootmisc -> /tmp/stage1root//etc/init.d/bootmisc
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root   35 2005-10-02 19:25:40 checkfs -> /tmp/stage1root//etc/init.d/checkfs
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root   37 2005-10-02 19:25:40 checkroot -> /tmp/stage1root//etc/init.d/checkroot
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root   33 2005-10-02 19:25:40 clock -> /tmp/stage1root//etc/init.d/clock
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root   39 2005-10-02 19:25:40 consolefont -> /tmp/stage1root//etc/init.d/consolefont
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root   38 2005-10-02 19:25:40 domainname -> /tmp/stage1root//etc/init.d/domainname
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root   36 2005-10-02 19:25:40 hostname -> /tmp/stage1root//etc/init.d/hostname
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root   35 2005-10-02 19:25:40 keymaps -> /tmp/stage1root//etc/init.d/keymaps
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root   38 2005-10-02 19:25:40 localmount -> /tmp/stage1root//etc/init.d/localmount
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root   35 2005-10-02 19:25:40 modules -> /tmp/stage1root//etc/init.d/modules
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root   34 2005-10-02 19:25:40 net.lo -> /tmp/stage1root//etc/init.d/net.lo
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root   37 2005-10-02 19:25:40 rmnologin -> /tmp/stage1root//etc/init.d/rmnologin
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root   35 2005-10-02 19:25:40 urandom -> /tmp/stage1root//etc/init.d/urandom

# ls -al /etc/runlevels/default/
total 8
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root 4096 2005-10-12 16:47:50 ./
drwxr-xr-x  6 root root 4096 2005-07-27 16:18:11 ../
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root   22 2005-10-02 19:25:40 domainname -> /etc/init.d/domainname*
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root   33 2005-10-02 19:25:40 local -> /tmp/stage1root//etc/init.d/local
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root   20 2005-10-02 19:25:40 net.eth0 -> /etc/init.d/net.eth0*
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root   36 2005-10-02 19:25:40 netmount -> /tmp/stage1root//etc/init.d/netmount
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root   16 2005-10-12 16:47:50 ntpd -> /etc/init.d/ntpd*
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root   18 2005-10-02 19:25:40 pcmcia -> /etc/init.d/pcmcia*
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root   16 2005-10-02 19:25:40 sshd -> /etc/init.d/sshd*
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root   21 2005-10-02 19:25:40 syslog-ng -> /etc/init.d/syslog-ng*
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root   22 2005-10-02 19:25:40 vixie-cron -> /etc/init.d/vixie-cron*
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root   15 2005-10-02 19:25:40 xdm -> /etc/init.d/xdm*


All of the nonexistent links show up in flashing red
(as expected).

Also, what happened to alsasound? Shouldn't that
show up as started?

Code:
# rc-status
Runlevel: default
 local                                                                                          [ started ]
 netmount                                                                                       [ started ]
 domainname                                                                                     [ started ]
 net.eth0                                                                                       [ started ]
 pcmcia                                                                                         [ started ]
 syslog-ng                                                                                      [ started ]
 vixie-cron                                                                                     [ started ]
 sshd                                                                                           [ started ]
 xdm                                                                                            [ started ]
 ntpd                                                                                           [ started ]


Thank you in advance for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sleipnir
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2005
Posts: 372
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 9:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Uhmmmm set the links to the correct path?
Code:

cd /etc/runlevels/boot/
for f in `ls *`; do ln -sf /etc/init.d/$f; done

Edit: Ah yes and do the same for /etc/runlevels/default/ ! :-)

Alsasound does not appear, because its stateless, meaning it sets
the volumes of the soundcard and exits...

Btw: I have no idea what went wrong here... Did you interrupt the
bootstrap or so?
_________________
A)bort, R)etry, I)nfluence with large hammer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
systerfrida
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jun 2004
Posts: 10
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 9:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
# rc-status -a


will show services for all runlevels and their status, not just the current runlevel, so alsasound should show up there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
curmudgeon
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Aug 2003
Posts: 1543

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 9:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sleipnir wrote:
Btw: I have no idea what went wrong here... Did you interrupt the
bootstrap or so?


I don't know what went wrong either (but this did
happen on an amd64 install, not an x86). I think
I have it fixed now. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sleipnir
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2005
Posts: 372
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 5:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also did an AMD64 64bit install and my runlevel is ok. The for of the links looks like there
went something wrong with the mount/parse of the chroot environment...
_________________
A)bort, R)etry, I)nfluence with large hammer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Installing Gentoo to Other Things Gentoo.
Not an installation problem
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thepi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2004
Posts: 352
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2005 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nixnut wrote:
Not an installation problem

Well yes, it is. It's a known bug in baselayout in 2005.1, but it's been fixed meanwhile (as of 2005.1-r1). The fix mentioned above works just fine though.

Regards,
pi~
_________________
Violence is the last resort of the incompetent --Isaac Asimov
Gentoo on Acer TM800 | Help! | Vote! | Get FF!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum