Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Getting the framebuffer to work with nvidia graphics cards
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DefconAlpha
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 151
Location: Alabama

PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2003 11:12 pm    Post subject: MPlayer / Console Reply with quote

I use mplayer to play stuff in plain 80x25 console when X fscks up. Try using svgalib to play

Code:
mplayer -vo svga [file]


works :) (eeh, mostly anyways)
_________________
In the end, the love you get is equal to the love you make
--John Lennon & Paul McCartney (The End - Abbey Road,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pYrania
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 27 Oct 2002
Posts: 650
Location: Cologne - Germany

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2003 1:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well i just got the 1280x1024x16M fbmode running with
Code:
vga=0x31B video=vesa:ywrap,mtrr

_________________
Markus Nigbur
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taskara
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 3763
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2003 3:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

anyone know what I need to get framebuffer (1024x768@16bit) working on a dell inspiron 8200 laptop with ati radeon 9000 ?

ta!
_________________
Kororaa install method - have Gentoo up and running quickly and easily, fully automated with an installer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pYrania
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 27 Oct 2002
Posts: 650
Location: Cologne - Germany

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2003 10:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd say you don't need anything more than the vesa framebuffer kernel module.. err installed into kernel .. whatever i am drunk :)

well compile vesa framebuffer support into your kernel and set your grub options like mine.
_________________
Markus Nigbur
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taskara
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 3763
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2003 11:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ta.. I'll give it a go! ;)
_________________
Kororaa install method - have Gentoo up and running quickly and easily, fully automated with an installer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pYrania
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 27 Oct 2002
Posts: 650
Location: Cologne - Germany

PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2003 5:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

goddamn i am impressed seeing mplayer playing movies with the svgalib and no x server running.
I never thought this would be possible.

Thanks for the hint, DefconAlpha.
_________________
Markus Nigbur
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
carrett
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Mar 2003
Posts: 273

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2003 9:25 pm    Post subject: funky lines... Reply with quote

i don't know if anyone else has had this problem, i'm using the nvidia drivers with a gf4 and my relevant boot parameters are:
Code:
vga=791 video=vesa:ywrap,mtrr


and i see the logo fine and X loads great, but when i exit X i see these funky lines moving down the screen, things still work and text is still readable. anybody know what's up?
_________________
I'm against picketing, but I don't know how to show it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taskara
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 3763
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2003 9:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lol... still trying to get framebuffer working on my nforce!
_________________
Kororaa install method - have Gentoo up and running quickly and easily, fully automated with an installer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phlashback
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Jul 2002
Posts: 142
Location: Normal

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2003 2:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

taskara:

If you dont mind my asking.... how much memory do you have on you nforce board, and how much videomemory on your video card.

also are you trying to use vesafb......

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?p=274717#274717

if you have => 832 MB RAM.... the link above may help

Good luck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
carrett
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Mar 2003
Posts: 273

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2003 2:54 am    Post subject: eh... Reply with quote

i have 512mb on the card...i don't know about the board...
_________________
I'm against picketing, but I don't know how to show it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taskara
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 3763
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2003 3:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

phlashback wrote:
taskara:

If you dont mind my asking.... how much memory do you have on you nforce board, and how much videomemory on your video card.

also are you trying to use vesafb......

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?p=274717#274717

if you have => 832 MB RAM.... the link above may help

Good luck


hey plashback, I have a gig of ram and the card has 128Mb.. going to the link now..

thanks!
_________________
Kororaa install method - have Gentoo up and running quickly and easily, fully automated with an installer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
carrett
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Mar 2003
Posts: 273

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2003 3:25 am    Post subject: dude... Reply with quote

this isn't the same problem though, i'm just having the moving lines, i can see and type, and it only happens when i EXIT X, before i load X, everything's nice and pretty and the way i like it....so....i don't know what to do....
_________________
I'm against picketing, but I don't know how to show it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phlashback
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Jul 2002
Posts: 142
Location: Normal

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2003 3:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

taskara:

I will almost garuntee that your problem will be solved by the patch that i made :wink:.... given that I had my framebuffer dissapear when I went from 512 to 1024, and after some poking around, and looking into the lkml I found this as the hack around (I dont take credit for the fix, just turning it into a patch.. and bringing it to these forums)

good luck.. and let me know if you have any problems with it

carrett:
just for arguments sake, do you by chance have the rivafb compiled in the kernel.. if so remove it. are you sure about the 512 MB being video memory, sounds a bit large for that :lol: but then again I could be wrong.. I have been before :oops:
Unfortunatly I personaly have not experience this, so I am at a loss.... maby try a diffrent version of the nvidia drivers....

good luck to you as well, and sorry I cant be more of a help on your problem
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
carrett
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Mar 2003
Posts: 273

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2003 3:34 am    Post subject: hold a tick... Reply with quote

i'm trying to see if i can't get a screenshot so you all can see what i'm talking about.
_________________
I'm against picketing, but I don't know how to show it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phlashback
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Jul 2002
Posts: 142
Location: Normal

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2003 3:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

carrett:

get fbgrab..... read the manual entry, and it shuld help you get your screen shot :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
carrett
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Mar 2003
Posts: 273

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2003 4:07 am    Post subject: hmm Reply with quote

http://www.ocf.berkeley.edu/~carrett/images/error.png

i guess fbgrab doesn't show the error i'm seeing. there are lines running down my monitor, i can still read everything and the console's perfectly usable, it's just kinda annoying. anyone got a better fb screenshot utility that might show what i'm talking about? anyone had this problem??
_________________
I'm against picketing, but I don't know how to show it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taskara
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 3763
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2003 4:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

could be a refresh rate problem ??
_________________
Kororaa install method - have Gentoo up and running quickly and easily, fully automated with an installer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum