Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
SSH, or telnet? What do I need?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
TheWart
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 May 2002
Posts: 432
Location: Nashville,TN - USA

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2002 4:08 am    Post subject: SSH, or telnet? What do I need? Reply with quote

Okay, I just installed Gentoo on my old p200, (about 17 hours IIRC), this is for a gameserver for a ~10-12 person Lan party I am going to when school is done. However, I also did it just for my home network, which consists of this box and two other comps. However, since I only have two keyboards and mice and monitors, it is going to be a pain for me to hook in a monitor and stuff every time i want to change a mpa or something. So I was like, well can't I just telnet into the box and run commands from windows? However, to be honest, I have no idea how to do this. Would I use telnet or ssh?

I would appreciate any and all guidance, and links to what I need to do/get would be GREATLY appreciated. Thanks in advance!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
filter69
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 May 2002
Posts: 21
Location: Armpit of SD

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2002 4:23 am    Post subject: ALWAYS Reply with quote

SSH Man........
_________________
It only takes 4 muscles to bitch slap some MF upside the head .....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guest






PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2002 4:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ssh is the choice nowadays, its more secure and has more features than telnet. To intall on your gentoo box just type
emerge openssh
and then
rc-update add sshd default
then
/etc/init.d/sshd start

you can use putty availiable at
http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/putty/
it is an excellent free ssh client for windows
Back to top
TheWart
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 May 2002
Posts: 432
Location: Nashville,TN - USA

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2002 4:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks a lot for the links, looks like I should be in business soon!
_________________
Face it, we are all noobs.

On the box it said it was designed for Win XP or better, so why won't it work with Linux?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dArkMaGE
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Apr 2002
Posts: 152

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2002 6:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

one thing to beware of is that base windoze systems only include a telnet client and so cannot use an ssh server. so if you do go with the ssh server (which you should) make sure to grab a prog like putty which is able to handle ssh connections.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guest






PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2002 11:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When you set up sshd for the first time it will you ask for generating a keypair. Type the following:
Code:

ssh_keygen -t rsa -f /etc/ssh/ssh_host_rsa_key
ssh_keygen -t dsa -f /etc/ssh/ssh_host_dsa_key


And becaause there was recently a security exploit, open the file sshd_config and change the "protocol 1 2" to "protocol 2" to disable the weaker protocol.

If you want to use ssh as user and not root, be sure that a shell is assigned to that user. Sould work with, for example:
Code:

usermod -s /bin/bash username
Back to top
jay
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 May 2002
Posts: 980

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2002 11:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

aargh... what session time out is here? fyi: i typed the above article...
_________________
Do you want your posessions identified? [ynq] (n)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RickN
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Apr 2002
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2002 11:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anonymous wrote:
When you set up sshd for the first time it will you ask for generating a keypair. Type the following:
Code:

ssh_keygen -t rsa -f /etc/ssh/ssh_host_rsa_key
ssh_keygen -t dsa -f /etc/ssh/ssh_host_dsa_key



I read the above in an OpenSSH document, but they also had the following key in there:

ssh_keygen -t rsa1 -f /etc/ssh/ssh_host_key

Do you know what this one is used for, is it for the unsafe version 1 protocol you mentioned?

Also, in the document all the ssh_keygen commands had a "-N """ option appended to them, what is this for?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
klieber
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 17 Apr 2002
Posts: 3657
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2002 12:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

RickN wrote:
Also, in the document all the ssh_keygen commands had a "-N """ option appended to them, what is this for?


man ssh-keygen

To quote:

The manpage for ssh-keygen wrote:
-N new_passphrase
Provides the new passphrase


--kurt
_________________
The problem with political jokes is that they get elected
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RickN
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Apr 2002
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2002 12:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

klieber wrote:
man ssh-keygen


Ah yes :oops:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheWart
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 May 2002
Posts: 432
Location: Nashville,TN - USA

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2002 4:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for all the info guys. I will be using PuTTY to connect from windows.
_________________
Face it, we are all noobs.

On the box it said it was designed for Win XP or better, so why won't it work with Linux?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keschrich
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Apr 2002
Posts: 69
Location: Branford, CT

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2002 11:08 pm    Post subject: no need to manually generate keypairs Reply with quote

unless recently changed, there is no need to manually run the commands to generate keypairs. once ssh is emerged (actually its emerged on install isn't it?) , just do as root

Code:
rc-update add default sshd


and gentoo will start sshd automatically each time the system is restarted. the first time it does this it will automatically generate the keypairs for you. if you don't want to reboot the system, just do again as root:

Code:
/etc/init.d/sshd start


I loved telneter's at colllege, it was so fun to sit on my computer with a packet sniffer and see all the interesting emails going through the dorm :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alec
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 270
Location: Here

PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2002 1:40 am    Post subject: Connecting from Windows... Reply with quote

As someone above posted, PuTTY is a great client to connect with just about any protocol (ssh, telnet, raw, scp, ...), and fits nicely on a floppy disk.

http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/putty/

SSH is definitly the way to go.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheWart
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 May 2002
Posts: 432
Location: Nashville,TN - USA

PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2002 2:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks guys, it worked!!!!


I did not have to emerge it, as it already was, but I DID have to create the keys. I also had to change the port as I had to work around my router/firewall. Other than that, it is pretty nifty, I must say. I need to take Putty to school and control my comp from home, it would impress the gals :D
_________________
Face it, we are all noobs.

On the box it said it was designed for Win XP or better, so why won't it work with Linux?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nitro
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Apr 2002
Posts: 661
Location: San Francisco

PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2002 3:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just a side not, the sshd init script (/etc/init.d/sshd) will automatically generate your ssh keys upon first run. Note the gen_keys function:
Code:
gen_keys() {
    if [ ! -e /etc/ssh/ssh_host_key ] ; then
        einfo "Generating Hostkey..."
        /usr/bin/ssh-keygen -t rsa1 -b 1024 -f /etc/ssh/ssh_host_key -N ''
    fi
    if [ ! -e /etc/ssh/ssh_host_dsa_key ] ; then
        einfo "Generating DSA-Hostkey..."
        /usr/bin/ssh-keygen -d -f /etc/ssh/ssh_host_dsa_key -N ''
    fi
    if [ ! -e /etc/ssh/ssh_host_rsa_key ] ; then
        einfo "Generating RSA-Hostkey..."
        /usr/bin/ssh-keygen -t rsa -f /etc/ssh/ssh_host_rsa_key -N ''
    fi
}


Will save ya a second or two down the road when you have to do it again. :)
_________________
- Kyle Manna

Please, please SEARCH before posting.

There are three kinds of people in the world: those who can count, and those who can't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheWart
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 May 2002
Posts: 432
Location: Nashville,TN - USA

PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2002 4:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Doh! O well, it didnt take but a few seconds to do the keys anyway. Overall, it was a lot easier than I had expected after so many people said they couldnt get ssh working.
_________________
Face it, we are all noobs.

On the box it said it was designed for Win XP or better, so why won't it work with Linux?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JohnnyGTO
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Apr 2002
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2002 4:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think that should be:

rc-update add sshd default
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
faithfull
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2002
Posts: 67

PostPosted: Sat Jun 15, 2002 5:57 pm    Post subject: don't be too hasty!!! Reply with quote

Sorry guys but, if i undrestand, the forum initator needs only conect from his LAN to his "server", so isn't necessary use a cryptographic connection because the channel is secure.
Otherwise if he needs to connect from outside his LAN then is necessary a ssh connection.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
metalhedd
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 692
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun Jun 16, 2002 12:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

while that is True, I wouldn't want to run a Telnet server on the system, its just another hole for potential attacks. your network is only as secure as its weakest opening, and theres no need to run a telnet server when SSH is 1000% more secure.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
id10t
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 May 2002
Posts: 100

PostPosted: Sun Jun 16, 2002 3:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes you need ssh instead. No excuse to run telnet for any reason on any server. Port scanning at LAN parties can be fun, as can packetsniffing if you can get on a hub between a few computers.

At the same time, a firewall is a Good Thing too - yes, even at a LAN party.

One other thing you will definately want is screen - lets you reconnect, etc. to the server process running. Its a Quake* admin's little helper.
_________________
---
this space for rent
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dju
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jun 2002
Posts: 9
Location: france

PostPosted: Sun Jun 16, 2002 3:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

for the guy which has gloves with scp :D
winscp : http://winscp.vse.cz/eng/
_________________
---
dju
Linux counter !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
meekrob
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Apr 2002
Posts: 81
Location: Tempe, AZ USA

PostPosted: Sat Jun 22, 2002 7:38 pm    Post subject: Check out openssh for windows Reply with quote

It's a command line ssh / sftp / scp client for windows. It's nice because it's the exact same tool you use under gentoo ported to windows. Plus you can run an SSH server. Nice. I use this tool a lot.

http://www.networksimplicity.com/openssh/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
n0ir
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jun 2002
Posts: 53
Location: Milky Way

PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2002 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not sure if this has been covered as of yet but I think changing sshd_config to dissalow root logins is a good idea..
_________________
I'm no home run hitter, but I'll still step up to bat.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jtmace
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Jun 2002
Posts: 101

PostPosted: Mon Jun 24, 2002 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you can use telnet if your crazy and in a secured, isolated enviroment, but even in such i am paranoid enough to still use ssh
_________________
er..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
abhishek
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Jun 2002
Posts: 393
Location: Los Angeles, CA

PostPosted: Sat Jun 29, 2002 9:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know i probablyy shouldnt run telnet on my comp over then net, but i want to cinnect to it from a school lab, and dont want to run other softwar there, and win2k comes with a telnet client, so what would i need to set up a telnet server?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum