Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Resizing Boot and swap partitions.......
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
FINITE
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 May 2002
Posts: 449

PostPosted: Fri Jun 21, 2002 4:32 am    Post subject: Resizing Boot and swap partitions....... Reply with quote

I was wondering if doing this would cause any problems that could not be fixed. I was thinking that I could just move my boot partition files to another partition and delete the boot partition and recreate it to be a different size. Then transfer the datea back nice and neat. With the swap file it would not need to be backed up obviously but the same question remains. Although I will be adding the swap back, just resized, would that cause any problems? Thanks for any help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
klieber
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 17 Apr 2002
Posts: 3657
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Fri Jun 21, 2002 11:24 am    Post subject: Re: Resizing Boot and swap partitions....... Reply with quote

FINITE wrote:
I was wondering if doing this would cause any problems that could not be fixed. I was thinking that I could just move my boot partition files to another partition and delete the boot partition and recreate it to be a different size.


That should work fine, but make sure you update grub to point to the new /boot partition if you have to reboot during this process.


FINITE wrote:
With the swap file it would not need to be backed up obviously but the same question remains.


Why resize the partition at all? Just add a second swap partition.

--kurt
_________________
The problem with political jokes is that they get elected
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DArtagnan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 942
Location: Israel, Jerusalem

PostPosted: Fri Jun 21, 2002 12:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a problem like this.
My /dev/hda1 is mounted on /boot.
When i run "mount" i get that /dev/hda1 is vfat so i want to backup my /boot then format /dev/hda1 then re-run grub.
Is it ok?
_________________
All for one and one for All
--

MACPRO machine...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
klieber
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 17 Apr 2002
Posts: 3657
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Fri Jun 21, 2002 12:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pacman wrote:
I have a problem like this.
My /dev/hda1 is mounted on /boot.
When i run "mount" i get that /dev/hda1 is vfat so i want to backup my /boot then format /dev/hda1 then re-run grub.
Is it ok?


If you can do this all without rebooting, then sure. Otherwise, you need to have a /boot partition. (or use the boot CD, boot floppy, etc.)

--kurt
_________________
The problem with political jokes is that they get elected
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DArtagnan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 942
Location: Israel, Jerusalem

PostPosted: Fri Jun 21, 2002 12:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

why should i reboot? it's not windows right?
Just backup the part, run mk2fs -j /dev/hda1, then run grub and restore the menu.lst from backup.
Isn't?
_________________
All for one and one for All
--

MACPRO machine...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
klieber
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 17 Apr 2002
Posts: 3657
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Fri Jun 21, 2002 2:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes -- just pointing out that if, for whatever reason, you do end up rebooting, (power failure, etc.) you won't be able to. Just make sure to have a plan B in case something goes wrong.

--kurt
_________________
The problem with political jokes is that they get elected
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DArtagnan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 942
Location: Israel, Jerusalem

PostPosted: Fri Jun 21, 2002 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
yes -- just pointing out that if, for whatever reason, you do end up rebooting, (power failure, etc.) you won't be able to. Just make sure to have a plan B in case something goes wrong.

--kurt


Yes SIR, you're completely right.
Thanks for your time.
_________________
All for one and one for All
--

MACPRO machine...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FINITE
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 May 2002
Posts: 449

PostPosted: Fri Jun 21, 2002 9:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cool. And if you did end up having to reboot then using the gentoo cd would be a plan b. The reason I need to do this is because my boot and swap are entierly to big, talking 1 gig each (or really close). Didn't know what I was doing with fdisk at the time :D Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum