Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
wlan button
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jimakt
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jul 2005
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 12:42 pm    Post subject: wlan button Reply with quote

Hi! I have an Acer Aspire 5020 and i can't turn on wireless from the buttton....Any ideas????

The chipset is broadcom and i use ndiswrapper to load the driver....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Specialized
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jan 2005
Posts: 264

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think you have to write an bash-script which loads the driver.
In my case, I use a thinkpad, it looks like this:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
modprobe ath_pci;
/etc/init.d/net.ath0 start;


You have to save it to f. e. /etc/acpi/wifi.sh and make it executeable: chmod 0774 /etc/acpi/wifi.sh

Then you create an acpi-event which contains your Hotkey, in may case it looks like this:

Code:
# /etc/acpi/events/wifi
#
event=ibm/hotkey HKEY 00000080 00001005
action=/etc/acpi/wifi.sh


The wifi.sh-script you can make a bit more komplex, it's very simple, because I'm not very firm with bash-scripting.
But here is an tutorial.
Maybe you can write an control-structur which checks if your wirelessmodule is loaded, if it is so, it unloads it by pressing your hotkey, if not, it loads the module and starts the needed services.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
azrael120
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Aug 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2005 9:53 am    Post subject: Re: wlan button Reply with quote

jimakt wrote:
Hi! I have an Acer Aspire 5020 and i can't turn on wireless from the buttton....Any ideas????

The chipset is broadcom and i use ndiswrapper to load the driver....


as many other people i am having the same problem. did anyone get it work on this model? i'm using an aspire 5024
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nabla²
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 May 2005
Posts: 280

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2005 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Specialized wrote:
[...]
Then you create an acpi-event which contains your Hotkey, in may case it looks like this:

Code:
# /etc/acpi/events/wifi
#
event=ibm/hotkey HKEY 00000080 00001005
action=/etc/acpi/wifi.sh

[...]


How did you get the key of your wireless button? xev and and showkey didn't work. I have some other buttons that don't show any keys either but I found their keys in the discussion forum of the debian wiki for my notebook (and added them to the correspondig gentoo wiki, see signature). Did you find them too?
_________________
Gentoo on Intel Core Duo 2 E6750, Gigabyte P35-DS3P, NVIDIA 8800GTS (amd64)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Specialized
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jan 2005
Posts: 264

PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2005 10:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found the keys over linux on laptops. The Mute- and the AccessIBM button work with kde. This was the easiest part.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
akb
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Jan 2003
Posts: 314
Location: Wolfenbüttel/Germany

PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the problem is that the chip does not get power unless the corresponding windows app from "launch manager" is started. this program activates the power supply to the chip itself (thats what the acer support told me).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kaiiserni
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 121
Location: Antwerp - Belgium

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2005 4:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

akb wrote:
the problem is that the chip does not get power unless the corresponding windows app from "launch manager" is started. this program activates the power supply to the chip itself (thats what the acer support told me).


you have to google acerhk for 32 bit linux or acer_acpi for 64 bit linux... this activates the wireless lan in acpi bios...

have the same laptop... :wink:
_________________
Dell XPS M1330; Intel Core 2 Duo 1800 ; NV M 8400GS, 2 gig
Gentoo x (gentoo x, gnome x)
LINUX user 395333
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
akb
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Jan 2003
Posts: 314
Location: Wolfenbüttel/Germany

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2005 4:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah, i recently got it working
but for me its acer_acpi though its a 32bit linux. acerhk didnt work

but now it works fine. wrote a small script to automatically get it up while booting (/etc/init.d/acer_wireless.sh (c) akb ;) ) and all's fine :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum