Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
via8233 sound very poor under alsa... any suggestions?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ShadyMilkman
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2002 4:10 am    Post subject: via8233 sound very poor under alsa... any suggestions? Reply with quote

OK, so I just finished emerging x and fluxbox... my first time w/ gentoo. I got alsa working, and I found the right driver for my chipset(VIA8233, or snd-via8233). The thing is, the sound quality is pretty bad when playing anything very comples at all(my mp3s for example) it sounds like a radio station with barely any reception. I was wondering if there was any way to get this any better. I know it can be because it sounded perfect under that other OS... and I seem to remember hearing rumours of alsa having poor quality. I'm a newbie, so I don't really know if there is a good answer. Thanks!
FINITE
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2002 5:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote