Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Help Me Decide: Move From OSX Tiger To Gentoo?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo for Mac OS X (Portage for Mac OS X)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ritebayou
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 7:59 pm    Post subject: Help Me Decide: Move From OSX Tiger To Gentoo? Reply with quote

My first post here...

I've used a PC running XP for a few years now and feel very confident in my knowledge of Windows. I'm a college graduate having received a degree and where I work I spend all my time doing PHP coding, just to give you a hint I'm not too wet behind the ears.

A few months ago I purchased a Mac Mini, which was my first and only introduction to the Mac. I've fallen madly in love and recently sold my PC in favor of doing everything these days on the Mac.

I had a friend last year who installed Gentoo on a spare PC and I more or less watched over his shoulder. It was fascinating, to say the least. I installed Linux (Red Hat and SuSE) on my PC a couple years ago and overall the experience was a good one - except I could never figure out how in the world to install anything).

Right after getting my Mac Mini I installed Ubuntu and was very proud of myself that I followed some info online and got the audio working. Turns out, the latest release of Ubuntu has the patch integrated into the kernel so installing on the Mini works like a charm without modification (save for wireless).

Anyway, my main point is, I'm curious, and yet cautious. Since getting the Mac though I've been more happy than I've ever been with using a personal computer. I love that most of the time I can simply install an application by dragging it to my Applications folder and the rest of the time the application has a simple no-brains installer.