Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gnome 2.10 (part 2)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
iormungand
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 May 2005
Posts: 25
Location: Brindisi, Italy

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2005 8:34 pm    Post subject: Re: Gnome-Panel-2.10.2 Warns of existing panel already open Reply with quote

hongkongblue2 wrote:
Gnome-Panel-2.10.2 Warns of existing panel already open.

Upgraded to 2.10.2, now whenever gnome opens it warns of a panel already open.

Tried deleting the default session then restarting but no joy - the nag screen comes back.
No impact on Gnome performance, just a nag.
Unable to find solution via google or forums. Anyone any ideas?


Damn, same problem here! I've found a (horrible) solution to stop the warning, but you have to disable automatic saving of session in preferences/sessions first, and you have to repeat the hack every time you want to save the session on logout...
there is something wrong in the way the session is saved (I think it's a gnome bug, not gentoo): in file ~/.gnome2/session, after a session saving, there are 2 (or more!) occurrence of gnome-panel, so you have to delete the lines in excess (with the same number at the beginning) like these:

Code:
2,id=117f000001000112050740800000247600004
2,Program=gnome-panel
2,CloneCommand=gnome-panel
2,RestartCommand=gnome-panel
3,id=117f000001000112050740800000247600004
3,Program=gnome-panel
3,CloneCommand=gnome-panel
3,RestartCommand=gnome-panel


delete the lines with 2 or those with 3 (numbers change every time), log out (without saving session), and the problem is... "solved"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hongkongblue2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Apr 2005
Posts: 64
Location: Hong Kong, China

PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2005 1:26 am    Post subject: Re: Gnome-Panel-2.10.2 Warns of existing panel already open Reply with quote

iormungand wrote:
hongkongblue2 wrote:
Gnome-Panel-2.10.2 Warns of existing panel already open.

Upgraded to 2.10.2, now whenever gnome opens it warns of a panel already open.

Tried deleting the default session then restarting but no joy - the nag screen comes back.
No impact on Gnome performance, just a nag.
Unable to find solution via google or forums. Anyone any ideas?


Damn, same problem here! I've found a (horrible) solution to stop the warning, but you have to disable automatic saving of session in preferences/sessions first, and you have to repeat the hack every time you want to save the session on logout...
there is something wrong in the way the session is saved (I think it's a gnome bug, not gentoo): in file ~/.gnome2/session, after a session saving, there are 2 (or more!) occurrence of gnome-panel, so you have to delete the lines in excess (with the same number at the beginning) like these:

Code:
2,id=117f000001000112050740800000247600004
2,Program=gnome-panel
2,CloneCommand=gnome-panel
2,RestartCommand=gnome-panel
3,id=117f000001000112050740800000247600004
3,Program=gnome-panel
3,CloneCommand=gnome-panel
3,RestartCommand=gnome-panel


delete the lines with 2 or those with 3 (numbers change every time), log out (without saving session), and the problem is... "solved"


Thanks iormungand, this will do till the bug is resolved.
_________________
Gentoo [~x86] GCC-4.1.0 (Beta) : NPTL ONLY (nitro-sources [2.6.12-n5]) : Mobo:915G-intel, HDA Audio-Alsa, 1GB Ram, 4xSATA:SW-RAID@Reiser4, HT-P4 3GHz, 19" LCD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mikeymike
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Oct 2004
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2005 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ssl wrote:
hoschi wrote:

Gnome 2.10 is useless, but buggy.
Where are the new features, more speed, or solved bugs?

- the Network-Applet doesn't works correct since the release of the new baselayout
I can see only the smaller an better sound-configuration dialog, but where is here the "alsa:dmix" support?


Gnome network applet works now and that regression is fixed. Do an
Code:
emerge sync; emerge --update gnome

alsa:dmix works here fine. Some time ago I had to put .asoundrc in /etc/skel so every user on my machine could get sound mixing. This is now somehow done automatically. You just need to adjust "Desktop --> Preferences --> Multimedia System Selector" and choose "ALSA".

You are just and only complaining and bitching... ;)
Ssl


how do I get the network settings gui undeer desktop -> administration -> network
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ssl
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Feb 2003
Posts: 178
Location: Serbia

PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2005 12:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can't at this moment. Please look at: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=86671
Actually, you can try gnome-system-tools-1.2.0.ebuild instead -r1 but have in mind, that g-s-t part is disabled with reason described in bug report itself.

Ssl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ssl
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Feb 2003
Posts: 178
Location: Serbia

PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2005 12:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Spoted this at http://planet.gnome.org:
http://blogs.gnome.org/view/carlosg/2005/07/05/0

Cheers,
Ssl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lasker
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2002
Posts: 445

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 5:53 pm    Post subject: Re: Gnome-Panel-2.10.2 Warns of existing panel already open Reply with quote

hongkongblue2 wrote:
Gnome-Panel-2.10.2 Warns of existing panel already open.

After fumbling around with the gnome session-manager I finally got rid of that:
I just removed the line which starts with gnome-smproxy --sm-config-prefix...
But we warned: Though this did the trick for me, it probably won't for you. It was just found by
doing extensive try&error. Honestly, I really didn't know what I'm doing here or why it worked
in the end, so take it with a pinch of salt and at your own risk (of course)... :roll:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lokheed
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Jul 2004
Posts: 1295
Location: /usr/src/linux

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 8:58 pm    Post subject: Re: Gnome-Panel-2.10.2 Warns of existing panel already open Reply with quote

Lasker wrote:
hongkongblue2 wrote:
Gnome-Panel-2.10.2 Warns of existing panel already open.

After fumbling around with the gnome session-manager I finally got rid of that:
I just removed the line which starts with gnome-smproxy --sm-config-prefix...
But we warned: Though this did the trick for me, it probably won't for you. It was just found by
doing extensive try&error. Honestly, I really didn't know what I'm doing here or why it worked
in the end, so take it with a pinch of salt and at your own risk (of course)... :roll:


I did likewise. Took me hours of deleting all panel entries from gnome-sessions and restarting the panel, and deleting, and loging out and in, and so forth. After some time I got gnome-sessions to finally boot with one panel which should be: gnome-panel --sm-config-repfix /gnome-panel-XXXXXX/ and not the other entry of "gnome-panel."

It can be done, but it was it took hours of the above.
_________________
You're not afraid of the dark are you?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lasker
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2002
Posts: 445

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since apparently it's a panel problem, one could think changing or deleting the
panel settings here would solve it. I've tried all this, to no avail, believe me.
Meanwhile this problem occured 2 more times and removing the
'gnome-smproxy --sm-config-prefix' -line always worked. It's not such a fuzz,
once I know it. Looks like the gnome-smproxy has control of the other panel
entries.
Still strange, why this error occurs at all, though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lokheed
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Jul 2004
Posts: 1295
Location: /usr/src/linux

PostPosted: Sat Jul 09, 2005 3:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lasker wrote:
Since apparently it's a panel problem, one could think changing or deleting the
panel settings here would solve it. I've tried all this, to no avail, believe me.
Meanwhile this problem occured 2 more times and removing the
'gnome-smproxy --sm-config-prefix' -line always worked. It's not such a fuzz,
once I know it. Looks like the gnome-smproxy has control of the other panel
entries.
Still strange, why this error occurs at all, though.


I dont have that entry, so the problem extends past that.
_________________
You're not afraid of the dark are you?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bzd
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 3
Location: Warsaw, Poland

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2005 8:18 am    Post subject: Re: Gnome-Panel-2.10.2 Warns of existing panel already open Reply with quote

hongkongblue2 wrote:
Gnome-Panel-2.10.2 Warns of existing panel already open.
[...]
Anyone any ideas?


Sure ;)
I've commited a patch that fixes the problem here:
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=98646

And here is a step-by-step solution for those that don't have experience with ebuilds:
1. save the patch under /usr/portage/gnome-base/gnome-panel/files
2. copy gnome-panel-2.10.2.ebuild to gnome-panel-2.10.2-r1.ebuild
3. edit new file, insert this code before src_compile function:

src_unpack() {
unpack ${P}.tar.bz2
cd ${S}
epatch ${FILESDIR}/${PN}-2.10.2-panel-revert-unset-sm-client-id.patch
}

4. $ ebuild gnome-panel-2.10.2-r1.ebuild digest
5. $ emerge =gnome-panel-2.10.2-r1 (remember to unmask ~arch)
6. remove ~/.gnome2/session
7. restart Gnome session
8. enjoy ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rev
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 May 2005
Posts: 9
Location: Moscow, Russia

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2005 5:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Artur, *THANK YOU*! :D
Everything works perfect now, ~/.gnome/session doesn't have those silly _duplicate_ "gnome-panel" entries and sun shines brightly! Long hours spent by me and fellow gentooists were not in vain! :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
codergeek42
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 5142
Location: Anaheim, CA (USA)

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 8:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are awesome, bzd. I was getting the error too (not harmful, but definitely a little annoying). That seems to have fixed it for me. Thanks. 8)
_________________
~~ Peter: Programmer, Mathematician, STEM & Free Software Advocate, Enlightened Agent, Transhumanist, Fedora contributor
Who am I? :: EFF & FSF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GlowStick
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2005 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
I decided to swtich from a x86 build of gentoo, to a AMD64 system. So I backed up most of the config files, and decided to start from scratch. Everything went well, however, after emerging and installing gnome I started to have a slight issue. Useing the lateist nvidia driers 7664, i configure X to use nvidias twinview. I am useing the exact same config as I did on my x86 install. However, when I go to maximize a window, it spans accross both monitors. At first, i thought Xinearama extentions were not working properly (nvidia provided ones). However, the panels seem to recognize the edges of the monitors and I can place a panel on all 8 edges of both monitors. Another diffrence I notice is when the screen saver starts, it is spanned accross both monitors, on my old build it displayed two diffrent screen savers.

Is there some setting i could of changed by mistake? Here is my Xorg.conf file.

System specs below:

AMD Athlon 64 FX-53
DFi UT nF4-SLi-D
2x Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC4000 1Gig Dimm
2x BFG Geforce 7800 GTX
WDC 320gig SATA
WDC 74gig Raptor SATA (gentoo boot)
LaCie BigDisk 500gig External HDD connected via FW800
LaCie FireWire 800 pci card
NEC DVD-Rom
PC Power & Cooling 510w Delxue

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roELEo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Sep 2004
Posts: 42
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:23 am    Post subject: Re: Gnome-Panel-2.10.2 Warns of existing panel already open Reply with quote

bzd wrote:
hongkongblue2 wrote:
Gnome-Panel-2.10.2 Warns of existing panel already open.
[...]
Anyone any ideas?


Sure ;)
I've commited a patch that fixes the problem here:
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=98646

And here is a step-by-step solution for those that don't have experience with ebuilds:
1. save the patch under /usr/portage/gnome-base/gnome-panel/files
2. copy gnome-panel-2.10.2.ebuild to gnome-panel-2.10.2-r1.ebuild
3. edit new file, insert this code before src_compile function:

src_unpack() {
unpack ${P}.tar.bz2
cd ${S}
epatch ${FILESDIR}/${PN}-2.10.2-panel-revert-unset-sm-client-id.patch
}

4. $ ebuild gnome-panel-2.10.2-r1.ebuild digest
5. $ emerge =gnome-panel-2.10.2-r1 (remember to unmask ~arch)
6. remove ~/.gnome2/session
7. restart Gnome session
8. enjoy ;)


Great! Thanks for the patch.
Regarding the steps above, the only thing I did differently was copying gnome-panel-2.10.2.ebuild to my overlay at /usr/local/portage/gnome-base/gnome-panel , and not adding the -r1 part. When I remerge it, it will automatically use the ebuild in my overlay.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
koprimer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Feb 2004
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2005 11:21 pm    Post subject: Re: Gnome-Panel-2.10.2 Warns of existing panel already open Reply with quote

bzd wrote:
...
I've commited a patch that fixes the problem here:
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=98646
...

Had the same problem and bzd's patch worked for me. Thanks bzd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sven-tek
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 May 2003
Posts: 339

PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2005 8:40 am    Post subject: déjà vu Reply with quote

after installing new gnome yesterday i had an déjà vu,
when i start gnome the splash screen stays visible until i click it :cry:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hlevyn
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Jan 2005
Posts: 240
Location: Santa Clara, California

PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 11:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm... Anyone else noticing that the menu is being rather picky about what it wants to display? A number of .desktop entries that were previously visible have disappeared (and the .desktop files still resides in /usr/share/applications/). Anyone else experiencing this or have suggestions on how to remedy?

Thanks. :)

[Edit:] Using gnome-panel 2.10.2
_________________
Madness takes its toll. Please have exact change.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bertaboy
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Nov 2004
Posts: 602

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 1:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hlevyn wrote:
Hmm... Anyone else noticing that the menu is being rather picky about what it wants to display? A number of .desktop entries that were previously visible have disappeared (and the .desktop files still resides in /usr/share/applications/). Anyone else experiencing this or have suggestions on how to remedy?

Thanks. :)

[Edit:] Using gnome-panel 2.10.2


I know the encoding has to be UFT-8 for the xmms.desktop file. I'm guessing it's just stricter standards now?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hlevyn
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Jan 2005
Posts: 240
Location: Santa Clara, California

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 2:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bertaboy wrote:
I know the encoding has to be UFT-8 for the xmms.desktop file. I'm guessing it's just stricter standards now?
Is there an easy way to check the encoding other than the presence of the line:
Code:
Encoding=UTF-8
Asking because some entries that don't have this line appear in the menu while some that do have the line do not appear. For example, gedit.desktop is no longer showing up. Thanks. =)
_________________
Madness takes its toll. Please have exact change.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
P0ldy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jun 2005
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having trouble emerging Gnome 2.10. I'm getting a compile error:

Code:
Generating and caching the translation database
cc1: error: invalid option 'ieee'
make[3]: *** [gnome-about.o] Error 1
make[3]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
Merging translations into gnome-about.desktop.
make[3]: Leaving directory '/var/tmp/portage/gnome-desktop-2.10.0/work/gnome-desktop-2.10.0/gnome-about'
make[2]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory '/var/tmp/portage/gnome-desktop-2.10.0/work/gnome-desktop-2.10.0/gnome-about'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory '/var/tmp/portage/gnome-desktop-2.10.0/work/gnome-desktop-2.10.0/gnome-about'
make: *** [all] Error 2

!!! ERROR: gnome-base/gnome-desktop-2.10.0 failed.
!!! Function gnome2_src_compile, Line 37, Exitcode 2
!!! compile failure
!!! If you need support, post the topmost build error, NOT this status message.


grep -Gr -ieee ./
Quote:
./temp/environment: sed -i '/^CFLAGS/s/$/ -mieee/' ${S}/gnome-about/Makefile.in || diefunc "$FUNCNAME" "$LINENO" "$?" "sed failed (2)";
./work/gnome-desktop-2.10.0/config.sub: | -udi* | -eabi* | -lites* | -ieee* | -go32* | -aux* \
./work/gnome-desktop-2.10.0/gnome-about/Makefile:CFLAGS = -march=pentium3 -mtune=pentium3 -pipe -O3 -fweb -frename-registers -fforce-addr -momit-leaf-frame-pointer -fomit-frame-pointer -ftracer -mieee
./work/gnome-desktop-2.10.0/gnome-about/Makefile.in:CFLAGS = @CFLAGS@ -mieee
Binary file ./work/gnome-desktop-2.10.0/gnome-about/headers/header-bg-snow01.png matches
./build-info/gnome-desktop-2.10.0.ebuild: sed -i '/^CFLAGS/s/$/ -mieee/' ${S}/gnome-about/Makefile.in \


emerge --info:

Code:
Gentoo Base System version 1.6.13
Portage 2.0.51.22-r2 (default-linux/x86/2005.0, gcc-3.4.3-20050110, glibc-2.3.5-r0, 2.6.11-gentoo-r6 i686)
=================================================================
System uname: 2.6.11-gentoo-r6 i686 Intel(R) Pentium(R) M processor 1.60GHz
ccache version 2.3 [enabled]
dev-lang/python:     2.3.4-r1
sys-apps/sandbox:    1.2.11
sys-devel/autoconf:  2.13, 2.59-r6
sys-devel/automake:  1.4_p6, 1.5, 1.6.3, 1.7.9-r1, 1.8.5-r3, 1.9.4
sys-devel/binutils:  2.15.92.0.2-r7
sys-devel/libtool:   1.5.14
virtual/os-headers:  2.6.8.1-r2
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="x86"
AUTOCLEAN="yes"
CBUILD="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-march=pentium3 -mtune=pentium3 -pipe -O3 -fweb -frename-registers -fforce-addr -momit-leaf-frame-pointer -fomit-frame-pointer -ftracer"
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /usr/kde/2/share/config /usr/kde/3/share/config /usr/lib/X11/xkb /usr/share/config /var/qmail/control"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/gconf /etc/terminfo /etc/env.d"
CXXFLAGS="-march=pentium3 -mtune=pentium3 -pipe -O3 -fweb -frename-registers -fforce-addr -momit-leaf-frame-pointer -fomit-frame-pointer -ftracer -fvisibility-inlines-hidden"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
FEATURES="autoconfig ccache distlocks sandbox sfperms strict"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://gentoo.cities.uiuc.edu/pub/gentoo/ http://gentoo.mirrors.easynews.com/linux/gentoo/ http://mirrors.acm.cs.rpi.edu/gentoo http://gentoo.osuosl.org http://www.ibiblio.org/pub/Linux/distributions/gentoo"
MAKEOPTS="-j2"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/local/portage"
SYNC="rsync://rsync.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
USE="3dfx X acpi aim alpha alsa arts avi berkdb bitmap-fonts cdr crypt cups divx4linux dvd emboss encode esd ethereal fam flac foomaticdb fortran ftp gdbm gif gimpprint glx gnome gpm gtk gtk2 imap imlib ipv6 jikes jpeg libg++ libwww mad maildir mbox mikmod mmap mmx motif mozilla mp3 mpeg ncurses nls nptl oggvorbis openal opengl oss pam pdflib perl png python readline sdl spell sse ssl tcpd tiff truetype truetype-fonts type1-fonts x86 xine xml2 xmms xv xvid zlib userland_GNU kernel_linux elibc_glibc"
Unset:  ASFLAGS, CTARGET, LANG, LC_ALL, LDFLAGS, LINGUAS


What is the problem? I can't figure this out. Is it a typo? If so, why would it affect only me?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hoschi
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Posts: 2517
Location: Ulm, Germany, Europe

PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2005 8:46 pm    Post subject: Re: Gnome-Panel-2.10.2 Warns of existing panel already open Reply with quote

bzd wrote:
hongkongblue2 wrote:
Gnome-Panel-2.10.2 Warns of existing panel already open.
[...]
Anyone any ideas?


Sure ;)
I've commited a patch that fixes the problem here:
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=98646

And here is a step-by-step solution for those that don't have experience with ebuilds:
1. save the patch under /usr/portage/gnome-base/gnome-panel/files
2. copy gnome-panel-2.10.2.ebuild to gnome-panel-2.10.2-r1.ebuild
3. edit new file, insert this code before src_compile function:

src_unpack() {
unpack ${P}.tar.bz2
cd ${S}
epatch ${FILESDIR}/${PN}-2.10.2-panel-revert-unset-sm-client-id.patch
}

4. $ ebuild gnome-panel-2.10.2-r1.ebuild digest
5. $ emerge =gnome-panel-2.10.2-r1 (remember to unmask ~arch)
6. remove ~/.gnome2/session
7. restart Gnome session
8. enjoy ;)


Works, but i have a new problem:
I have the standard Gnome-Setup with a panel with a window-list at the Bottom, now Gnome moves this panel at every start of Gnome at the top of the desktop, to the other panel with the starters and applets.

This is as bad as without the patch.

<edit> Happens only with "Autohide"
_________________
Just you and me strogg!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kronos
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Sep 2002
Posts: 116
Location: St. Louis area (Wood River, IL)

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hlevyn wrote:
bertaboy wrote:
I know the encoding has to be UFT-8 for the xmms.desktop file. I'm guessing it's just stricter standards now?
Is there an easy way to check the encoding other than the presence of the line:
Code:
Encoding=UTF-8
Asking because some entries that don't have this line appear in the menu while some that do have the line do not appear. For example, gedit.desktop is no longer showing up. Thanks. =)


Any more on this? I've been using enlightenment without a desktop manager forever, and decided to try gnome. Not bad, although much harder to find my way around and configure. I can't find out how to configure the menu. And my XMMS icon is gone - not sure how to fix that. How can I change the encoding? I would also like to know that. I can't add an application launcher to a menu/submenu either... there's no right click -> properties or add or anything. Only add this menu to panel and add this launcher to panel, unlike what the help text says.

-Kronos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hlevyn
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Jan 2005
Posts: 240
Location: Santa Clara, California

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't believe I ever found the cause of it (actually forgot about it). I've been modifying these files by hand. Entries for all users can be found in /usr/share/applications/, and user defined ones are located in ~/.local/share/applications. Creating and modifying is pretty easy, just take a look at the ones already present.

If you want a GUI to edit them though others have said Denu is pretty good. I gave it a try and didn't care for it too much, but that was me. Try things out and see what works best for you.

Cheers! :)
_________________
Madness takes its toll. Please have exact change.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kronos
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Sep 2002
Posts: 116
Location: St. Louis area (Wood River, IL)

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 11:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found the directory where they are, but xmms.desktop already exists. Just isn't showing up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iormungand
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 May 2005
Posts: 25
Location: Brindisi, Italy

PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 1:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kronos wrote:
And my XMMS icon is gone - not sure how to fix that. How can I change the encoding?

Do this:
Code:
$ cp /usr/share/applications/xmms.desktop ~/.local/share/applications/

so you don't have to edit the file on every update of xmms; if ~/.local/share/applications/ doesn't exist, create it; then
Code:
$ gedit ~/.local/share/applications/xmms.desktop

change the line:
Code:
Encoding=Legacy-Mixed

with:
Code:
#Encoding=Legacy-Mixed
or:
Encoding=UTF-8

and the line:
Code:
Icon=mini/xmms_mini.xpm

with:
Code:
Icon=/usr/share/icons/xmms.xpm
(or any other icon you want)

and save :wink:

I'm planning to write an howto on "manually editing gnome 2.10 menu" - in every single detail, including new multilevel sub-menus - because IMHO it's the best way to go (I tried smeg and denu, but they simply don't work for me at all :cry: ), and the manual editing is really simple knowing a couple of basic rules...

Is someone interested in this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
Page 9 of 10

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum