Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
CpuFreq not working
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Infra
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Jul 2002
Posts: 131
Location: Vantaa, Finland

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2005 6:56 am    Post subject: CpuFreq not working Reply with quote

I'm having problems with to getting cpufreq to work.

I have compiled my kernel many times following the instructions on the Gentoo Power Management guide.

Now the problem is that when i try to get info from my processor with cpufreq-info i get this:

Code:

purkki inf # cpufreq-info
cpufrequtils 0.3: cpufreq-info (C) Dominik Brodowski 2004
Report errors and bugs to linux@brodo.de, please.
analyzing CPU 0:
  no or unknown cpufreq driver is active on this CPU


So i guess it can't find the cpufreq driver from my kernel, and I'm sure that it is compiled in. Also when I boot, I get an error message that CpuFreq isn't loaded into the kernel or something like that.

Could anyone help?
_________________
If it works don't mess with it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shadow_dancer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Feb 2005
Posts: 68
Location: germany

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2005 9:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

post the relevant parts of your kernel config file,i.e., the cpu frequency scaling part...
is it possible that you compiled the wrong cpu driver?
cheers
sd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Infra
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Jul 2002
Posts: 131
Location: Vantaa, Finland

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2005 10:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

shadow_dancer wrote:
post the relevant parts of your kernel config file,i.e., the cpu frequency scaling part...
is it possible that you compiled the wrong cpu driver?
cheers
sd


Here we go

Code:

# CPU Frequency scaling
#
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_TABLE=y
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEBUG is not set
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_STAT is not set
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_PERFORMANCE is not set
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_USERSPACE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_PERFORMANCE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_POWERSAVE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_USERSPACE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_ONDEMAND=y
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_CONSERVATIVE is not set

#
# CPUFreq processor drivers
#
CONFIG_X86_ACPI_CPUFREQ=y
# CONFIG_X86_POWERNOW_K6 is not set
# CONFIG_X86_POWERNOW_K7 is not set
# CONFIG_X86_POWERNOW_K8 is not set
# CONFIG_X86_GX_SUSPMOD is not set
CONFIG_X86_SPEEDSTEP_CENTRINO=y
CONFIG_X86_SPEEDSTEP_CENTRINO_ACPI=y
CONFIG_X86_SPEEDSTEP_CENTRINO_TABLE=y
# CONFIG_X86_SPEEDSTEP_ICH is not set
CONFIG_X86_SPEEDSTEP_SMI=y
# CONFIG_X86_P4_CLOCKMOD is not set
# CONFIG_X86_CPUFREQ_NFORCE2 is not set
# CONFIG_X86_LONGRUN is not set
# CONFIG_X86_LONGHAUL is not set


Code:

purkki linux # lspci
0000:00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 440BX/ZX/DX - 82443BX/ZX/DX Host bridge (AGP disabled) (rev 03)
0000:00:04.0 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCI1211
0000:00:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc 3D Rage LT Pro (rev dc)
0000:00:07.0 Bridge: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ISA (rev 02)
0000:00:07.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 IDE (rev 01)
0000:00:07.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 USB (rev 01)
0000:00:07.3 Bridge: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ACPI (rev 03)
0000:00:08.0 Multimedia audio controller: ESS Technology ES1978 Maestro 2E (rev 10)
0000:00:09.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82557/8/9 [Ethernet Pro 100] (rev 09)
0000:00:09.1 Serial controller: Agere Systems (former Lucent Microelectronics) LT WinModem

_________________
If it works don't mess with it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
b-s-a
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Jul 2005
Posts: 42
Location: Moscow, Russia

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2005 1:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Infra
Why do You think what your system support frequency scaling?
IMHO, 440BX/ZX/DX and Pentium (Celeron) II/III do not support these technologies...
Speedstep - used in Intel Pentium M, Pentium 4, and Intel Xeon processors. Centrino - technology for mobile computers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grantl
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Dec 2003
Posts: 8
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 12:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

b-s-a wrote:
Infra
Why do You think what your system support frequency scaling?
IMHO, 440BX/ZX/DX and Pentium (Celeron) II/III do not support these technologies...

Sure do Pentium III cpus on 440BX/ZX/DX chipsets support speedstep. I have a fujitsu-siemens lifebook with 440BX/ZX/DX and Pentium III 600.

Code:
calimhafen netseeker # lspci
0000:00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 440BX/ZX/DX - 82443BX/ZX/DX Host bridge (rev 03)
0000:00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 440BX/ZX/DX - 82443BX/ZX/DX AGP bridge (rev 03)
0000:00:07.0 Bridge: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ISA (rev 02)
0000:00:07.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 IDE (rev 01)
0000:00:07.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 USB (rev 01)
0000:00:07.3 Bridge: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ACPI (rev 03)
0000:00:0d.0 Multimedia audio controller: ESS Technology ES1978 Maestro 2E (rev 10)
0000:00:0f.0 CardBus bridge: Ricoh Co Ltd RL5c476 II (rev 80)
0000:00:0f.1 CardBus bridge: Ricoh Co Ltd RL5c476 II (rev 80)
0000:00:10.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82557/8/9 [Ethernet Pro 100] (rev 08)
0000:01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Rage Mobility P/M AGP 2x (rev 64)


I got speedstep working this way:

Code:
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_STAT=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_PERFORMANCE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_PERFORMANCE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_POWERSAVE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_USERSPACE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_ONDEMAND=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_TABLE=y

CONFIG_X86_ACPI_CPUFREQ=m
CONFIG_X86_SPEEDSTEP_SMI=m

CONFIG_X86_SPEEDSTEP_LIB=m
CONFIG_X86_SPEEDSTEP_RELAXED_CAP_CHECK=y


/etc/modules.autoload/kernel.2.6:

Code:
speedstep-lib relaxed_check=1
speedstep-smi smi_port=0xb2 smi_cmd=0x82 smi_sig=1
speedstep-smi smi_port=0xb2 smi_cmd=0x82 smi_sig=1


(The values for smi_port etc may vary on your system)
The first try to load speedstep-smi fails, the second one succeeds and speedstep is working fine then. I read about that strange behaviour in another thread, so i'm not the only one who has to load speedstep-smi twice.

Code:
calimhafen netseeker # cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_available_frequencies
600000 500000


hope that helps...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
voytas
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Mar 2004
Posts: 203
Location: Poland, Lodz

PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2006 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for that tip, it worked for me :)
_________________
DESKTOP: i815E - Celeron 1GHz - 512MB 133MHz - WD 1200JB - GF4-MX440
LAPTOP: Dell Latitude L400 [P3 700MHz SpeedStep 256MB ATI Mach64]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SvenFischer
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 1033
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2006 10:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This resolved my long existing problem!

IBM T22 now works with the above settings without changes.
_________________
Core2Duo, 4GB RAM, AMD/ATI 4850 and nice person in front!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jerkface
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Apr 2004
Posts: 65
Location: Tacoma, Wa

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks to grantl, I was able to get speedstep-smi to load, but I can't switch to the conservative or ondemand governors. Also, when I bought this cpu about a year ago, I was pretty sure that Intel said it could step to 400MHz, but cpufreq-info says the limit is 700MHz - 1000 MHz. Is there anything more I can try? :twisted:

*edit* Never mind about the limit. Page 14 says it is 1000-700 for my SL53S ftp://download.intel.com/support/processors/mobile/pentiumiii/sb/24530659.pdf (pdf warning) Still can't use governors besides userspace and performance, but that is ok for now.*/edit*
Code:
# modprobe cpufreq-conservative
# cpufreq-info
cpufrequtils 002: cpufreq-info (C) Dominik Brodowski 2004-2006
Report errors and bugs to linux@brodo.de, please.
analyzing CPU 0:
  driver: speedstep-smi
  CPUs which need to switch frequency at the same time: 0
  hardware limits: 700 MHz - 1000 MHz
  available frequency steps: 1000 MHz, 700 MHz
  available cpufreq governors: conservative, ondemand, performance, userspace
  current policy: frequency should be within 700 MHz and 1000 MHz.
                  The governor "userspace" may decide which speed to use
                  within this range.
  current CPU frequency is 700 MHz (asserted by call to hardware).
# cpufreq-set -g conservative
Error setting new values. Common errors:
- Do you have proper administration rights? (super-user?)
- Is the governor you requested available and modprobed?
- Trying to set an invalid policy?
- Trying to set a specific frequency, but userspace governor is not available,
   for example because of hardware which cannot be set to a specific frequency
   or because the userspace governor isn't loaded?

_________________
Most Linux users don't know this, but the man pages are named after Chuck Norris. Chuck Norris fscking hates noobs!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Johny the Ripper
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Nov 2004
Posts: 135
Location: EU - Belgium

PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2007 12:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jerkface wrote:
Still can't use governors besides userspace and performance, but that is ok for now.*/edit*

Yeah, I have a Pentium III M Coppermine 1 GHz too lol. I e-mailed the devellopper of speedstep smi, he helped me get it working and told me that there are some problems with the implementation for Pentium III concerning the governors. Intel wasn't so keen on giving information and nobody wants to dig into it because it's ancient hardware anyway. Or something like that. Anyway, at least manual speedstep works fine, that's something :)
_________________
De omnis Belgae bravissimi ... erant
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum