Question on SAMBA
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
KraziKid
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2003 2:29 am    Post subject: Question on SAMBA Reply with quote

My father wants me to set up a network for his office. He uses QuickBooks on Windows for their accounting/invoices/etc... The problem is, current;y they share the file they have on disk, and when one is edited, the changes on the other copy aren't retained. They want me to set up a network drive that will hold the QuickBooks database. I have an idea to use SAMBA on a gentoo system I am setting up for a firewall. What they need is something that is available from the internet so that my aunt (who does the accounting) can map the drive in the office to her home computer. What I want to find out is, can SAMBA do this? If so, can I make the connection encrypted? If anyone can give an example where this is impemented, that would be great. I will be making a cron job to backup the database every x minutes so that there is always a backup, but I want to know if I can make this a secure connection. If SAMBA can't do this, can someone recommend an app they use that can.
Kulfaangaren!
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2003 3:28 am    Post subject: Re: Question on SAMBA Reply with quote

Hi.

The files I think should be treated as very sensitive, are you really sure you wanna stick em on the firewall/inetgw ?

I prefer to keep this kind of sensitive material offline (read...on a comp without internet access).

Anyways...yes, Samba can bind to all interfaces of the firewall/inetgw and accept connections from your aunt....she would have to use a service name containing the IP adress of your firewall/inetgw like \\192.168.1.1\QuickBooks.