Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
i915 and xorg - how?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 7, 8, 9 ... 11, 12, 13  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
seppelrockt
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 May 2004
Posts: 423

PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2005 4:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thomasa88 wrote:
Hmm, I tried with xorg 6.8.99.8 but then the driver wouldnt work anymore and after upgrading my bios to A06 (inspiron 6000) 6.8.99.5 doesnt work either :(


As I wrote before I THINK it's a BIOS problem cause the VGA BIOS is downgraded in the 06 Bios Version and my X didn't worked with the new BIOS, but the 05 is OK. You can confirm this by checking the VGA Bios Versions on the Dell release infos.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thomasa88
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Apr 2005
Posts: 143
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2005 4:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmm, im using A05 + vanilla 2.6.12-rc5, it worked with A04 but I cant get it to work with A05. Do I need to recompile something?

edit.

hmm, I get this:
Code:

barbara mrt # dmesg | grep mtrr
mtrr: no MTRR for c0000000,400000 found
mtrr: no MTRR for c0400000,200000 found
mtrr: no MTRR for c0600000,100000 found
mtrr: no MTRR for c0700000,80000 found
mtrr: no MTRR for c0780000,20000 found
mtrr: no MTRR for c07a0000,10000 found
mtrr: base(0xc0020000) is not aligned on a size(0x640000) boundary
mtrr: base(0xc0020000) is not aligned on a size(0x640000) boundary

_________________
- thomasa88
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kawsper
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Nov 2004
Posts: 128
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello, i am about to buy a laptop with Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 900 with a 915GM ICH6-M chipset.
Have i get this right, there are support for the GMA and i have to download the xorg cvs version, and setting the driver to i810. What about DRI and other things?

Will it support opengl and such things and is it worth to buy?
_________________
Laptop: Zepto 2314W, Pentium M 730, 512 Mb Pc-3200
Server 1: Athlon XP 3200+ | Asus A7V880 | 768 Mb DDR Pc-3200
Server 2: Pentium III Coppermine | Unknown MB | 64 Mb
All running Gentoo

www.hyggenet.org - IRC-Network for the pleasant atmosphere.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hoschi
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Posts: 2517
Location: Ulm, Germany, Europe

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, u will get opengl-rendering but there are a few problems yet

- some problems with video-colors in mplayer, gnome (but not everybuddy)
- not using both "devices" of the graphics-device, this will increase performance maybe (this is a x issue)
- you need to run the newest xorg and the newest vanilla-sources (not gentoo-sources), and change a line in /usr/src/linux/include/libata.a to get dma for the s-ata cd-rom drive

currently it works really good, and you will need no closed-source binarys like nvidia-drivers...
_________________
Just you and me strogg!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kawsper
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Nov 2004
Posts: 128
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, i am not going to invest in the same laptop as you guys, but i am going to invest in one with the same graphic card.
The problems you are talking about is it a problem in mplayer is a mplayer problem or is it a problem in general when showing movies? (I normally use Xine and Fluxbox).

I know that the graphic card is using the memory on the computer, how much will be necessary to run X with a couple of applications? Right now i have looked at one with 512Mb of ram.

Thanks for the answer.

update: I have chosen not to insert the built-in CD-rom drive (I save $100), so i have currently no plugin media, so its gonna be fun to find alternatives to the gentoo cd install :).
_________________
Laptop: Zepto 2314W, Pentium M 730, 512 Mb Pc-3200
Server 1: Athlon XP 3200+ | Asus A7V880 | 768 Mb DDR Pc-3200
Server 2: Pentium III Coppermine | Unknown MB | 64 Mb
All running Gentoo

www.hyggenet.org - IRC-Network for the pleasant atmosphere.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hoschi
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Posts: 2517
Location: Ulm, Germany, Europe

PostPosted: Sun Jun 05, 2005 8:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

its a generall "xv" issue, not a problem of xine/mplayer/gstreamer - but not everybody has this problem

512MB amount of ram will be enough, but i have here 1024MB - and quake3 rules :D
_________________
Just you and me strogg!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VinzC
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 5048
Location: Dark side of the mood

PostPosted: Sun Jun 05, 2005 9:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hoschi wrote:
512MB amount of ram will be enough, but i have here 1024MB - and quake3 rules :D

Quake 3? with an i915? 8O
_________________
Gentoo addict: tomorrow I quit, I promise!... Just one more emerge...
1739!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hoschi
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Posts: 2517
Location: Ulm, Germany, Europe

PostPosted: Sun Jun 05, 2005 9:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sure, maybe is there more performance (your own post on site 7)

Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 900 PCI Express ~ Radeon 9000
Its not fast, but good playable.

I can play here Quake III Arena, Quake III:Urban-Terror and next Week i will try to "start" Doom III :)
_________________
Just you and me strogg!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
seppelrockt
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 May 2004
Posts: 423

PostPosted: Sun Jun 05, 2005 12:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you set your VGA RAM in xorg.conf to e.g. 64 MB or something? I ask cause I wanted to play NWN and it was to slow on Linux (on Win it's Ok). Glxgears shows no speedup with the VGA RAM settings but maybe it's nessesary for games? Or is the RAM managed automatically for every sutuation?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VinzC
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 5048
Location: Dark side of the mood

PostPosted: Sun Jun 05, 2005 2:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hoschi wrote:
Sure, maybe is there more performance (your own post on site 7)

Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 900 PCI Express ~ Radeon 9000
Its not fast, but good playable.

I can play here Quake III Arena, Quake III:Urban-Terror and next Week i will try to "start" Doom III :)

:oops: I confused with Doom 3... I'm not at my best with games at the moment...
_________________
Gentoo addict: tomorrow I quit, I promise!... Just one more emerge...
1739!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hoschi
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Posts: 2517
Location: Ulm, Germany, Europe

PostPosted: Sun Jun 05, 2005 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

seppelrockt wrote:
Did you set your VGA RAM in xorg.conf to e.g. 64 MB or something? I ask cause I wanted to play NWN and it was to slow on Linux (on Win it's Ok). Glxgears shows no speedup with the VGA RAM settings but maybe it's nessesary for games? Or is the RAM managed automatically for every sutuation?


Bios: 128
Xorg: nothing or 128
_________________
Just you and me strogg!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thomasa88
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Apr 2005
Posts: 143
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sun Jun 05, 2005 10:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hoschi wrote:

- you need to run the newest xorg and the newest vanilla-sources (not gentoo-sources), and change a line in /usr/src/linux/include/libata.a to get dma for the s-ata cd-rom drive


What did u change? I really want this! :)
(DVD and faster cd burning/reading)
_________________
- thomasa88
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hoschi
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Posts: 2517
Location: Ulm, Germany, Europe

PostPosted: Sun Jun 05, 2005 10:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It simple, the cd-rom-drive is connected via s-ata. But currently nobody uses s-ata for cd-rom-drives (only plextor and some laptops with i915) :)
Here is the trick:

Quote:
Okay, I'm posting because it took me a very long time to find the answers to these questions.
#1) I was having problems because my CDRW/DVD-ROM would not allow me to hdparm -d 1 /dev/hdc
I was getting this error
Code:
/dev/hdc:
 setting using_dma to 1 (on)
 HDIO_SET_DMA failed: Operation not permitted
 using_dma    =  0 (off)

So after a very long time searching a friend help me find https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-270763-highlight-sata+cdrom.html.
What I did was make sure that Device Drivers ---> ATA/ATAP/MFM/RLL support ---> ATA/ATAPI/MFM/RLL is NOT Selected
I don't have any PATA so why have it? then you have to do this
Code:
in /usr/src/linux/include/linux/libata.h change
#undef ATA_ENABLE_ATAPI /* define to enable ATAPI support */
to
#define ATA_ENABLE_ATAPI /* define to enable ATAPI support */


Now compile the new kernel, and be happy :)
You don't need any IDE Support in the Kernel, or speciall scsi-cdrom-support.
_________________
Just you and me strogg!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VinzC
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 5048
Location: Dark side of the mood

PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 10:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thought it would be interresting to get that patched:
Code:
diff -Naur linux-2.6.12-rc4/include/linux/libata.h linux-2.6.12-rc4-libata/include/linux/libata.h
--- linux-2.6.12-rc4/include/linux/libata.h     2005-05-27 13:52:43.000000000 +0200
+++ linux-2.6.12-rc4-libata/include/linux/libata.h      2005-05-03 22:47:10.000000000 +0200
@@ -42,6 +42,9 @@
                                 * low-level drivers */
 #undef ATAPI_ENABLE_DMADIR     /* enables ATAPI DMADIR bridge support */

+/* ADDED (30/4/2005): enable ATAPI on Dell i6000 */
+#define ATA_ENABLE_ATAPI       /* define to enable ATAPI support */
+

 /* note: prints function name for you */
 #ifdef ATA_DEBUG

Save this into a file named libata.h.patch, for instance, in root's home. Patch your current kernel by running the following command or alike:
Code:
cd /usr/src/linux && patch -p1 < ~/libata.h.patch

_________________
Gentoo addict: tomorrow I quit, I promise!... Just one more emerge...
1739!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thomasa88
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Apr 2005
Posts: 143
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 1:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

weee, dma 8)

I get some errors but it seems to work anyway

Code:

barbara mrt # hdparm -d1 /dev/sda

/dev/sda:
 setting using_dma to 1 (on)
 HDIO_SET_DMA failed: Inappropriate ioctl for device
barbara mrt # hdparm -d1 /dev/scd0

/dev/scd0:
 setting using_dma to 1 (on)
 HDIO_SET_DMA failed: Inappropriate ioctl for device


Code:

barbara mrt # hdparm -tT /dev/sda

/dev/sda:
 Timing cached reads:   2512 MB in  2.00 seconds = 1254.94 MB/sec
HDIO_DRIVE_CMD(null) (wait for flush complete) failed: Inappropriate ioctl for device
 Timing buffered disk reads:   72 MB in  3.02 seconds =  23.84 MB/sec
HDIO_DRIVE_CMD(null) (wait for flush complete) failed: Inappropriate ioctl for device
barbara mrt # hdparm -tT /dev/scd0

/dev/scd0:
 Timing cached reads:   2520 MB in  2.13 seconds = 1181.06 MB/sec
HDIO_DRIVE_CMD(null) (wait for flush complete) failed: Inappropriate ioctl for device
 Timing buffered disk reads:   10 MB in  3.44 seconds =   2.90 MB/sec
HDIO_DRIVE_CMD(null) (wait for flush complete) failed: Inappropriate ioctl for device

_________________
- thomasa88
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VinzC
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 5048
Location: Dark side of the mood

PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 1:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thomasa88 wrote:
weee, dma 8)

I get some errors but it seems to work anyway

Code:

barbara mrt # hdparm -d1 /dev/sda

/dev/sda:
 setting using_dma to 1 (on)
 HDIO_SET_DMA failed: Inappropriate ioctl for device
barbara mrt # hdparm -d1 /dev/scd0

/dev/scd0:
 setting using_dma to 1 (on)
 HDIO_SET_DMA failed: Inappropriate ioctl for device

...

hdparm is not for use with sda devices... DMA is automatically enabled for these SCSI-like drives, hence the hack.
_________________
Gentoo addict: tomorrow I quit, I promise!... Just one more emerge...
1739!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thomasa88
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Apr 2005
Posts: 143
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

man, your fast :D

ok, but the speeds seems ok :) (almost 1,5 GB/s must be dma, mustnt it?)
_________________
- thomasa88
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hoschi
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Posts: 2517
Location: Ulm, Germany, Europe

PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2005 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

VinzC wrote:
thomasa88 wrote:
weee, dma 8)

I get some errors but it seems to work anyway

Code:

barbara mrt # hdparm -d1 /dev/sda

/dev/sda:
 setting using_dma to 1 (on)
 HDIO_SET_DMA failed: Inappropriate ioctl for device
barbara mrt # hdparm -d1 /dev/scd0

/dev/scd0:
 setting using_dma to 1 (on)
 HDIO_SET_DMA failed: Inappropriate ioctl for device

...

hdparm is not for use with sda devices... DMA is automatically enabled for these SCSI-like drives, hence the hack.



I love it, always the same game wit S-ATA. The people doest realize that S-ATA is more SCSI than IDE.
Ok, my first S-ATA Mainboard...:roll:
_________________
Just you and me strogg!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kawsper
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Nov 2004
Posts: 128
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 3:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, i have searched some more about how to make my GMA 900 to work, (Not that it isn't noted here but i just want to tell others about it :roll:).

You will need:
- A kernel that is named 2.6.12_rc* in order to make 3d accelaration since it is the only kernel with the DRM for the 915GM support (I dont know if i have to use vanilla og gentoo-sources, can anyone tell me what they know? UPDATE: GENTOO-SOURCES aren't in that high version.)
- CVS version of the xorg xserver, i saw that portage had some recent versions of it, i will try to find out if we could use things from portage (Which made things a little faster for some of us).
_________________
Laptop: Zepto 2314W, Pentium M 730, 512 Mb Pc-3200
Server 1: Athlon XP 3200+ | Asus A7V880 | 768 Mb DDR Pc-3200
Server 2: Pentium III Coppermine | Unknown MB | 64 Mb
All running Gentoo

www.hyggenet.org - IRC-Network for the pleasant atmosphere.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thomasa88
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Apr 2005
Posts: 143
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xorg-x11 ~x86 in portage worked for me until I changed bios in my computer :P
_________________
- thomasa88
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kawsper
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Nov 2004
Posts: 128
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 5:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thomasa88 wrote:
xorg-x11 ~x86 in portage worked for me until I changed bios in my computer :P

What exactly did you do, and how did you fix it?
_________________
Laptop: Zepto 2314W, Pentium M 730, 512 Mb Pc-3200
Server 1: Athlon XP 3200+ | Asus A7V880 | 768 Mb DDR Pc-3200
Server 2: Pentium III Coppermine | Unknown MB | 64 Mb
All running Gentoo

www.hyggenet.org - IRC-Network for the pleasant atmosphere.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hoschi
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Posts: 2517
Location: Ulm, Germany, Europe

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 5:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kawsper wrote:
thomasa88 wrote:
xorg-x11 ~x86 in portage worked for me until I changed bios in my computer :P

What exactly did you do, and how did you fix it?


Bios is vendor specific - this is not general a problem :-)
_________________
Just you and me strogg!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hoschi
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Posts: 2517
Location: Ulm, Germany, Europe

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Two Questions:

We don't need SCSI-CDROM-Support in the kernel, or? Why?

What have you included for alsa sound in the kernel, i need ac97 (intel) and hd-audio (intel)?
_________________
Just you and me strogg!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thomasa88
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Apr 2005
Posts: 143
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The sound card doesnt have a an own (was it) mixer (? :P) so u need a software one.

This is what I have in PCI Devices
<*> Intel/SiS/nVidia/AMD/ALi AC97 Controller
_________________
- thomasa88
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VinzC
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 5048
Location: Dark side of the mood

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 7:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hoschi wrote:
Two Questions:

We don't need SCSI-CDROM-Support in the kernel, or? Why?

What have you included for alsa sound in the kernel, i need ac97 (intel) and hd-audio (intel)?

I think hoschi's suffering a bit from Alzeimer ;) : https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-2364838.html#2364838 . You can look at Sejam's first post in that thread if you want to know about SCSI support in kernel. Here's mine:
Code:
# zgrep -iE '^config_scsi' /proc/config.gz
CONFIG_SCSI=y
CONFIG_SCSI_PROC_FS=y
CONFIG_SCSI_SATA=y
CONFIG_SCSI_SATA_AHCI=y
CONFIG_SCSI_ATA_PIIX=y
CONFIG_SCSI_QLA2XXX=y

_________________
Gentoo addict: tomorrow I quit, I promise!... Just one more emerge...
1739!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 7, 8, 9 ... 11, 12, 13  Next
Page 8 of 13

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum