Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
can't emerge mod_php
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
noodles
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2003
Posts: 10
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2003 2:56 am    Post subject: can't emerge mod_php Reply with quote

I'm quite new to Gentoo but I've got my machine up and running quite smoothly now, I was following a guide on this site to get apache working and whatnot. I have apache working, I have successfully emerged php, but for the life of me I cannot get mod_php to emerge properly. I keep getting the following error:

Code:

...
checking for pthreads_cflags... -pthread
checking for pthreads_lib...

Configuring SAPI modules
checking for AOLserver support... no
checking for Apache 1.x module support via DSO through APXS...

Sorry, I was not able to successfully run APXS.  Possible reasons:

1.  Perl is not installed;
2.  Apache was not compiled with DSO support (--enable-module=so);
3.  'apxs' is not in your path.  Try to use --with-apxs=/path/to/apxs
The output of /usr/sbin/apxs follows
./configure: line 3215: /usr/sbin/apxs: No such file or directory
configure: error: Aborting

!!! ERROR: dev-php/mod_php-4.3.1-r1 failed.
!!! Function src_compile, Line 219, Exitcode 1
!!! bad ./configure


I'm not really sure what to do from here, I have tried using USE flags of -java -qt and a few others...does anyone here have any more ideas for a relatively new Gentoo user?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kashani
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Sep 2002
Posts: 2032
Location: San Francisco

PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2003 3:14 am    Post subject: missing apxs Reply with quote

It appears that /usr/bin/apxs is missing from your system. This will probably cause any compile of apache modules to fail. I'd emerge apache again and then do a the following to see if it was installed this time.

ls -la /usr/bin/apxs

Out of curiosity which apache did you install?

kashani
_________________
Will personally fix your server in exchange for motorcycle related shop tools in good shape.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kulfaangaren!
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jan 2003
Posts: 176
Location: Borås, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2003 3:25 am    Post subject: Re: can't emerge mod_php Reply with quote

Please post the output of:

Code:
[root@ssigw 04:15:41 /boot]# emerge -pv net-www/apache


It should return this output if Apache is allready installed on your system:

Code:
[root@ssigw 04:15:41 /boot]# emerge -pv net-www/apache

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies ...done!
[ebuild   R  ] net-www/apache-1.3.27-r3


The R in "[ebuild R ]" tells us that to emerge apache my machine would have to REbuild it, meaning it is allready installed on my system.

To me it looks as if you haven't installed Apache.

mod_php has (it seems) lots of other dependencies.

A "emerge -pv mod_php" on my machine resulted in the following:

Code:
[root@ssigw 04:15:50 /boot]# emerge -pv mod_php

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies ...done!
[ebuild  N   ] media-libs/pdflib-4.0.3-r1  +tcltk +perl +python +java
[ebuild  N   ] media-libs/libswf-0.99 
[ebuild  N   ] app-crypt/mhash-0.8.16 
[ebuild    U ] media-libs/freetype-1.3.1-r3 [2.1.2-r2] +nls
[ebuild  N   ] media-libs/ming-0.2a 
[ebuild  N   ] media-libs/libgd-1.8.3-r6  +X
[ebuild  N   ] net-mail/uw-imap-2001a-r2  +ssl
[ebuild  N   ] dev-libs/libmcrypt-2.5.5 
[ebuild  N   ] dev-php/mod_php-4.3.1  +java +spell +png -apache2 +truetype -postgres +tiff +libwww +nls +gd +jpeg +ssl -oci8 +mysql +X +gdbm -curl +imap +xml2 -xml -cjk +pdflib +qt -snmp +crypt +flash +odbc -ldap +berkdb -freetds -firebird +pam

[root@ssigw 04:22:03 /boot]#


// Fredrik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
noodles
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2003
Posts: 10
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2003 3:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I do have apache installed, I've started it up and looked at the default page it has telling you it's installed succesfully, but i will go find what the output of that command is and post again soon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kulfaangaren!
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jan 2003
Posts: 176
Location: Borås, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2003 3:45 am    Post subject: Re: mod_php... Reply with quote

Hello again...

Are we talking Apache 2 or Apache 1.3.x ?

Reason I ask is because in 1.3.x series, the apxs program is a part of the apache ebuild. (On my system where the file exists I can run "qpkg -f /usr/sbin/apxs" and verify that that is the case)

It might be usefull if you would post your USE variable from /etc/make.conf as well.

// Fredrik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
noodles
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2003
Posts: 10
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2003 3:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is the results i got:
Code:

tigers root # emerge -pv net-www/apache

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies ...done!
[ebuild   R  ] net-www/apache-2.0.44


Apparently it is Apache2 :o

Also, this is my USE variable, I did add stuff in but they never affected my problem, so i took them back out and this is what is there now:

Code:

USE="qt kde -gnome -gtk"


Thanks for all the help so far.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kulfaangaren!
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jan 2003
Posts: 176
Location: Borås, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2003 4:09 am    Post subject: Re: mod_php... Reply with quote

I just noticed....you have ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86" in your make.conf....dev-php/mod_php-4.3.1-r1 is not marked stable yet.

Ohh...apache-2.0.44 is also a build not yet marked stable...2.0.43-r1 is marked stable and can be used with the same version of mod_php.

Maybe you should set it to "" instead and only run stable packages ? :D

You said it yourself, you are new to Gentoo, and if you compile unstable packages you are bound to find more problems like this one :)

// Fredrik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
noodles
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2003
Posts: 10
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2003 4:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hrmm...I just followed the instructions I found on this website. The article is here: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/desktop.xml#doc_chap8

I don't remember changing that at any point. But I will do what you said and try again. Thanks :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum