Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Can't get successful network connection...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Guest






PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2002 2:44 am    Post subject: Can't get successful network connection... Reply with quote

When I check my network settings before I try and emerge rsync I get the following line

UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING where I'd much like to have
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST RUNNING

and with this I'm told that Loopback is up and running....

I've used modprobe 8139too and then set my dhcp and then set all the others using /sbin/ifconfig and edited resolv.conf so I'm not sure what else I can do...
Back to top
Guest






PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2002 7:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

can you ping by hostname? by IP?
which dhcp client are you using? with dhcpcd I didn't need to do anything with ifconfig, just typed dhscpcd eth0 and it configured everything itselv, set resolv.conf and everything (my card is a 8139 compatible, too)

what does ifconfig eth0 say?
Back to top
Guest






PostPosted: Sat Jun 15, 2002 3:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can only ping what's on the uni internal network (I pinged the gateway server successfully, but I can't ping anything external). When I run /sbin/ifconfig -a I get :-

Code:
UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING


instead of

Code:
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST RUNNING


I've set the proxy (http://autoproxy.uws.edu.au/proxy.pac:3128) in the appropriate files and I've put in the nameserver dns addresses in (though I don't know what the server names or domain name is... I suspect the domain is "uws.edu.au"

Also as I'm using the Stage 3 tarball I'm up to the section

Code:
mv /boot/bzImage /boot/bzImage.orig


but I get

Code:
mv: cannot stat '/boot/bzImage : No such file or directory


any ideas???
Back to top
orkid
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Jun 2002
Posts: 94
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Jun 15, 2002 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
/sbin/route
What does it say? It might be a routing problem (but you used dhcp I suppose, so it should be.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
doctorstrange
Guest





PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2002 9:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Also as I'm using the Stage 3 tarball I'm up to the section

Code:

mv /boot/bzImage /boot/bzImage.orig





but I get

Code:

mv: cannot stat '/boot/bzImage : No such file or directory





any ideas???


Maybe your /boot partition was not mounted, try to mount it first.
Back to top
Guest






PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2002 2:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I have actually mounted Swap, Boot and Root, so I don't think that would be it.
Back to top
delta407
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Apr 2002
Posts: 2876
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2002 2:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, /boot/bzImage doesn't exist, which is why you can't move it. Just move /usr/src/linux/arch/i386/boot/bzImage to /boot/bzImage and go from there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum