Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
where's my /dev/hdb (udev/devfs/kernel/linuxboot.cfg)?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bingobob
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 296
Location: Hertfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 9:20 am    Post subject: where's my /dev/hdb (udev/devfs/kernel/linuxboot.cfg)? Reply with quote

I can't get access to my /dev/hdb drive (nice 120 gig western digital I want to use).

I've tried all sorts, running an xbox, thing is dmesg output seems to indicate that it exists, but fdisk -l doesn't show it. I am completely stick, so please excuse the copious amounts of code. Where is the problem here?

I've emerged this, that and the other.

"hdb: C/H/S=0/0/0 from BIOS ignored" <- this means the bios has seen it ok - is that right?

Code:


five linux # dmesg | grep hd
Kernel command line: root=/dev/hda3 splash=silent kbd-reset video=xbox:640x480,nohwcursor devfs=mount acpi=hw
    ide0: BM-DMA at 0xff60-0xff67, BIOS settings: hda:DMA, hdb:DMA
hda: C/H/S=0/0/0 from BIOS ignored
hdb: C/H/S=0/0/0 from BIOS ignored
hda: ST310014A, ATA DISK drive
hda: attached ide-disk driver.
hda: host protected area => 1
hda: 20005650 sectors (10243 MB) w/2048KiB Cache, CHS=19846/16/63, UDMA(33)
five linux #

five linux # cat /boot/linuxboot.cfg
kernel boot/bzImage
append root=/dev/hda3 splash=silent kbd-reset video=xbox:640x480,nohwcursor devfs=mount acpi=hw
five linux #

five linux # ps -ef | grep dev
root       149     1  0 09:57 ?        00:00:00 /sbin/devfsd /dev
root       357     1  0 09:57 ?        00:00:00 udevd
five linux #

five linux # cat /usr/src/linux/.config | grep DEVFS
CONFIG_DEVFS_FS=y
CONFIG_DEVFS_MOUNT=y
# CONFIG_DEVFS_DEBUG is not set

five linux # uname -a
Linux five 2.4.29-xbox #2 Fri Jun 3 22:31:58 GMT 2005 i686 Celeron (Coppermine) GenuineIntel GNU/Linux

five linux # fdisk -l

Disk /dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/disc: 10.2 GB, 10242892800 bytes
16 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19846 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 1008 * 512 = 516096 bytes

                                Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part1   *           1          63       31720+  83  Linux
/dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part2              64        1056      500472   82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part3            1057       19846     9470160   83  Linux
five linux #

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
noup
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Mar 2003
Posts: 917

PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 10:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

is your second disk SATA (i don't know if it would be called hdb if it were)?
_________________
noup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Donpasquale
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Jan 2003
Posts: 150
Location: Munich

PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 10:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

it gets recognized as a 0 size disk. did yøu jumper it the right way?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bingobob
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 296
Location: Hertfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 10:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No it's on a regular IDE interface (sata is something else - right? scuse me I'm not familiar with sata)...it's picked up by the bios as UDMA2.

Re jumpers...hmmm, I have it (hdb) jumpered as a slave and hda is jumpered as cable select.

bsp
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Donpasquale
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Jan 2003
Posts: 150
Location: Munich

PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 10:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

try to hard jumper the hda as master
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bingobob
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 296
Location: Hertfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 10:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

One step ahead ;-)....following your tip just did that...but...no help!
So to be clear they are now jumpered to hda=master hdb=slave.

What does it all mean? Is it related to devfs or udev as there is no device node for it?

Code:

five root # dmesg | grep hd
Kernel command line: root=/dev/hda3 splash=silent kbd-reset video=xbox:640x480,nohwcursor devfs=mount acpi=hw
    ide0: BM-DMA at 0xff60-0xff67, BIOS settings: hda:DMA, hdb:DMA
hda: C/H/S=0/0/0 from BIOS ignored
hdb: C/H/S=0/0/0 from BIOS ignored
hda: ST310014A, ATA DISK drive
hda: attached ide-disk driver.
hda: host protected area => 1
hda: 20005650 sectors (10243 MB) w/2048KiB Cache, CHS=19846/16/63, UDMA(33)
five root #
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Donpasquale
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Jan 2003
Posts: 150
Location: Munich

PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 11:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

is the harddisk being recognized in the bios the right way?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bingobob
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 296
Location: Hertfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 11:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

maybe not - it's the cromwell bios 2.40 for the xbox, unsure as to how you can change it.

v confused.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Donpasquale
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Jan 2003
Posts: 150
Location: Munich

PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 11:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

so you tried to connect 2 hdas at the same time to an xbox?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bingobob
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 296
Location: Hertfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 11:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes...well, two ide hard drives. lol.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Donpasquale
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Jan 2003
Posts: 150
Location: Munich

PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 11:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

that wont work because the xbox is only atapi aware on the slave port
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bingobob
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 296
Location: Hertfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 11:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

oh...really? i thought i had read others had done it. But OK, that might explain things.

actually, i've read elsewhere that with the cromwell bios the xbox can support two IDE HDDs, could be wrong though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bingobob
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 296
Location: Hertfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 3:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

its a power problem.

For some reason my 120 gig hdd doesnt get enough power from the xbox psu to be recognised at boot time. wierd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Donpasquale
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Jan 2003
Posts: 150
Location: Munich

PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

then you will have to build in a bigger psu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum