Want new new MB, what will happen?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
HomerSimpson
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Sat Feb 15, 2003 4:40 pm    Post subject: Want new new MB, what will happen? Reply with quote

Not to lay it on too thick but I am new to Linux and Gentoo and have received great support from all of you. Thanks!

Now my Q:

I have Gentoo running on a 300MHz Celeron. It took me nearly a month to get to where I am at. If I had to do it over again I could probably do it in 2-3 weeks. Long compile times. (do not read as a complaint).

If I get a new MB, one based on an AMD XP chip, what are the chances the OS would boot? I realize I would have to at the very least recompile with whatever network driver I need. (assuming it even come up).

I am weighing my new MB purchase with having to reinstall everything. I just got here and I am reluctant to do it all over again right now. :)

Thanks
lghman
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Sat Feb 15, 2003 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did this going from a little crappy motherboard to an ASUS for my AMD2000xp chip. I didnt have any problems, except with some of my server setups for some reason. But all in all it went pretty smoothly for me.

--sonik
dwilson
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Sat Feb 15, 2003 11:39 pm    Post subject: I think this depends Reply with quote

This will mostly depend on your USE settings. If you compiled with march-(anything) there is probably no way it will work with a different processor. However if you compiled for generic x86 instruction set then you are probably money.
lghman
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Sun Feb 16, 2003 1:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote