Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Thread for ICEWM lovers (ICEWM tips)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
beandog
Developer
Developer


Joined: 04 May 2003
Posts: 2004
Location: /usa/utah

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 1:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yellowhippy wrote:
I was wondering how to change the buttons in the taskbar(Windows list menu, Show desktop). Is there a config file for that as well?

Thanks,
Chris


Just look for the images (.xpm format) in ~/.icewm/themes/<theme I'm using>/

Thats the ones they use. Once you change them, restart IceWM for the new ones to show up.
_________________
If it ain't broke, tweak it. packages | dvds | blurays | blog | home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chrism
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Jul 2004
Posts: 526

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 10:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

And how can I get rid of the network treffic monitor in the taskbar(especially ppp0)?
I'd also like to get rid of the 4 Workspace buttons.


Thanks,

Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
odocoileus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Dec 2004
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2005 3:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can get rid of the ppp0 in the .icewm/preferences. On mine it is at line 479
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chrism
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Jul 2004
Posts: 526

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2005 8:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

odocoileus wrote:
You can get rid of the ppp0 in the .icewm/preferences. On mine it is at line 479


Everything in .icewm/preferences is commented out. Is there another file which is read first?

Thanks,

Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beandog
Developer
Developer


Joined: 04 May 2003
Posts: 2004
Location: /usa/utah

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2005 10:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yellowhippy wrote:
odocoileus wrote:
You can get rid of the ppp0 in the .icewm/preferences. On mine it is at line 479


Everything in .icewm/preferences is commented out. Is there another file which is read first?


Its commented out because those are your defaults. It might be reading /usr/share/icewm/* though
_________________
If it ain't broke, tweak it. packages | dvds | blurays | blog | home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
odocoileus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Dec 2004
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 3:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So if you want to change the default, just uncomment the line, and change the value, and if you just change it in ~/.icewm/preferences, it should overide the prefs in /usr/whatever
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beandog
Developer
Developer


Joined: 04 May 2003
Posts: 2004
Location: /usa/utah

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 3:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

odocoileus wrote:
So if you want to change the default, just uncomment the line, and change the value, and if you just change it in ~/.icewm/preferences, it should overide the prefs in /usr/whatever


Yah, that's right.
_________________
If it ain't broke, tweak it. packages | dvds | blurays | blog | home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chrism
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Jul 2004
Posts: 526

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 9:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks again,

Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SubTexel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jan 2003
Posts: 72
Location: Hampton, VA

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 1:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey, new IceWM user... Having problems, as I have no desktop icons (this is probably normal, just not used to it..), and no programs populated in the start menu.. How do I go about setting this up? I have nothing in ~/.icewm/ except the directory themes, should there be anything else? Thanks in advance!
_________________
Linux Registered user: 221337
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psutokth
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Apr 2005
Posts: 119
Location: Lake Champlain

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 1:51 am    Post subject: @SubTexel Reply with quote

Quote:
as I have no desktop icons


I'm just learning this too but a few hours ahead of you it seems :wink:
IceWM, and all window managers cannot put icons on the desktop, only desktop environments like Gnome and KDE can. This is explained in the IceWM FAQ, on the IceWM site http://www.icewm.org/ There is also a good manual there.

More good information to get you going is at http://www.osnews.com/story.php?news_id=7774&page=1

These links will show you how to add programs to the menu by editing files or using GUI tools. But first someone else may have to help you as I think you are missing a lot in your .icewm directory. Did you follow this instruction from the HOWTO IceWM on the Gentoo Wiki?

Quote:
# cp /usr/share/icewm/* ~/.icewm -r


to copy the system wide files into your home folder so you can edit them? Good luck.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SubTexel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jan 2003
Posts: 72
Location: Hampton, VA

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 6:04 pm    Post subject: Re: @SubTexel Reply with quote

psutokth wrote:
Quote:
as I have no desktop icons


I'm just learning this too but a few hours ahead of you it seems :wink:
IceWM, and all window managers cannot put icons on the desktop, only desktop environments like Gnome and KDE can. This is explained in the IceWM FAQ, on the IceWM site http://www.icewm.org/ There is also a good manual there.

More good information to get you going is at http://www.osnews.com/story.php?news_id=7774&page=1

These links will show you how to add programs to the menu by editing files or using GUI tools. But first someone else may have to help you as I think you are missing a lot in your .icewm directory. Did you follow this instruction from the HOWTO IceWM on the Gentoo Wiki?

Quote:
# cp /usr/share/icewm/* ~/.icewm -r


to copy the system wide files into your home folder so you can edit them? Good luck.


Thanks! :) Well, the reason I am asking is because a lot of photos of Themes for IceWM show dekstop Icons, so I was just wondering if something went wrong. Thanks for the help, copying the files from /usr/share fixed the one problem ;) Now to figure out the other.
_________________
Linux Registered user: 221337
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
0kupa
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Feb 2005
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2005 11:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi,

how to shutdown Icewm in blank X screen:

Chewi wrote:
I've got a similar but different problem. It doesn't seem to like freedesktop.org when it comes to logging out. IceWM shuts down but I just get brought back to a blank X screen. I have a solution for you though! The preferences file allows you to specify the command used to logout. Heh gotta admit, I was very impressed by that. I've used killall Xvesa. You'd use something different but I'll let you figure that out. :P

Oh wait sorry, that's only if you kill it directly. Hmmm guess that wouldn't work then. Oh well. Errm oh I know what you could do! Put killall icewm-session at the end of your .xinit or /etc/X11/Sessions/icewm file.



a better form, go to /usr/share/icewm/preferences and write:

Quote:

# Command to start logout -> don't touch
# LogoutCommand=""

# Command to cancel logout -> don't touch
# LogoutCancelCommand=""

# Command to shutdown the system
ShutdownCommand="killall -QUIT icewm | sudo /sbin/shutdown -h now"

# Command to reboot the system
RebootCommand="killall -QUIT icewm | sudo /sbin/shutdown -r now"


it's works fine ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vorticies82
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Oct 2004
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Sat Apr 23, 2005 12:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I am also having a shutdown problem. On my laptop, I am running a gnome-panel above my icewm bar so I can have my battery applet, wifi monitor, etc. The problem is, while the gnome-panel is running, I can't shutdown icewm by using ctrl+alt+del. I have tried altering my shutdown and reboot commands in several ways. I have tried this:

pkill gnome && sudo /sbin/shutdown -h now

or this

pkill gnome & sudo /sbin/shutdown -h now

I have also tried the one 0kupa suggested

ShutdownCommand="killall -QUIT icewm | sudo /sbin/shutdown -h now"

I have even tried writing my own script that will first kill the gnome-panel and then shutdown. None of them work. However, the commands seem to get suspended somehow, because if I later pull up a terminal and say pkill gnome, the panel dies and then the other commands execute and shutdown the machine. It's really strange to watch. I can hit ctrl+alt+del, press d, say ok, and leave it sitting there for an hour, then pull open a terminal, pkill gnome, and it kills the panel and proceeds to shutdown. Does anybody have any idea how I can make my ctrl+alt+del get rid of that and shutdown?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
0kupa
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Feb 2005
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Thu May 05, 2005 10:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi vorticies82,

if u want to load a bash script, u have to write:

Quote:

# Command to shutdown the system
ShutdownCommand="bash /home/youruser/.yourscript.sh"

# Command to reboot the system
ShutdownCommand="bash /home/youruser/.yourscript.sh"


if doesn't work, change & to |:
Code:
ShutdownCommand="pkill gnome | sudo /sbin/shutdown -h now"


because:
&: does the actions at same time
|: run actions when the previous whas finished

taste it! :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vorticies82
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Oct 2004
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2005 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is really strange, but none of those solutions work. For some reason, while that panel is open, there is no command that I can give to icewm to actually make it shutdown the system. I have tried all the ideas listed in this forum and some others also and no luck. Does anybody have any idea why icewm can't kill a gnome-panel?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Toastbrot
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Sep 2004
Posts: 81
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2005 10:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,
I love icewm, too! It runs stable as well as quick, but I can't autostart some x-apps. What's the name of the autostart config?
Thanks a lot.
_________________
viele Grüße, das Toastbrot

Der mit dem Eselspinguin tanzt.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beandog
Developer
Developer


Joined: 04 May 2003
Posts: 2004
Location: /usa/utah

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 7:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Toastbrot wrote:
Hello,
I love icewm, too! It runs stable as well as quick, but I can't autostart some x-apps. What's the name of the autostart config?
Thanks a lot.


~/.icewm/startup
_________________
If it ain't broke, tweak it. packages | dvds | blurays | blog | home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Carpi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Nov 2005
Posts: 20
Location: Berlin (Germany)

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 11:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I chose Icewm and am happy so far. Maybe I can contribute to this topic in the future.

Thanks so far for the hints!
_________________
PII-MMX-350, 256MB; eth0: 2Mbit flat via 3c59x module; Kernel 2.6.12-gentoo-r6; X+Icewm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bart
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Apr 2002
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2005 10:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm a long term IceWM user and still loving it ;). There was one small annoying problem with the mailbox icon: it counts the total number of mails in my inbox. I wanted it to count the number of unread mails only. My not so elegant solution:
Run "emerge icewm" and make it sleep (ctrl-z) right after unpacking the sources. Go to /var/tmp/portage/icewm-x.y.z/work/icewm-x.y.z/src and open amailbox.cc in your favorite editor. Replace all "(MESSAGES" by "(UNSEEN". Make it a bit nicer by replacing all "mail messgae" by "new mail message". Save your changes and finish the merge (fg).
Now the mailbox icon changes colour if there's one or more unread messages and when pointing the mouse cursor on top of the icon it tells you the number of unread messages.

For those of you who like the diff:
Code:

amailbox.cc
266c266
<                                   " (MESSAGES)\r\n", NULL));
---
>                                   " (UNSEEN)\r\n", NULL));
273c273
<             if (sscanf(bf, "* STATUS %127s (MESSAGES %lu)",
---
>             if (sscanf(bf, "* STATUS %127s (UNSEEN %lu)",
430,431c430,431
<                     _("%ld mail message.") :
<                     _("%ld mail messages."), // too hard to do properly
---
>                     _("%ld new mail message.") :
>                     _("%ld new mail messages."), // too hard to do properly
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
maximan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Posts: 110
Location: Rio Cuarto-Argentina

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2005 10:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Remenic wrote:
IceWM is totally awesome once you've configured it right. What really sold me is the extremely low memory usage (with fancy features disabled, like xft etc.).

I've made a custom theme for it, but I haven't released it (yet).

Anyways, here is how it looks:

http://www.linuxfromscratch.org/~remenic/screenshots/icewm-alloy.png


It's very nice you theme, could you send me it??

here is my screenshots
http://static.flickr.com/29/61327753_d870051954_o.jpg

Maximiliano
AMD64 3500+ - Slamd64 10.2 - ASUS v9520-X/TD - 512Ram - Icewm 1.3dev
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
depontius
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 2385

PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2005 8:23 pm    Post subject: What does xinerama support in icewm really mean? Reply with quote

I see that later versions of icewm support xinerama.

I have some co-workers who have dual displays, both with and without xinerama. But they're running mwm, and when you start the Cadence design system on one window, it and all of its children are pretty much stuck on that one window. We'd really like to spread the children windows over both displays, but aren't able to. While xinerama lets the mouse go from display from display, something (xinerama or mwm) won't let windows drag or move in any other way from display to display.

When xinerama support is compiled into icewm, will it allow me to move a window from one display to another, either by dragging or some other mechanism?
_________________
.sigs waste space and bandwidth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
suby
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jan 2008
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2008 8:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

choco wrote:
I return to IceWM because it fits my concept of the ideal window manager.....Themes but not an insane amount of unneeded theming.


Exactly
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dont Panic
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Jun 2007
Posts: 320
Location: SouthEast U.S.A.

PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2008 4:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know this thread is kind of old, but I had an issue in IceWM that has been bugging me for months, and I just figured it out. So I thought I'd add it to the knowldege pile.

I've been having trouble getting png and jpg icons to show up on my menu, although xpm icons would show up just fine. I discovered that the 'imlib' USE Flag needs to be set for png and jpg icons to show up in the menu.

I guess I was just jumping the gun on figuring that most packages were moving on from imlib.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rbalasus
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Sep 2004
Posts: 90

PostPosted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 11:51 am    Post subject: how to switch off the toolbar temprarely Reply with quote

Hello I use icewm since years...
I remember ther where button to switch of the toolbar.... But in the last versions I can't found the button, I can't found a configuration option for this. And in the whole documentation is none hint.
I want to switch off the toolbar/taskbar when I run big windows, no more no less.
Can anybody tell me the right option in the preference file?
Regards Randolf Balasus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dont Panic
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Jun 2007
Posts: 320
Location: SouthEast U.S.A.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 2:11 pm    Post subject: Thread for ICEWM lovers (ICEWM tips) Reply with quote

I also noticed that button was missing in my Gentoo version of IceWM.

I was able to restore that button by adding the following line to my ~/.icewm/preferences file:
Code:
TaskBarShowCollapseButton=1

I also noticed there was another setting to enable a disappearing taskbar:
Code:
#  Auto hide task bar after delay
# TaskBarAutoHide=0 # 0/1

I tried that option out, but I also prefer just having the button.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 5 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum