Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDE kicker panel freezes after `Run Command' [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gentsquash
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Nov 2004
Posts: 753
Location: Still a Gentoo beginner.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 6:49 pm    Post subject: KDE kicker panel freezes after `Run Command' [SOLVED] Reply with quote

In the last week or so, the KDE "kicker" (panel) has run for a
while and the suddenly become unresponsive, ignoring the mouse.
The only recovery I have found is

Code:
%  kill -9 <PID of Kicker>

and then run

Code:
%  kicker &


from a shell of the logged-in user.

I'm using kde-base/kdebase 3.3.2-r1 on
Gentoo 2.6.10 on a Dell Optiplex GX400.

This problem seems different from

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?p=2030541#2030541

Has anyone else had recent freezes? [edit] The freeze happens
reliably after `Run Command'; see 5th posting. [/edit]

_________________
Your thread resolved? Putting [SOLVED] in its title helps all Gentooers. (Button "edit" , first post)
Prof. Jonathan LF King, Mathematics dept., University of Florida


Last edited by gentsquash on Tue Aug 30, 2005 9:01 pm; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentsquash
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Nov 2004
Posts: 753
Location: Still a Gentoo beginner.

PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2005 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The random freezing is still happening. In case the following
can help anyone else, here is the script that I use to recover
from the glaciation...

Code:
#!/bin/sh
##08Feb2005: Created.
#
#### BEG: "fixkicker" ####
kill -9  $(ps   -C kicker -o pid= )
kicker &
#### END: "fixkicker" ####

_________________
Your thread resolved? Putting [SOLVED] in its title helps all Gentooers. (Button "edit" , first post)
Prof. Jonathan LF King, Mathematics dept., University of Florida
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tlaloctlaloc
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Feb 2004
Posts: 198
Location: Europe-In the heart of the Alps

PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2005 9:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you using the kasbar and something wxwidgets related? That was the only combination I could crash the kicker recently.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentsquash
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Nov 2004
Posts: 753
Location: Still a Gentoo beginner.

PostPosted: Wed Feb 16, 2005 8:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not that I know of; I don't know what those things are.

I have not had a freeze for several days. The freezes I've had
show no correlation with anything that I'm doing, so I don't
want to file a bug report.

One could suspect hardware failure, but the freezes only happen
to kicker, nothing else.

Maybe this is one of those problems that an `emerge world' will
fix at some point.

Thanks for your reply, by the way.
_________________
Your thread resolved? Putting [SOLVED] in its title helps all Gentooers. (Button "edit" , first post)
Prof. Jonathan LF King, Mathematics dept., University of Florida
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentsquash
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Nov 2004
Posts: 753
Location: Still a Gentoo beginner.

PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2005 5:36 am    Post subject: Does run-command cause a freeze for you? Reply with quote

Further progress: OMSystem, with KDE running,
if I use the KDE menu (a large "K" often at the left of `kicker')
to invoke

Code:
K -> Run Command


then kicker freezes. I can `kill -9' kicker, then re-execute (as
the same normal user) `kicker', and a functioning new one appears.
And `Run Command' just as effectively freezes kicker.

A test of a handful of other items in

Code:
K -> <Other items>


did not cause a freeze.

Any confirmations of these?

Note:

Code:
%    esearch -F kde-base/kdebase
*  kde-base/kdebase
      Latest version available: 3.3.2-r1
      Latest version installed: 3.3.2-r1

_________________
Your thread resolved? Putting [SOLVED] in its title helps all Gentooers. (Button "edit" , first post)
Prof. Jonathan LF King, Mathematics dept., University of Florida
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentsquash
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Nov 2004
Posts: 753
Location: Still a Gentoo beginner.

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2005 4:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tonight I emerged

Code:
  Wed Mar  2 20:15:50 2005 >>> kde-base/kdelibs-3.3.2-r4
  Wed Mar  2 20:17:11 2005 >>> media-gfx/xloadimage-4.1-r2
  Wed Mar  2 20:18:01 2005 >>> sys-fs/device-mapper-1.00.19-r2
  Wed Mar  2 20:20:52 2005 >>> media-libs/imlib2-1.2.0-r2
  Wed Mar  2 20:28:41 2005 >>> media-libs/libtheora-1.0_alpha3


and the
Code:
  K  ->  Run Command

problem seemed to have disappeared.
_________________
Your thread resolved? Putting [SOLVED] in its title helps all Gentooers. (Button "edit" , first post)
Prof. Jonathan LF King, Mathematics dept., University of Florida
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum