Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
init stops after 'VFS mounted root (ext3) readonly'
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ptk
Guest





PostPosted: Sun Apr 21, 2002 3:00 am    Post subject: init stops after 'VFS mounted root (ext3) readonly' Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm delighted with the gentoo concept and have installed the system from stage 1. My system boots up just fine, but after doing most of the setup actions, the system gives me a prompt which is not the usual bash prompt, but rather begins with "init-". It does not know I am root; typing the 'w' command gives a warning about needing to mount /proc.

The last console message before the 'init' prompt occurs is
"VFS mounted root (ext3) readonly"

Reading the man page for mount, I believe the problem is that mount fails to mount /proc (despite it being listed in my /etc/fstab) because it cannot write to the file /etc/mtab, because /etc lives in the root partition (/) and has apparently been mounted readonly. So init stops, and does not get the rest of the way to giving me a login prompt.

In my /etc/fstab, I do not ask for / to be mounted readonly; in fact it uses default options and is of type ext2, so I'm not sure why VFS is taking it over and mounting it as a read-only ext3.

Any suggestions on what to change?
Thanks very much!
- Phil

-----
By the way, on a seperate matter, in the installation manual, code listing 17, where you do the chroot command, you might want to mention that if you are installing from within another linux distribution, rather than from the boot CD, that you need to use something like

chroot /mnt/gentoo /usr/bin/env -i HOME=/root USER=root TERM=xterm PATH=/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:. /bin/bash

(as discussed in the Linux From Scratch book), since otherwise the environment variables set in your existing linux distribution (Mandrake 8.0 for me) may mess up the bootstrap script.
It took me several hours to figure out that this was why bootstrap was crashing.
Back to top
Nitro
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Apr 2002
Posts: 661
Location: San Francisco

PostPosted: Sun Apr 21, 2002 4:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you share your /etc/fstab with us, and also, what arguments to you pass to you kernel? I tell my kernel to mount my filesystem as readonly and let my init scripts remount it read/write.
_________________
- Kyle Manna

Please, please SEARCH before posting.

There are three kinds of people in the world: those who can count, and those who can't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ptk
Guest





PostPosted: Sun Apr 21, 2002 1:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

/etc/fstab:
Code:

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# noatime turns of atimes for increased performance (atimes normally aren't
# needed; notail increases performance of ReiserFS (at the expense of storage
# efficiency).  It's safe to drop the noatime options if you want and to
# switch between notail and tail freely.

# <fs>                  <mountpoint>    <type>          <opts>                  <dump/pass>

# NOTE: If your BOOT partition is ReiserFS, add the notail option to opts.

/dev/hda1               /boot           ext2            noauto,noatime          1 1
/dev/hda14              /               ext2            defaults                1 2
/proc                   /proc           proc            defaults                0 0
/dev/hda6               none            swap            sw                      0 0
/dev/hda13              none            swap            sw                      0 0
/dev/hdb7               none            swap            sw                      0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0      /mnt/cdrom      iso9660         noauto,ro               0 0

# glibc 2.2 and above expects tmpfs to be mounted at /dev/shm for
# POSIX shared memory (shm_open, shm_unlink). Adding the following
# line to /etc/fstab should take care of this:
# (tmpfs is a dynamically expandable/shrinkable ramdisk, and will use almost no
#  memory if not populated with files)

tmpfs                   /dev/shm        tmpfs           defaults                0 0

#/dev/scd0 /mnt/cdrom auto user,iocharset=iso8859-1,exec,codepage=850,ro,noauto 0 0
#/dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy auto user,iocharset=iso8859-1,sync,exec,codepage=850,noauto 0 0

-----------------------

since I'm already running LILO from my Mandrake 8.0 system, I did not use GRUB, but instead added a 'gentoo' section to my /etc/lilo.conf and re-ran lilo:
/etc/lilo:
Code:

boot=/dev/hda
map=/boot/map
install=/boot/boot.b
vga=normal
default=linux
keytable=/boot/us.klt
lba32
prompt
timeout=100
message=/boot/message
menu-scheme=wb:bw:wb:bw
image=/boot/vmlinuz
        label=linux
        root=/dev/hda5
        append=" hdc=ide-scsi devfs=mount quiet"
        vga=788
        read-only
image=/boot/bzImage
        label=gentoo
        root=/dev/hda14
        read-only
Back to top
ptk
Guest





PostPosted: Sun Apr 21, 2002 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

By the way, as I sent you my /etc/lilo.conf file I realized from its last line that that is where the root file system gets mounted read only, so I changed it to read-write. However, I still get essentially the same problem as before. The VFS message to the console now just says it mounted root, without the 'read-only', but I still then get a
Code:

init-2.05a#

prompt, rather than a login, and it still has not mounted /proc, although now it does so without complaining when I tell it to, since now it can write to /etc/mtab. So, it appears that the read-only nature of the root partition was not the issue -- something else is causing init to stop early.

Thanks for any suggestions!
- Phil
Back to top
Nitro
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Apr 2002
Posts: 661
Location: San Francisco

PostPosted: Sun Apr 21, 2002 3:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow, you have alot of partitions. Your lilo.conf and fstab seem fine to me. Could you give me some output from dmesg? I still think this is a gentoo init problem.

I read a suggestion on the mailing list that suggested not to use defaults. Perhaps try changing the defaults on hda14 in you fstab to something like just noatime.

Several other people on the mailing list are experiencing the same problem, the thread starts here if you want to read it.
_________________
- Kyle Manna

Please, please SEARCH before posting.

There are three kinds of people in the world: those who can count, and those who can't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ptk
Guest





PostPosted: Sun Apr 21, 2002 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Output from dmsg and from mount -l follows below. First, though, let me mention that after reading the other threads you cited, I tried the 'emerge baselayout' command, but although that ran ok, I still seem to lack an 'init' binary (there is no init in /sbin).

So, probably that lack of an 'init' is the problem. Since the emerge baselayout didn't create 'init', I may go back to the beginning and completely reinstall - since I too had problems with g++ not being built, and with the timezone area not being created. In fact, I may have to try booting from the CD, instead of doing it all from within my Mandrake system, though I'm not sure what else could be making a difference.

Is there some way for portage to warn you that a sub-task failed (such as setting up the time zone part, within glibc)? That would give a hint that something else might go wrong later.

My fix to get g++ installed was to edit /usr/portage/sys-devel/gcc/gcc-2.95.3-r5.ebuild,
to add 'c++' to the languages list (currently it only listed 'c', so it did not build g++, only gcc, but later on that causes problems as some of the packages need g++)

Also, maybe I'll look at the portage developer docs and try to understand better what portage is actually doing.

Please let me know if you have any other suggestions.
Thanks
- Phil
-------------
output from mount -l:
Code:

/dev/hda14 on / type ext2 (rw)
/proc on /proc type proc (rw)
tmpfs on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)/dev/hda14 on / type ext2 (rw)
/proc on /proc type proc (rw)
tmpfs on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)


and from dmesg - see next message, as this one is long
Back to top
ptk
Guest





PostPosted: Sun Apr 21, 2002 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

and here is the output of dmesg:

Code:

Linux version 2.4.19-r1 (root@localhost.localdomain) (gcc version 2.95.3 20010315 (release)) #1 SMP Sun Apr 21 00:37:42 UTC 2002
BIOS-provided physical RAM map:
 BIOS-e820: 0000000000000000 - 000000000009fc00 (usable)
 BIOS-e820: 000000000009fc00 - 00000000000a0000 (reserved)
 BIOS-e820: 00000000000f0000 - 0000000000100000 (reserved)
 BIOS-e820: 0000000000100000 - 0000000020000000 (usable)
 BIOS-e820: 00000000ffff0000 - 0000000100000000 (reserved)
On node 0 totalpages: 131072
zone(0): 4096 pages.
zone(1): 126976 pages.
zone(2): 0 pages.
Local APIC disabled by BIOS -- reenabling.
Found and enabled local APIC!
Kernel command line: BOOT_IMAGE=gentoo rw root=30e
Initializing CPU#0
Detected 1396.773 MHz processor.
Console: colour VGA+ 80x25
Calibrating delay loop... 2785.28 BogoMIPS
Memory: 513332k/524288k available (2414k kernel code, 10568k reserved, 628k data, 260k init, 0k highmem)
Dentry-cache hash table entries: 65536 (order: 7, 524288 bytes)
Inode-cache hash table entries: 32768 (order: 6, 262144 bytes)
Mount-cache hash table entries: 8192 (order: 4, 65536 bytes)
Buffer-cache hash table entries: 32768 (order: 5, 131072 bytes)
Page-cache hash table entries: 131072 (order: 7, 524288 bytes)
CPU: Before vendor init, caps: 0183fbff c1c7fbff 00000000, vendor = 2
CPU: L1 I Cache: 64K (64 bytes/line), D cache 64K (64 bytes/line)
CPU: L2 Cache: 256K (64 bytes/line)
CPU: After vendor init, caps: 0183fbff c1c7fbff 00000000 00000000
Intel machine check architecture supported.
Intel machine check reporting enabled on CPU#0.
CPU:     After generic, caps: 0183fbff c1c7fbff 00000000 00000000
CPU:             Common caps: 0183fbff c1c7fbff 00000000 00000000
Enabling fast FPU save and restore... done.
Checking 'hlt' instruction... OK.
POSIX conformance testing by UNIFIX
mtrr: v1.40 (20010327) Richard Gooch (rgooch@atnf.csiro.au)
mtrr: detected mtrr type: Intel
CPU: Before vendor init, caps: 0183fbff c1c7fbff 00000000, vendor = 2
CPU: L1 I Cache: 64K (64 bytes/line), D cache 64K (64 bytes/line)
CPU: L2 Cache: 256K (64 bytes/line)
CPU: After vendor init, caps: 0183fbff c1c7fbff 00000000 00000000
Intel machine check reporting enabled on CPU#0.
CPU:     After generic, caps: 0183fbff c1c7fbff 00000000 00000000
CPU:             Common caps: 0183fbff c1c7fbff 00000000 00000000
CPU0: AMD Athlon(tm) processor stepping 04
per-CPU timeslice cutoff: 731.81 usecs.
task migration cache decay timeout: 10 msecs.
SMP motherboard not detected.
enabled ExtINT on CPU#0
ESR value before enabling vector: 00000000
ESR value after enabling vector: 00000000
Using local APIC timer interrupts.
calibrating APIC timer ...
..... CPU clock speed is 1396.7566 MHz.
..... host bus clock speed is 266.0488 MHz.
cpu: 0, clocks: 2660488, slice: 1330244
CPU0<T0:2660480,T1:1330224,D:12,S:1330244,C:2660488>
PCI: PCI BIOS revision 2.10 entry at 0xfb430, last bus=1
PCI: Using configuration type 1
PCI: Probing PCI hardware
Unknown bridge resource 0: assuming transparent
PCI: Using IRQ router default [1106/3099] at 00:00.0
isapnp: Scanning for PnP cards...
isapnp: No Plug & Play device found
Linux NET4.0 for Linux 2.4
Based upon Swansea University Computer Society NET3.039
Initializing RT netlink socket
Starting kswapd
Journalled Block Device driver loaded
devfs: v1.10 (20020120) Richard Gooch (rgooch@atnf.csiro.au)
devfs: boot_options: 0x0
SGI XFS with ACLs, quota, no debug enabled
parport0: PC-style at 0x378 [PCSPP,TRISTATE]
pty: 256 Unix98 ptys configured
Serial driver version 5.05c (2001-07-08) with MANY_PORTS SHARE_IRQ SERIAL_PCI ISAPNP enabled
ttyS00 at 0x03f8 (irq = 4) is a 16550A
ttyS01 at 0x02f8 (irq = 3) is a 16550A
lp0: using parport0 (polling).
block: 992 slots per queue, batch=248
Uniform Multi-Platform E-IDE driver Revision: 6.31
ide: Assuming 33MHz system bus speed for PIO modes; override with idebus=xx
VP_IDE: IDE controller on PCI bus 00 dev 89
VP_IDE: chipset revision 6
VP_IDE: not 100% native mode: will probe irqs later
ide: Assuming 33MHz system bus speed for PIO modes; override with idebus=xx
VP_IDE: VIA vt8233 (rev 00) IDE UDMA100 controller on pci00:11.1
    ide0: BM-DMA at 0xe000-0xe007, BIOS settings: hda:DMA, hdb:DMA
    ide1: BM-DMA at 0xe008-0xe00f, BIOS settings: hdc:DMA, hdd:pio
hda: IC35L040AVER07-0, ATA DISK drive
hdb: Maxtor 5T030H3, ATA DISK drive
hdc: SONY CD-RW CRX160E, ATAPI CD/DVD-ROM drive
ide0 at 0x1f0-0x1f7,0x3f6 on irq 14
ide1 at 0x170-0x177,0x376 on irq 15
hda: 80418240 sectors (41174 MB) w/1916KiB Cache, CHS=5005/255/63, UDMA(100)
hdb: 60030432 sectors (30736 MB) w/2048KiB Cache, CHS=3736/255/63, UDMA(100)
hdc: ATAPI 32X CD-ROM CD-R/RW drive, 4096kB Cache, UDMA(33)
Uniform CD-ROM driver Revision: 3.12
Partition check:
 /dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0: p1 p2 < p5 p6 p7 p8 p9 p10 p11 p12 p13 p14 >
 /dev/ide/host0/bus0/target1/lun0: p1 < p5 p6 p7 p8 p9 p10 p11 p12 p13 >
Floppy drive(s): fd0 is 1.44M
FDC 0 is a post-1991 82077
loop: loaded (max 8 devices)
Linux Tulip driver version 0.9.15-pre9 (Nov 6, 2001)
eth0: ADMtek Comet rev 17 at 0xdc00, 00:04:5A:45:AD:AA, IRQ 11.
ne2k-pci.c:v1.02 10/19/2000 D. Becker/P. Gortmaker
  http://www.scyld.com/network/ne2k-pci.html
eth1: RealTek RTL-8029 found at 0xd000, IRQ 11, 00:50:BF:23:31:F1.
Linux agpgart interface v0.99 (c) Jeff Hartmann
agpgart: Maximum main memory to use for agp memory: 440M
agpgart: Detected Via Apollo Pro KT266 chipset
agpgart: AGP aperture is 64M @ 0xe8000000
SCSI subsystem driver Revision: 1.00
scsi0 : SCSI host adapter emulation for IDE ATAPI devices
ohci1394: $Revision: 1.80 $ Ben Collins <bcollins@debian.org>
ohci1394_0: OHCI-1394 1.0 (PCI): IRQ=[9]  MMIO=[ef004000-ef004800]  Max Packet=[2048]
video1394: Installed video1394 module
raw1394: /dev/raw1394 device initialized
es1371: version v0.30 time 00:39:03 Apr 21 2002
Creative EMU10K1 PCI Audio Driver, version 0.18, 00:38:59 Apr 21 2002
emu10k1: EMU10K1 rev 8 model 0x8027 found, IO at 0xd400-0xd41f, IRQ 9
ac97_codec: AC97 Audio codec, id: 0x4352:0x5914 (Cirrus Logic CS4297A rev B)
usb.c: registered new driver hub
uhci.c: USB Universal Host Controller Interface driver v1.1
uhci.c: USB UHCI at I/O 0xe400, IRQ 9
usb.c: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 1
hub.c: USB hub found
hub.c: 2 ports detected
uhci.c: USB UHCI at I/O 0xe800, IRQ 9
usb.c: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 2
hub.c: USB hub found
hub.c: 2 ports detected
uhci.c: USB UHCI at I/O 0xec00, IRQ 9
usb.c: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 3
hub.c: USB hub found
hub.c: 2 ports detected
usb.c: registered new driver usbscanner
scanner.c: 0.4.6:USB Scanner Driver
usb.c: registered new driver usblp
printer.c: v0.8:USB Printer Device Class driver
Initializing USB Mass Storage driver...
usb.c: registered new driver usb-storage
USB Mass Storage support registered.
md: md driver 0.90.0 MAX_MD_DEVS=256, MD_SB_DISKS=27
md: Autodetecting RAID arrays.
md: autorun ...
md: ... autorun DONE.
LVM version 1.0.3(19/02/2002)
NET4: Linux TCP/IP 1.0 for NET4.0
IP Protocols: ICMP, UDP, TCP
IP: routing cache hash table of 4096 buckets, 32Kbytes
TCP: Hash tables configured (established 131072 bind 65536)
IPv4 over IPv4 tunneling driver
GRE over IPv4 tunneling driver
ip_conntrack (4096 buckets, 32768 max)
ip_tables: (C) 2000-2002 Netfilter core team
NET4: Unix domain sockets 1.0/SMP for Linux NET4.0.
kjournald starting.  Commit interval 5 seconds
EXT3 FS 2.4-0.9.17, 10 Jan 2002 on ide0(3,14), internal journal
EXT3-fs: mounted filesystem with ordered data mode.
VFS: Mounted root (ext3 filesystem).
Freeing unused kernel memory: 260k freed


Thanks
Back to top
Nitro
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Apr 2002
Posts: 661
Location: San Francisco

PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2002 1:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe you have a journal on your filesystem? Was this partition ext3 at one point? I'd say you are best off just re-installing gentoo, or at least re-extracting the build tarball.
_________________
- Kyle Manna

Please, please SEARCH before posting.

There are three kinds of people in the world: those who can count, and those who can't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ptk
Guest





PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2002 1:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, there is a journal on it, I had tried setting it up as ext3, but went back to ext2 for some reason, I think because my mandrake system did not support ext3. I thought everything would just continue to accept it as ext2. I'll try re-creating the partition as ext2 and re-installing.

Thanks for rapid turnaround of the suggestions -- it must be very hard trying to guess all the possible ways someone else's system might differ from what you expect!
- Phil
Back to top
static
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 141
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2002 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

shouldn't that
Code:
/proc                   /proc           proc            defaults                0 0
line in his fstab read
Code:
none                   /proc           proc            defaults                0 0


Pretty sure...
_________________
Gentoo and Doom III. 'Nuff Said.
_______________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ptk
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2002 8:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I re-installed and the system boots just fine now.

The earlier trouble was thus probably caused either by
-- using LILO instead of GRUB, or
-- incorrectly compiling glibc (as evidenced by it not creating the timezones), either because of environment variables from my Mandrake installation messing up the chroot environment, or because of the g++ compiler not being built (which itself may have been due to the environment issue)

Anyway, it works now and I'm very pleased.
Thanks for all your help.
- Phil
Back to top
fghellar
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 856
Location: Porto Alegre, BR

PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2002 5:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

static wrote:
shouldn't that
Code:
/proc                   /proc           proc            defaults                0 0
line in his fstab read
Code:
none                   /proc           proc            defaults                0 0


Pretty sure...

Not necessarily. Proc is a virtual filesystem, managed by the kernel. You can put any word where the device would be. E.g., put in fstab:
Code:
windows /proc proc defaults 0 0
Now windows will work! :lol:
_________________
| www.gentoo.org | www.tldp.org | www.google.com |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum