Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
2.6.11-rc5-nitro0: Fear And Loathing In intermodule.c
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
discomfitor
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Feb 2003
Posts: 927
Location: None

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 2:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rzZzn: ARGH! Delete line 3971 of kernel/sched.c (should read "EXPORT_SYMBOL(task_nice);").
_________________
There is no substitute for experience.
Imperfection indicates a lack of effort.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rush_ad
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Jul 2004
Posts: 863
Location: New Jersey, USA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 3:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

how do i setup portage overlay so that i can just emerge the nitro kernel with command

Code:
emerge nitro-sources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
uman
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Dec 2004
Posts: 223

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 4:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey all,
emerging nvidia-kernel when using nitro-sources fails with a bunch of errors. Is there anything I can do to fix this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arainach
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Jul 2004
Posts: 609

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 4:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rush_ad wrote:
how do i setup portage overlay so that i can just emerge the nitro kernel with command

Code:
emerge nitro-sources
Follow the instructions. Create /usr/local/portage, put the ebuild there, put "sys-kernel/nitro-sources ~x86" in your /etc/portage/package.keywords, go to /usr/local/portage/sys-kernel/nitro-sources and run the "ebuild filename.ebuild digest" command, then emerge nitro-sources.
_________________
Gentoo: Stage3 w/ NPTL & udev, gcc 3.4.4 full rebuild
Kernel: 2.6.15-gentoo-r1 w/ 1G-Lowmem Patch
System: Athlon XP 2.2Ghz/1GB Corsair Value/160GB, 250GB WD IDE/128MB GeForce 6800/Sony 17" Trinitron G200 @ 1280x1024x75Hz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rush_ad
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Jul 2004
Posts: 863
Location: New Jersey, USA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 4:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks, i will do that. i also remember that there was some mirror which already had nitro-sources. so i only had to add that to make.conf and then do emerge sync. this way i dont have to digest any ebuilds. so i was wondering if anyone knows of any of those mirrors. if not, then i would just follow the normal procedure. by the way, i am running amd64, any thing special for that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Archangel1
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Apr 2004
Posts: 1212
Location: Work

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 5:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rush_ad wrote:
thanks, i will do that. i also remember that there was some mirror which already had nitro-sources. so i only had to add that to make.conf and then do emerge sync. this way i dont have to digest any ebuilds. so i was wondering if anyone knows of any of those mirrors. if not, then i would just follow the normal procedure. by the way, i am running amd64, any thing special for that?

As far as I know all the mirrors either have files or not - that being the point of them being "mirrors"?

Emerge has just finished successfully - hopefully I'll be posting from the new kernel in a few minutes :-)
_________________
What are you, stupid?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rush_ad
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Jul 2004
Posts: 863
Location: New Jersey, USA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 5:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

what does it mean to disable 4K stacks? how do i do that and enable 4K stacks? can i run reiser and reiser4 on two differnt partitions? how do i creat reiser4 partition, what would be my fstab entry?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Archangel1
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Apr 2004
Posts: 1212
Location: Work

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 6:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmmmm.... locks at boot with
Code:

Cannot open root device "hdb3" or unknown-block(0,0)
Please append a correct "root=" boot option
Kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(0,0)


/root is reiser4. Obviously I've compiled support in, and stacks are on 8k.
I suppose it could be unable to find the hdd itself, but I can't see any reason why not - it's just a secondary IDE HDD, nothing too complex....
Any ideas?
_________________
What are you, stupid?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Archangel1
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Apr 2004
Posts: 1212
Location: Work

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 6:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rush_ad wrote:
what does it mean to disable 4K stacks? how do i do that and enable 4K stacks? can i run reiser and reiser4 on two differnt partitions? how do i creat reiser4 partition, what would be my fstab entry?

Ooookay.... The size of stacks is configurable in this kernel. Typical choices are 4 and 8 - 4 minimises memory usage. Reiser4 is 8k-only so if you want to play with that I'd stick with 8k.
Yes, you can run reiser and reiser4 on different partitions.
fstab entry is pretty much normal - just use "reiser4" for the fs type.
You create a partition using fdisk as normal, then use mkfs.reiser4 on it (again, basically the same as any other filesystem).
_________________
What are you, stupid?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tiger683
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Jan 2005
Posts: 1347
Location: Heffner's House

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 6:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey Archangel,
I get these errors when i play around with my .config and choose too much stuff as modules in the block device and/or
IDE section of Kconfig, hmm , what was this again...... well, try compiling the stuff like chipset and ide that you know u have and
you know it will not change into your kernel....

cheers,

T

EDIT: I saw the patch for bogus ide numbers after the release and then, somehow, i forgot to apply it.
Will update, i hope darckness will also update the version that currently is online....
_________________
Retired gentoo user
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
b3cks
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Mar 2004
Posts: 1481
Location: Bremen (GER)

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 7:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This kernel still kicks ass!!
Thanks for your work!
_________________
I am /root and if you see me laughing you better have a backup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BlinkEye
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 1042
Location: Gentoo Forums

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 8:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i still can't wake up my laptop after suspending to ram. any work in progress?
_________________
Easily backup up your system? klick
Get rid of SSH Brute Force Attempts / Script Kiddies klick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pifactorial
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 77
Location: 3<x<4 on the gamma function

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 8:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just wanted to record this so I don't forget. I'm not that much of a kernel hacker, but I've found out that my force feedback patch doesn't need to be applied - the root of my force feedback problems is in drivers/usb/input/hid-ff.c :

This function is returning null:
Code:
static struct hid_ff_initializer *hid_get_ff_init(__u16 idVendor,
                                                  __u16 idProduct)
{
        struct hid_ff_initializer *init;
        for (init = inits;
             init->idVendor
             && !(init->idVendor == idVendor
                  && init->idProduct == idProduct);
             init++);

        return init->idVendor? init : NULL;
}


Because it can't find my joystick (?) in this list:
Code:
static struct hid_ff_initializer inits[] = {
#ifdef CONFIG_LOGITECH_FF
        {0x46d, 0xc211, hid_lgff_init}, // Logitech Cordless rumble pad
        {0x46d, 0xc283, hid_lgff_init}, // Logitech Wingman Force 3d
        {0x46d, 0xc295, hid_lgff_init}, // Logitech MOMO force wheel
#endif
#ifdef CONFIG_HID_PID
        {0x45e, 0x001b, hid_pid_init},
#endif
#ifdef CONFIG_THRUSTMASTER_FF
        {0x44f, 0xb304, hid_tmff_init},
#endif
        {0, 0, NULL} /* Terminating entry */
};


...it should be matching hid_pid_init. I'll investigate further tomorrow.

BTW I'm in love - I had no problems installing/compiling/booting the rt kernel, and it booted so fast. Yay :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tiger683
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Jan 2005
Posts: 1347
Location: Heffner's House

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 10:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ahh, just fixed the last bug in IT, so, 2.6.11 here we come!!!!!!!
_________________
Retired gentoo user
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rush_ad
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Jul 2004
Posts: 863
Location: New Jersey, USA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 11:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

where is the stacks option in kernel config?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tiger683
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Jan 2005
Posts: 1347
Location: Heffner's House

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 11:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kernel hacking ---> Kernel stack size

the second from the bottom
_________________
Retired gentoo user
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rush_ad
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Jul 2004
Posts: 863
Location: New Jersey, USA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 11:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i dont see that opetion in my kernel config. do i need to apply any patch?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tiger683
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Jan 2005
Posts: 1347
Location: Heffner's House

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 11:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

[EDITED]
Apparently, this is where it resides in nitro-rt and also under Kernel hacking in normal i think, make sure you run nitro AT ALL!

T
_________________
Retired gentoo user
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tiger683
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Jan 2005
Posts: 1347
Location: Heffner's House

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 2:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ANNOUNCEMENT

Because of many problems, which aparently affected EVERYONE trying rt version except the nitro devs,
the rt branch is officially DISCONTINUED

_________________
Retired gentoo user
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rush_ad
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Jul 2004
Posts: 863
Location: New Jersey, USA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 3:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i dont have stacks option in kernel hacking. someone help me out
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pifactorial
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 77
Location: 3<x<4 on the gamma function

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tiger683 wrote:
Because of many problems, which aparently affected EVERYONE trying rt version except the nitro devs, the rt branch is officially DISCONTINUED

Aww, I wanted to complain one last time...
Well, I'll do it anyway. RT worked famously, except it would crash (black screen) when I switched virtual terminals, or went to shutdown.

I look forward to IT. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rzZzn
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 96
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Darckness wrote:
rzZzn: ARGH! Delete line 3971 of kernel/sched.c (should read "EXPORT_SYMBOL(task_nice);").


OK will try that

thx

rZn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Archangel1
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Apr 2004
Posts: 1212
Location: Work

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2005 2:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tiger683 wrote:
ANNOUNCEMENT

Because of many problems, which aparently affected EVERYONE trying rt version except the nitro devs,
the rt branch is officially DISCONTINUED

Awwwww.... I hadn't even got it working yet :-P

Thanks for your earlier suggestion; I spotted a couple of options left unselected that look frankly pretty silly (don't know what I was thinking...), so hopefully I can make a bit more progress :-)
_________________
What are you, stupid?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Isaiah
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 359

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2005 3:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

2.6.11-rc5-nitro0 and NVIDIA (NvAGP set to "1") playing nice here on ReiserFS 4 - ET is a go :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raest
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Mar 2004
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2005 4:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How much of an improvement does this offer over the 2.6.11-rc4-nitro sources? Worth the upgrade from a stable system?

My current system has been stable and happy on that since they came out almost without glitch. I was rather pleasantly suprised how painless using them with all reiser4 partitions, and pure udev. For being fairly new to gentoo I knew I was stepping into deep water but nitro seems to have done to trick!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Page 6 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum