Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
angelacb
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2004 10:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

angelacb wrote:
Hi,

I'm experiencing a very weird problem. I've successfully encrypted my root, swap, etc...
I've been running this machine for 3 months already. I haven't experienced any problems. However, today i try to extract a very large tar file. There's twelve 50 MB rar files within this huge tar file. There's also a checksum file that comes with the tar file in which it will validates all 12 of these large 50 MB rar files.
I've tried to extract these files many different times. Every time after I extracted these rar files from the huge tar file, I check it with the checksum file. And every single time, it gives errors but on different rar files.
The odd thing is, every time I extract from the tar file, different rar files gets corrupted. Therefore, i want to know if this has anything to do with encrypted file system, or is there something I might have done that may cause this error.
Just for the record, I run reiserfs on the loopback device backed by /dev/sdaX.

Best Regards,

I've tested it with other compression utils and compressing the same set of files and decompressing them on the encrypted file system:
ZIP/UNZIP: no corruptions
RAR/UNRAR: no corruptions
GZIP/UNGZIP: no corruptions
TAR/UNTAR: random corruptions on uncompressed files
TAR+BZIP2/UNTAR+UNBZIP2: random corruptions

I'm wondering if there's something special about tar/untar i have to worry about when i'm working with loop-AES encrypted file systems. Maybe someone experiences similar issues? :?:

Best Regards,
markymarc
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 8:25 am    Post subject: Re: Boot from USB(SOLVED) Reply with quote

markymarc wrote:

Code:
/dev/sda1 failed to mount as /lib