Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
binutils upgrade (to 2.15.92.0.2-r3) causes gcc to segfault
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gentoozie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Feb 2005
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 8:28 am    Post subject: binutils upgrade (to 2.15.92.0.2-r3) causes gcc to segfault Reply with quote

A wierd problem has appeared on my gentoo machine, after reading some post I think it may have something to do with the gcc release that appeared ??

Code:
gcc: Internal error: Segmentation fault (program as)
for trying to compile a different version of gcc

or

Code:
i386-pc-linux-gnu-gcc: Internal error: Segmentation fault (program as)
Please submit a full bug report.
See <URL:http://bugs.gentoo.org/> for instructions.
make[2]: *** [bindtextdom.o] Error 1
make[2]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
make[2]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/sed-4.1.4/work/sed-4.1.4/intl'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/sed-4.1.4/work/sed-4.1.4'
make: *** [all] Error 2

!!! ERROR: sys-apps/sed-4.1.4 failed.
!!! Function src_compile, Line 50, Exitcode 2
!!! build failed
!!! If you need support, post the topmost build error, NOT this status message.



thanks to anyone who can help, i fear my hair will be worse than einstein's soon ! 8O

Edit - changed title from Nothing will compile ? and made this topic sticky -masseya
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exklusve
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Aug 2002
Posts: 270
Location: currently ~/

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 8:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

post your /etc/make.conf file so we can see your cflags.
Did you recently update your system?
_________________
eXklusve

You do know that no one gives a shit about your system spec's right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Halcy0n
Developer
Developer


Joined: 17 Sep 2003
Posts: 1682
Location: Freehold, NJ

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 8:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't paste your make.conf. The output of `emerge info' will be more useful. Any new hardware recently? Normally segfaults like that can be attributed to bad ram.
_________________
Mark Loeser
http://www.halcy0n.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bob P
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Oct 2004
Posts: 3355
Location: Jackass! Development Labs

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 9:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Halcy0n wrote:
Normally segfaults like that can be attributed to bad ram.

or overclocking.
_________________
.
Stage 1/3 | Jackass! | Rockhopper! | Thanks | Google Sucks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andvin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 May 2003
Posts: 23
Location: Linköping, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 9:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I see the exact same behaviour on my PIII 650Mhz gentoo ~x86, where binutils-2.15.92.0.2-r3 was installed right before the segmentation faults started to show up in 'as'.

My laptop (P4-M 1.9Ghz) having the same binutils version is working as a charm, but it has an older version of gcc (3.4.3-r1) than the PIII (3.4.3.20050110)

Stupid me didnt save the old binutils package before upgrading... guess the best I can do is recompiling a binutils on my laptop with CFLAGS set to something the PIII can use and make a binary package of it...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chrisyu
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Apr 2003
Posts: 207
Location: China

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 9:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

same error here :x
after
Code:

server ~ #  genlop --list --date 1 days ago
 * sys-devel/binutils-config

     Wed Feb 23 14:23:48 2005 >>> sys-devel/binutils-config-1.8-r1
     Wed Feb 23 15:09:49 2005 >>> sys-devel/binutils-2.15.92.0.2-r3


emerge info
Code:

Portage 2.0.51-r15 (default-linux/x86/2004.0, gcc-3.4.3, glibc-2.3.4.20050125-r0, 2.6.10-gentoo-r2 i686)
=================================================================
System uname: 2.6.10-gentoo-r2 i686 Pentium II (Deschutes)
Gentoo Base System version 1.6.9
Python:              dev-lang/python-2.3.5 [2.3.5 (#1, Feb 19 2005, 11:14:34)]
distcc 2.18.3 i686-pc-linux-gnu (protocols 1 and 2) (default port 3632) [disabled]
ccache version 2.3 [enabled]
dev-lang/python:     2.3.5
sys-devel/autoconf:  2.59-r6, 2.13
sys-devel/automake:  1.7.9-r1, 1.8.5-r3, 1.5, 1.4_p6, 1.6.3, 1.9.4
sys-devel/binutils:  2.15.92.0.2-r3
sys-devel/libtool:   1.5.10-r4
virtual/os-headers:  2.6.8.1-r2
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="x86 ~x86"
AUTOCLEAN="yes"
CFLAGS="-march=pentium2 -O2 -pipe"
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /usr/kde/2/share/config /usr/kde/3/share/config /usr/share/config /var/qmail/control"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/gconf /etc/terminfo /etc/env.d"
CXXFLAGS="-march=pentium2 -O2 -pipe"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
FEATURES="autoaddcvs autoconfig ccache distlocks sandbox sfperms"
LANG="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_ALL="en_US.UTF-8"
MAKEOPTS="-j2"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/local/portage"
SYNC="rsync://rsync.namerica.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
USE="x86 apache2 apm avi berkdb bitmap-fonts cjk crypt dba emboss encode exif flash font-server foomaticdb gd gdbm gif gpm gtk2 iconv imagemagick imap imlib ipv6 java jpeg junit libg++ libwww maildir mikmod motif mpeg mysql ncurses nls nptl nptlonly pam pdflib perl png python quicktime readline samba sasl slang ssl svga tcpd threads tiff truetype truetype-fonts type1-fonts ucs2 unicode userlocales vhosts xml xml2 xmms zlib"
Unset:  ASFLAGS, CBUILD, CTARGET, LDFLAGS

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andvin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 May 2003
Posts: 23
Location: Linköping, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 9:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

While doing the binary package rebuild of binutils on my laptop I noticed that a file was downloaded during the emerge:
binutils-2.15.92.0.2-patches-1.4.tar.bz2

So it appears that although I had the same version of binutils on the two hosts they didn't use exactly the same patches... :-(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andvin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 May 2003
Posts: 23
Location: Linköping, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 10:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seems like the new patch file is the reason why it doesn't work for me... the rebuilt binary package of binutils is as faulty as the one I had originally on the PIII host.
I think it didn't have anything to do with the gcc version, since this one was built with the older gcc-3.4.3-r1... but since gcc uses 'as' when compiling I might be wrong... maybe I should repackage 3.4.3-r1 from the laptop as well...

Anyone else having seen the same... i.e. installed the binutils-2.15.92.0.2-r3 before the bump to patchversion 1.4 and seen it broken when bumped to patchversion 1.4?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoozie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Feb 2005
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 10:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

no new hardware recently, laptop, acer 804 centrino 1.7, 512,

emerge info

Code:
Portage 2.0.51-r15 (default-linux/x86/2004.3, gcc-3.3.4, glibc-2.3.4.20050125-r0, 2.6.9-gentoo-r6 i686)
=================================================================
System uname: 2.6.9-gentoo-r6 i686 Intel(R) Pentium(R) M processor 1700MHz
Gentoo Base System version 1.6.9
Python:              dev-lang/python-2.3.4-r1 [2.3.4 (#1, Feb 15 2005, 00:11:03)]
dev-lang/python:     2.3.4-r1
sys-devel/autoconf:  2.13, 2.59-r6
sys-devel/automake:  1.7.9-r1, 1.5, 1.4_p6, 1.9.4, 1.6.3, 1.8.5-r3
sys-devel/binutils:  2.15.92.0.2-r1, 2.15.92.0.2-r3
sys-devel/libtool:   1.5.10-r4
virtual/os-headers:  2.4.22-r1
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="x86 ~x86"
AUTOCLEAN="yes"
CFLAGS="-march=pentium3 -pipe -O2 -fomit-frame-pointer -fforce-addr -frename-registers -fprefetch-loop-arrays  -falign-functions=64 "
CHOST="i386-pc-linux-gnu"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /usr/kde/2/share/config /usr/kde/3.3/env /usr/kde/3.3/share/config /usr/kde/3.3/shutdown /usr/kde/3/share/config /usr/lib/X11/xkb /usr/lib/mozilla/defaults/pref /usr/share/config /usr/share/texmf/dvipdfm/config/ /usr/share/texmf/dvips/config/ /usr/share/texmf/tex/generic/config/ /usr/share/texmf/tex/platex/config/ /usr/share/texmf/xdvi/ /var/qmail/control"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/gconf /etc/terminfo /etc/env.d"
CXXFLAGS="-march=pentium3 -pipe -O2 -fomit-frame-pointer -fforce-addr -frename-registers -fprefetch-loop-arrays  -falign-functions=64 "
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
FEATURES="autoaddcvs autoconfig ccache distlocks sandbox sfperms"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://mirror.pacific.net.au/linux/Gentoo/"
MAKEOPTS="-j2"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
SYNC="rsync://rsync.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
USE="X acpi alsa apm arts avi berkdb bitmap-fonts cdr crypt cups curl doc dvd emboss encode esd ethereal f77 fam flac font-server foomaticdb fortran gb gd gdbm gif gpm gstreamer gtk2 imagemagick imap imlib ipv6 jpeg kde libg++ libwww live mad mikmod motif mozilla mpeg mysql nas ncurses network nls oggvorbis opengl oss pam pdflib perl png python qt quicktime readline samba sdl spell ssl svga tcltk tcpd tetex tiff truetype truetype-fonts type1-fonts usb wmf x86 xinerama xml xml2 xmms xv zlib"
Unset:  ASFLAGS, CBUILD, CTARGET, LANG, LC_ALL, LDFLAGS, PORTDIR_OVERLAY


make.conf

Code:
  GNU nano 1.3.5                   File: /etc/make.conf

# These settings were set by the catalyst build script that automatically built this stage
# Please consult /etc/make.conf.example for a more detailed example
CFLAGS="-march=pentium3 -pipe -O2 -fomit-frame-pointer -fforce-addr -frename-registers -fprefetch-lo$-falign-functions=64 "
CHOST="i386-pc-linux-gnu"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
USE="acpi alsa avi cdr qt doc dvd encode ethereal gb gd gif gtk2 imap jpeg mozilla mpeg mysql opengl$MAKEOPTS="-j2"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://mirror.pacific.net.au/linux/Gentoo/"
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86"


i am not sure how to proceed now that i can not compile anything ?? binaries of gcc ??

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andvin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 May 2003
Posts: 23
Location: Linköping, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 11:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

andvin wrote:

I think it didn't have anything to do with the gcc version, since this one was built with the older gcc-3.4.3-r1... but since gcc uses 'as' when compiling I might be wrong... maybe I should repackage 3.4.3-r1 from the laptop as well...


Seems like my assumption was correct, I downloaded an older version of binutils-2.15.92.0.2-r3 from gentoo CVS (that used patchversion 1.3) to my local portage overlay on the laptop and rebuilt a binary package that is working fine on the stationary PIII.

Conclusion the patchversion 1.4 of binutils-2.15.92.0.2-r3 is buggy.

Bug filed: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=83047
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sipi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Apr 2003
Posts: 406
Location: Hungary

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 12:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Shit, I have the same problem...
What can I do now? I do not have any older version of binutils...

Where can I download a precompiled version of these tools?

Regards,
Sipi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kimchi_sg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Nov 2004
Posts: 2966

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 12:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sipi wrote:
What can I do now? I do not have any older version of binutils...

Well, the Gentoo way is to force Portage to get it for you.

Mask the current version and you will automatically get the old one.
Code:
echo sys-devel/binutils-2.15.92.0.2-r3 >> /etc/portage/package.mask
emerge binutils

P.S. Please refrain from using foul language (such as s***) in the forums.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sipi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Apr 2003
Posts: 406
Location: Hungary

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 12:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry for my words...

But the problem is, that without a working binutils, I can not compile anything anymore. I can not emerge older version, since the only "as" on my system is a borked one...
So, I need a working one to copy it over my bad one, and emerge a normal binutils which works.

Sipi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bradp_84
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Nov 2004
Posts: 48
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 12:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same issue. Using portage to downgrade as you described wont work because we can't compile anything. I am currently building a binary package on my firewall. My firewall isn't what you would call up-to-date technology though :-(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zaanpenguin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 203

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 12:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same issue here. This is pretty horrible quality control if you ask me. Running unstable doesn't mean there shouldn't be at least some basic checks done before submitting a new package into portage, especially basic things like actually compiling something... </rant></soapbox> :P
_________________
Staying crunchy even in milk!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoozie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Feb 2005
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

at least some people are having the same problem as me, i have now found that it might have also corrupted some files in media-libs ???

being a student i can only afford one machine so i have no chance to compile, am i stuck forever :?

update : memory has currently no errors
_________________
Gentoo: Probably the best distribution in the world.

Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kimchi_sg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Nov 2004
Posts: 2966

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 12:51 pm    Post subject: BINARY BINUTILS - FOUND! Reply with quote

Sipi wrote:
But the problem is, that without a working binutils, I can not compile anything anymore. I can not emerge older version, since the only "as" on my system is a borked one...
So, I need a working one to copy it over my bad one, and emerge a normal binutils which works.

Sipi
GOOD NEWS!

I have found the site for binary binutils packages.
:arrow: http://dev.gentoo.org/~avenj/bins/

Read the README file in the directory carefully to find out how to install.

These are 32-bit binutils packages. They are also a bit old, but hopefully these will work.

***/me hugs google***
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kimchi_sg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Nov 2004
Posts: 2966

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

zaanpenguin wrote:
Same issue here. This is pretty horrible quality control if you ask me. Running unstable doesn't mean there shouldn't be at least some basic checks done before submitting a new package into portage, especially basic things like actually compiling something... </rant></soapbox> :P

Trust me, it used to be worse back in the Gentoo 1.2 or 1.4 days, before gcc-config existed. Dig through some old forum posts and you will see. ;-)

Those who are suffering from this problem, please voice out to the developers by filing bug reports - or search for an existing one on this and add your comments! The developers do listen.

EDIT: Bug has been filed as per post below: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=83047


Last edited by kimchi_sg on Wed Feb 23, 2005 1:53 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andvin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 May 2003
Posts: 23
Location: Linköping, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 1:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kimchi_sg wrote:

Those who are suffering from this problem, please voice out to the developers by filing bug reports - or search for an existing one on this and add your comments! The developers do listen.


Already done! See bug 83047...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zaanpenguin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 203

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 1:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For those experiencing this problem, I made several of the following tbz2's.
One is for generic Pentium-4 and one for AMD Athlon. Make sure you extract them from or to '/'.
As of ~23:45 @ 23/02, these are now official 'quickpkg' files, so you *can* use them normally with
Code:
emerge -k

All files can be downloaded here: ftp://ftp.ruled.org/pub/Gentoo/
Code:
    654 Feb 23 14:36 README
4299004 Feb 23 23:10 binutils-2.15.92.0.2-r1-AMD-binpkg.tbz2
4288571 Feb 23 23:07 binutils-2.15.92.0.2-r1-P4-binpkg.tbz2
4043358 Feb 23 14:23 binutils-2.15.92.0.2-r2-AMD64-binpkg.tbz2
Also, read the README file. When you're done, issue:
Code:
echo =sys-devel/binutils-2.15.92.0.2-r3 >> /etc/portage/package.mask
emerge binutils
and you should be fine.

Files are being graciously hosted by Jaded@EFnet, thanks!
Miztic has provided us with the nice quickpkg tbz2s for AMD64, gracias!

Before you get all high and mighty on us: it was intended as a quick hack and it should be regarded as one!

Also, if you broke your GCC or accidentally (unnecessarily, rather) unmerged it, then you can also find binaries of GCC for your architecture here.
_________________
Staying crunchy even in milk!


Last edited by zaanpenguin on Wed Feb 23, 2005 10:50 pm; edited 14 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kimchi_sg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Nov 2004
Posts: 2966

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It might be good for the mods to make this sticky. This is a very, very insidious and hard to solve problem.

Also, people who have used binutils binaries from the link I provided, please share your experience on whether they work. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sipi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Apr 2003
Posts: 406
Location: Hungary

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 1:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, looks like working with these precompiled binaries is OK.
Just some notes: do not forget to unmerge the old binutils before using the new one!

So, emerge unmerge binutils, tar xvjf binutils-xxx.tbz2 -C /

Than you will still have some env files pointing to old binutils, so see /etc/env.d dir and go to binutils dir, write the version of binary into the configxxx file, and edit /etc/env.d/05binutils. Than env-update, source /etc/profile, and you should start to emerge binutils.

I am emerging binutils-2.15.92.0.2-r1 now, configure phase is on the way, it did not split with errors yet.

Sipi


Last edited by Sipi on Wed Feb 23, 2005 1:46 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoozie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Feb 2005
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Firstly thanks to the quick response and help from kimchi_sg and as I have just seen zaanpenguin, the problem I first described has now been solved.

Firstly if you want the fix the "nothing will compile" problem you must read this.

http://dev.gentoo.org/~avenj/bins/README

Then download the required gcc and binutils tbz2 files and follow the instructions.

I also had to do this.

Code:
emerge -C gcc


Thanks once again to kimchi_sg for the work and quick response to my problem.

EDIT : lol i am so slow to post 8)


Last edited by gentoozie on Wed Feb 23, 2005 1:47 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zaanpenguin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 203

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sipi wrote:
Yes, looks like working with these precompiled binaries is OK.
Just some notes: do not forget to unmerge the old binutils before using the new one!

So, emerge unmerge binutils, tar xvjf binutils-xxx.tbz2 -C /

Than you will still have some env files pointing to old binutils, so see /etc/env.d dir and go to binutils dir, write the version of binary into the configxxx file, and edit /etc/env.d/05binutils. Than env-update, source /etc/profile, and you should start to emerge binutils.

Sipi


Strictly speaking, re-emerging binutils will also unmerge the old version... But hey :wink:
_________________
Staying crunchy even in milk!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kimchi_sg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Nov 2004
Posts: 2966

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 1:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

zaanpenguin wrote:
Sipi wrote:
Yes, looks like working with these precompiled binaries is OK.
Just some notes: do not forget to unmerge the old binutils before using the new one!

So, emerge unmerge binutils, tar xvjf binutils-xxx.tbz2 -C /

Strictly speaking, re-emerging binutils will also unmerge the old version... But hey :wink:

If you use tar to install the binary as Sipi says, you will need to unmerge the old broken binutils by yourself first. Untarring the binary will bypass emerge and simply overwrite whatever files used to be there... or maybe not. :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 1 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum